We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter holiday ”
Review of Le Grand Bellevue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Grand Bellevue
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels in the world . High end and child friendly a combination that we haven't seen. The staff are professional,helpful and friendly always a smiling Olivier one of them. Daniel the owner & managing director greeted us upon arrival and throughout our stay. We are definitely going to come back as well as recommending it to our friends and family. My grand kids had a blast... Thank you and keep up the good work.

Fahad

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank Fahad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGBgstaad, Inhaber at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Farhad,

Your review is humbling, thank you!

We are delighted with our progress so far, and to be so highly promoted is very kind. We shall continue to hopefully get better and better, and please do let me know when you return!

It is wonderful to have multi-generations in the house as it gives life to all of our facilities. Thank you for entrusting us on your family vacation.

Wishing you and the family all the best until your return.

Kind regards from sunny and white Gstaad!

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 546 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is outstanding in very way.

It has the best location of a five star hotel in Gstaad with an easy stroll to the Promenade. The newly decorated public areas are welcoming and comfortable and the rooms are spacious and have great views of the mountains (and coffee machines!). The food is first class, from the Michelan star restaurant to the Sushi Bar. The hotel has a wonderful spa, with an endless array of saunas, steam rooms, laconiums and much more. The gym is well equipped. The club has a lively jazz pianist Ed Copely, and there is a movie theatre which can bee booked by guests. It has all you would want in a luxury hotel.

But what truely distinguishes great hotels are their staff. The new Manager of the hotel is always around, personally greets his guests and ensures that your needs however big or small are attended to. The Concierge Olivier can make anything happen! He does not have the word impossible in his vocabulary. Francesco in the restaurant is outstanding - whatever you need, however complicated or demanding is always a pleasure to him! It is warm and welcoming no matter the time of day. All the staff are attentive and always greet you by name with a smile.

With the changes under new management - this is the best hotel in Gstaad!

Room Tip: I have been coming here for three years and have never had a bad room. The rooms with balconies are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aidblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGBgstaad, Inhaber at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear aidblogge...,

It is a hotelier's dream to have their property on any "Bucket List", so thank you for this kind statement! We are in the pursuit of delivering our best in each department, and have the advantage of wonderful facilities, however your appreciation of our staff indicates that essentially our most special asset is them. I pride myself in a team which is devoted to its guests, and it is wonderful to hear our guests in appreciation of their efforts. I will of course be sure to pass on your remarks (although as am sure you are aware, the team's constant determination for improvement means they probably have read this before I!).

I notice you are from Brisbane, so thank you so much for discovering us and for your support in these words of yours. We have had a few very kind visitors from Australia, however your appreciation of Mr. Copley our pianist reminds me of an extraordinarily wonderful 'group' from Australia staying with us whom had a penchant for good dancing, and a great atmosphere. Should this be/have been you, thank you also for your wonderful contribution of energy and atmosphere! (If this is not you, then my apologies).

Thank you thank you.

Kind regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My family stayed in Le Grand Bellevue for a long ski-weekend and we were truly impressed by the hotel, which has been beautifully redecorated. The staff is excellent and the owner/manager is extremely friendly and helpful. As our kids are still very young, it was a pleasure to find a luxurious hotel where kids are treated like kings. We definitely will come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VVH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGBgstaad, Inhaber at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear VVH2014,

Thank you for visiting us for a long weekend, and of course for taking the time to write a review. I must tell you, that as I write this message, we have blue skies and deep fresh snow from an intense snow fall overnight! We are feeling wonderful today! I do hope the conditions when you were here were optimal for your stay?!

It is important for me/us, that the property looks after all of our clients alike. We are fortunate that the large facilities means that people can have their individual space, however it is also important for us that we remain intimate, knowing each of our clients, and their whole family. I am delighted that this transmitted to you, and that you and your family had a special stay.

We hope we may host you here once again and wish you and the children all the best,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Staying during the Jan. lull in the winter season guarantees excellent service due to spoiling client/staff ratio. Our stay was made particularly memorable as a result of everyone's consistent
attention to detail, spurred on by the ubiquitous owner/GM who put in a remarkable effort to make
our stay a very pleasant one indeed.
Have been coming to Gstaad longer than I care to remember but this was a first visit to the Bellevue.
We shall return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the separate wing; spacious and tastefully decorated. No noise. Temperatures cannot be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WitsW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGBgstaad, Inhaber at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear WitsW,

Having just re-opened the property this year, it is wonderfully rewarding to read such a review appreciating the changes, the warmth and the new positioning of the hotel. As you of course know, Gstaad has always been a destination of intimacy, subdued class, and of elegance, all in a setting which is understated and authentic. It is this authenticity and low key vibe which I hope we have now achieved, while delivering unequivocal luxury at the same time.

I am also very pleased that you took the time to come in the quieter periods. Gstaad is such a gem, and being able to explore the town, (and our Spa!) when it is quieter, does allow one to fully relax and enjoy this extraordinarily beautiful setting.

We look very much forwards to your return, and wish you safe travels in the mean time.

Kind regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a fantastic weekend in this newly refurbished 5* hotel in the center of Gstaad. Besides great service, very well designed rooms and sophisticated general decor, excellent food we were particularily impressed by the spa which offered a good choice of sauna and steam rooms in a low-lit and quiet environment. Also the well entertained music bar downstairs with a respectable choice of fine drinks and its attached cigar smoking cave is really worth a visit. For sure this all comes at a price but money well invested for the discerned luxury traveller. Would certainly come back.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank THOR75STEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGBgstaad, Inhaber at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Thorsten,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I always find it remarkable how kind it is that our guests take the time to share their opinions, and it is even moreso appreciated when it states such recognition!

We do try to deliver the optimal experience to each of our guests as a whole experience. I am pleased you were able to discover the Spa, as it is remarkable how often our guests do not even realize the wonderland of variety of wellness rooms we have until they arrive.

Our new Club Room, with live music, is certainly proving to be a popular late night spot; I do hope you were able to get in some authentic rock n'roll dancing?

Many thanks again, and looking forwards I hope to your return.

Kind regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We decided to spend a few nights in the hotel after reading good reviews about it and were certainly not disappointed. We have twins, and it was extremely pleasant for us to find a hotel that was luxurious yet child friendly. We booked two rooms as we were joined by our parents. The staff was very helpful, at times offering to run after our 2 year olds while we ate at the restaurant! We were very happy with the size of our room as it was comfortable even with two baby cots. The location is perfect, in the heart of the town, so easy for village walks with the family. There is a kids corner that offers baby sitting facilities but it closes at 18;30. The only suggestion would be to have it open until a bit later (20;30) so the parents can enjoy an early dinner whilst the children are kept amused.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APiotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGBgstaad, Owner at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear APiotti,

Thank you so much for your review! It is remarkable the impact of the online review, but I am delighted that our efforts and our client's satisfaction are being met with lovely reviews such as yours. We will continue to improve daily on each of our facilities and processes to ensure that each family is wonderfully happy. I have duly noted your comment on the opening times and shall speak to the management of our kid's club to that regard. I am pleased that your children enjoyed the club, and I hope you were able to have some time to enjoy to yourselves. The objective of the club is to allow our 'adults' to relax, and our children to have the time of their lives with kind and fun counselors; so perhaps a later opening time would greatly help...thank you for the suggestion!

I wish you and your family a fabulous 2014 and hope to see you very soon.

Kind regards,

Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very poor new management with untrained staff. Food is terrible ( the best thing is the bread) and it feels like being in the city rather than in the mountains. With all the other 5 star properties in the region it is best to avoid.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vitaly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LGBgstaad, Owner at Le Grand Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Vitaly L,

I am highly surprised and saddened by your message as I can not understand how you could have had such a poor experience in our hotel.

I am here daily and in contact with each and every guest in our house, and do not believe such a rating is merited from any of our guests. I therefore conclude as you have only JUST set up this account that this rating is based on a personal vendetta and thus highly unjustified.

Our staff is frequently commended on its quality, and our Michelin star was only recently re-renewed therefore your comments can not be justified as the food quality is excellent. The decoration can only be described as warm and mountainous, with fireplaces in the lounge and bar, warm velvets and deep sofas, candle light and rustic finishings.

Perhaps otherwise you have confused us with another property?

Either way, we apologise if your stay was so conflicting with all of our other guests and hope you find greater satisfaction elsewhere.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gstaad
0.3 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Gstaad Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#13 of 21 in Gstaad
23 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
867 reviews
1.3 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#5 of 21 in Gstaad
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Bellevue

Address: Hauptstrasse 17-21, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland (Formerly Grand Hotel Bellevue)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gstaad
#2 Family Hotel in Gstaad
#2 Spa Hotel in Gstaad
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gstaad
#2 Business Hotel in Gstaad
Price Range: $594 - $1,245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Grand Bellevue 5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amid an idyllic park, right at the entrance of the charming, traffic-free village of Gstaad, Le Grand Bellevue invites guests to experience comfortable elegance and dramatic views of the surrounding mountains. After a complete renovation, the 100 year old hotel reopened in early December 2013 and presents its public areas and 57 rooms in an all-new look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Grand Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gstaad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing