We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Posthotel Roessli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posthotel Roessli
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

It's a great hotel, with very friendly staff and amazing breakfast. The price is very good too.
We stayed in a two floors bedroom, for up to five people. The room is very charming. Everything is super clean and comfortable.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Isabela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    31
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
28
29
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband and toddler stayed here for a night. The hotel is smack right in the middle of the main tourist street, yet the room was real quiet. The food was so good at lunch that we reserved again for dinner and the next day lunch. The waitresses and kitchen went out of the way to accommodate my gluten-free medical diet; I was shocked to know they had heated some GF bread at breakfast and remembered to bring me more bread at lunch. The ladies wear traditional costumes and with the warm, comfortable room and friendliness of the staff, I won't hesitate to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CuriousBee96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Post Hotel Roessli is an old favorite of ours. We have stayed there four times over the past 10 years or so and it's always a reliable choice in Gstaad.

In August, my daughter and I were on a 10 day bike trip from Munich to Salzburg to Geneva; we planned our route to go through Gstaad so that we could enjoy the gorgeous Bernese Oberland scenery. We stayed at the Post Hotel Roessli in a nice, typically Swiss room (wood paneled walls and ceiling, simple furniture) and had dinner and breakfast there-- both were fine.

The only disappointment came when a young couple's noisy argument in the center of town woke us up-- they were really screaming at each other-- so, if you like to sleep with the windows open (as we do) you should be prepared for the possibility of some noise from the street at night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

A lovely family-owned and run hotel in the centre of Gstaad. From there (and hotel has its own parking facilities) the Gstaad sights, shops and Festival locations (e.g. Menuhin Festival Concerts) are a short walk away. Service, by both management and staff, is very good: helpful and with no-fuss efficiency. Rooms are relatively simple (as befits a traditional chalet) yet well appointed, well equipped, clean and cheerful. Breakfasts are great, with the best of fresh bread varieties. The restaurant is a bit of a landmark and one does well to reserve a table beforehand. It serves a number of dishes (e.g. calf's liver in a vinegar sauce with roesti) that are - or should be - famous across the land..! A very nice hotel, to which we will certainly return!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the main "square" of Gstaad provide a lovely view! The down-side is that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerhard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
819 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Visited here with friends who had been before as it was a real treat to try the local dish of sausage and hash browns (not the local name) which was delicious. The staff were very friendly and the surroundings charming. A place not to miss if you are in Gstaad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yorkie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a very nice Chalet/Hotel
Located on the begin of the pedestrian area, its no problem to unload your car in front of the main entry and park behind and take a different entrance.
The staff is very friendly, we have been travelling with 2 kids and we got an upgrade to a bigger room.
The rooms are very warm, and the bathrooms have a good standard.
It was quiet silent and we could not hear other guests.
I would recommend for family ( there is no lift for buggy )

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bogdan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
335 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The Rossli appears to be a charming local institution and enjoys a great location right on the main promenade in Gstaad. We stayed at the recommendation of friends who are 20 year veterans of Gstaad.

The rooms were nice if simply furnished - in keeping with a three star hotel. The vintage photos and prints hint at the history of both the town and the establishment. Breakfast is included in the room rate as is Wifi and parking.

The staff was overall much more welcoming than the hotel management. If you want to be in the thick of the Gstaad scene, then this is a reasonable option. For a bit extra, the Bernerhof Hotel (4 stars) is also on the promenade. It has nicer rooms and better facilities like an indoor pool and sauna plus a couple of restaurant options.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
0.1 mi away
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#9 of 21 in Gstaad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Solsana
Hotel Solsana
#16 of 21 in Gstaad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
#7 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posthotel Roessli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posthotel Roessli

Property: Posthotel Roessli
Address: Promenade 10, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gstaad
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Gstaad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gstaad
#8 Family Hotel in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posthotel Roessli 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posthotel Rossli - the most traditional and oldest Hotel in the middle of town! This building was built approximately in 1823 and bought by Bendicht Steffen in 1844. It first opened in 1845 as a guesthouse. Back then it also was used as as a post office. By the way, the Rossli-Hotel is the oldest hotel in town. Since 1922, our family owns the establishment, and today we are proud to be the fourth generation, managing the Posthotel Rossli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Posthotel Roessli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Gstaad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing