We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bernerhof Gstaad
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This property is ideally located right on the main pedestrian street of Gstaad. The rooms are large, well furnished and in excellent condition. The king bed (2 beds placed together) was comfortable. The bathroom was large, had a traditional wood door (not one of those damn glass doors that appear to be croping up everywhere) and the shower had very strong water pressure. Our dinner in the hotel restaurant was outstanding.

Lack of air conditioning was the major negative..Other negatives were no mini bar and only offering liquid soap (no soap bars) in the shower and bath.

Hint on reaching the hotel by car: when driving into town turn right at the pedestrian street. This will lead you to the train station parking lot where you will turn left and drive as far as you can. The back of the hotel will be on your left. Park in a "5 minute parking" space and walk around to the front of the hotel to get parking directions. Reserve your hotel parking space in advance.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter, however, rooms on floors 1 and 2 look directly into a bu...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PickyAboutHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bernerhof Gstaad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 135 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

Beautiful property, 1 min walk from the main street. Good parking garage, spacious rooms with beauitful view of snow cladded mountains and most importantly ever smiling and helpful staff. The lady at reception, Barbara was very helpful, cheerful and always smiling. So was the lady at breakfast. Of all the places visited in switzerland, this hotel and specially its staff was so much so swiss !! Highly recomendable property simply for its amazing staff !!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlpeshNiyati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is the perfect place to stay in Gstaad. It is located near the railway station and is in the centre of the town, ideal for strolling around the town. Rooms are large and very modern. There are several outstanding restaurants from which you can choose. Spa is nice too. And the team is extremely friendly and helpful.
In winter and summer there are many guided tours organized by the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roti187331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Great Loaction right in the heart of the town, Rooms a bit tired but clean and typicaly Swiss, bright and lots of room to move about, great pool, sauna and steam room, 4 different eateries, ski and boot room, a smokers room, friendly helpfull staff. We enjoyed the stay and will be back next year !

Room Tip: For smoker's one with a balcony, or over looking the town.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rj_watters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed here for just one night with my elderly mother 84yrs.
We loved it. Staff very friendly and helpful, location just next to the station was great.
Rooms where a very high standard, and a lovley belcony to enjoy the mountains and sun.
Pool complex very new and modern, Even through sauna area and changing rooms are both men and women.Breakfast was good. Will come again one day. Rooms rates are high, but that goes for most of Gstaad.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliza1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Visited the hotel already 2 times and now going for the 3 rd time in 2010, the restaurants are very very good, (2 out of 4 Italian and Schaffel are super) the service in the restaurant is very very friendly, especially Felice. The spa center and Swimming pool is completely renovated in 2009, and now it is wonderful, a huge makeover.
The location is in the middle of the city of Gstaad, but even tough it is quiet, next to bus and railway station. Just a pity they don't offer a shuttle service to Saanenmöser ski area, so you have to take the train for 15 minutes. The rooms are clean, all in wood, some rooms are very new. For children the hotel is also perfect, they pay really a lot of attention to them concerning food.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRECHTEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

Two friends and I stayed at the Bernerhof on our way to Italy on a motorcycle tour. It had been a long day of riding in the rain and the reception was warm and friendly. We spread our gear out over the various radiators and went out to have dinner along the main street, which was basically a stone's throw from the hotel. When one of the guys had a problem next morning with a bent ignition key for his bike, the hotel handyman fixed it quickly and without charge. With Gstaad's reputation as a luxury destination, we were pleased with the CHF 354 price for a spacious room for 3, with a living area and small kitchenette (price includes breakfast). I can easily recommend the Bernerhof.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmo_Felani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
0.2 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
1.5 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#4 of 21 in Gstaad
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#5 of 21 in Gstaad
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
164 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Solsana
Hotel Solsana
#17 of 21 in Gstaad
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bernerhof Gstaad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bernerhof Gstaad

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 2, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range: $189 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bernerhof Gstaad 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bernerhof Gstaad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing