We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home!”
Review of Hotel Olden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Olden
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Kristiansand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Feels like home!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I literarily miss this hotel. I´m back home but I want back to Gstaad because of this place! It´s just perfect.

Highlights: expresso machine in the room! The softest bed sheets ever. Perfect scrambled eggs for breakfast with fresh on the spot orange juice! And: free wi-fi!!

The hotel or "home" is just a couple of minuts walking from train station and the staff is super nice! (they even delivered my galla dress as my luggage was late from airline while I was at a party to the party! Totally saved my night)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannaaase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    10
    2
    6
    1
See reviews for
10
18
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arzier, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

When I tried to book, my first choices were already full, so through the tourist office I ended up in this little gem in the hart of Gstaad. Very polite and friendly staff and a cute, yet spacious room. Not modern, but clean and great Swiss mountain style furniture.
The restaurant offered a great choice of dishes and had a great wine list.
The hotel is located on a pedestrian street, but is reachable through small roads and with it's own parking garage you have no problem getting here by car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

For sure one of the best hotel we have never been.

A perfect mix of Switzerland mountain style and charme, the best location in Gstaad!

The hotel Manager is so kind and professional, he really runs the hotel in excellent way.

The restaurant too is the best in Gstaad, where the italian staff makes you feel at home.

A wonderful place for a wonderful stay...strongly recommended!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gin74italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

Arrogant staff, unacceptable behaviour to me, my wife and 1 year old daughter. Completely ingnoring us and refusing us to give us a table after a 20 minute wait (standing), offering a table to someone who just walked in only waiting for 30 seconds.

Very arrogant staff I and dont understand why people are queueing up for this overpriced place anymore. It used to be good for the last 20 years but I will never ever visit Olden again after this experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HJO78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We were here in the middle of the summer season - the hotels location is very convient in the centre of town. It makes a change from the hustle of the Palace.

The rooms were comfortable, if a little unispiring but that applies to pretty much every hotel in town.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reallyreallyfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

I can't believe I didn't review it earlier. We spent 3 wonderful days at the Olden last July.
This is an old renovated hotel. We had a beautiful room on the top floor with a small balcony. It rained all weekend but it didn't bother us because the room was perfect and so cozy.
The staff was very attentive and very helpful. Breakfast is not included. Wi fi is free.
It's a beautiful property in the heart of Gstaad.
We can't wait to go back....

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat-in-Schweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Great charm and style. A true gem, very efficient and friendly staff, surpassed all expectations, superb restaurant with great service.
Overall an excellent rating and highly recommendable,

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank enigerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
0.2 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Gstaad Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
313 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posthotel  Roessli
Posthotel Roessli
#10 of 21 in Gstaad
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
527 reviews
1.6 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#5 of 21 in Gstaad
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olden

Property: Hotel Olden
Address: Promenade 35, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olden 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Olden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olden Hotel Gstaad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing