We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of la Fromagerie (cheese restaurant at the Palace)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Review of la Fromagerie (cheese restaurant at the Palace)”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Viande des Grisons served was cut 3 hours ago and stale. When we complain the italian waiter who knows it all said, they were too busy and it was normal to cut in the afternoon to serve at dinner ??? He was not told obviously that when a customer makes a comment, he does not need to get a lectured. This is generally speaking the problem at the Palace; a staff that has been there forever with a "unionized know it all mentality". The raclette was average and the mocha ice-cream, I am sharing the picture and will leave you judge if you call that a serving size, especially for what the charge. The Palace is an institution, so for the wannabes "I went to the Palace", go for it and you will get the treatment.... If you want a real raclette and service, then there are 1/2 a dozen places in or near Gstaad that are better than La Fromagerie.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank talamenthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    33
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
54
114
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is my second time at this wonderful hotel in the impossibly chic village of Gstaad.
We were here for a private event during the weekend so the hotel was open exclusively for us.

Staying here is a real privilege, a dream come true.

The setting couldn't be more magical with views of the village and mountains all around.

Our room was so luxurious, such a treat! Walk-in closet, hot tub with tv, large shower, etc.
Last time we were here our room was beautiful but had not been refurbished. I was told they were slowly remodeling all the rooms in the hotel so make sure you get a modern one!

The service is absolutely impeccable as you would expect and they cater to you your every whim.

The spa is an absolute delight! Especially the outdoor pool where you can roll around in the snow and then jump back in the warm water.

This hotel is amazing in every way and I hope I get the chance to stay here again.

I really can't think of anything negative to say except for the obvious... it's expensive! Worth it though.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the newly refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocodemer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engelburg, Schweiz
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

In the "Bilanz Hotel Rating 2012" the Palace Gstaad was rated again as Nr. 2 holiday hotel in Switzerland and best Winter holiday hotel. Since I had to go to the Berner Oberland and never been to the Palace Gstaad, I decided to give it a try and stay at this hotel.

The hotel itself is a beautiful Palace overlooking the picturesque village of Gstaad. The hotel is in very good shape and up to a modern standard, but still very charming. It offers everything you expect from a 5* hotel. The Spa is very nice with a heated outdoor pool and a nice chill out area with fruits, tea and an open fire. Wireless Lan is free in the hotel, which is not self-evident even with this price tag.

What makes the Palace Gstaad very special amongst other luxury hotels in Switzerland is the perfect service from the Staff, especially to mention are the reception and spa staff and the waiters at the restaurants and the bar. They are very well trained and really go over a standard 5* service. You will hardly find such a perfect service in any other hotel or restaurant in Switzerland, they even come close to the legendary service at the Oriental in Bangkok - and when it comes to the service at the restaurant, they may are even better than their colleagues at the River of Kings. The waiters are mostly "older" than usual in the hotel industry in Switzerland and have worked at the Palace Gstaad for more than 20 or 30 years. They do not only provide a perfect service, they are also very charming, funny, very knowledgable and elegant. The Ritz-Carlton motto ("We are Ladies and Gentlemen serving Ladies and Gentlemen") - the Palace Gstaad is not a Ritz-Carlton hotel - may can be adapted for the Palace Gstaad considering the history of the hotel: "We are Queens and Kings serving Queens and Kings". They really provide a memorable experience to each guest.

Nevertheless, the rooms are small and the decorations in the rooms are not my cup of tea, especially the old TV in the Bathroom should be renewed as well as the flat TV in the room, since it is embarrassing for the otherwise really well equiped and well renovated hotel. Moreover, the hotel should separate non-smoking and smoking rooms, because if the guest before smoked in the room, there is still a smell in the room.

Despite the mentioned minor criticism and to sum up, the Palace Gstaad truely deserves to be ranked as best winter holiday hotel. In my humble opinion it is one of the best hotels in Switerland, if not the best hotel. I highly recommend the perfectly - by the owner Family Scherz - managed hotel. Thanks to the Palace Gstaad staff. I am looking forward to my next visite.

Merci beaucoup pour une virée superbe à Gstaad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sciurus83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Palace in an institution. The staff are second to none in remembering guests whims and names. Where else in the world can you eat dinner with a live orchestra and all the people are dressed up to the lines?
The Spa is awesome and the nightclub is an institution for all Gstaad'ers.
The lobby bar area is a great place for a quiet lunch. The fro steeled downstairs is very intimate where they do the most fantastic fondues. The service one gets at this Hotel is fantastic and nothing is too much to ask.
In terms of pricing I would say it was fair. A unique place and truly one of my favourite places.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Londoner093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Most of these reviews are summer. Here's a ski/winter review.

Skiing - There's a ski rental shop on site and the concierge will get your lift tickets and advise on the day's conditions. The hotel shuttle will take you to within 5 feet of the Gstaad-Eggli gondola, but you'll probably end up calling a taxi back (16 fr.) The shuttle will also meet you at the Gstaad train station (free), or it's about CHF 400 for a taxi from Geneva or Zurich (actually a good deal for 3+ people). Gstaad is a big mountain and a small town, so crowds are not nearly as bad as at other resorts nearer big cities. Most of the runs are easy or intermediate. The hotel spa is awesome for relieving any leg pains.

Service - world-class. By the second day, everyone knows you and your preferences and goes out of their way to meet them. We had no problems at apres-ski with service in the lobby bar. We ordered a bottle of 20-year-old Bordeaux that seemed slightly tainted and there was no problem replacing it with a better bottle.

Food - generally quite good but I agree with Michelin's decision not to give Le Grand a star. The main course on the menu du jour one night was basically glorified baked chicken. Missing an element of je ne sais quoi. #notimpressed

Expense - yes it's costly. Beyond the room, plan on easily spending CHF 400/night for dinner for two with drinks, maybe 300 if you try to be economical. Drinks are CHF 25 to 35. You will not get the full enjoyment out of this experience if your credit card has a limit or if you're concerned about the really bad exchange rate to the Swiss franc.

Tipping - There is a "tip" line on the bill, with sometimes a suggested amount of about 10% in addition to the menu price. The expectation of a gratuity is annoying (though I did it because we Americans have it in our bones). Many high-end internationally-oriented resorts, tours, cruise lines, and restaurants are "service compris" or explicitly include a tip in the advertised price. Everyone tips differently, so please don't put me in a position of assessing what is or is not proper in your country.

3-for-2 deals - Check the Palace website for a variety of deals for slightly less popular times like mid-week in January. Including dinner can make these reasonably good deals. Note that the terms are not always clearly worded in English. The 3-nights-for-2 deal this season includes 3 nights and 3 breakfasts, but not dinner on your final night, the one before you check-out. Also, the CHF 110/person dinner credit is only valid in LeGrand Restaurant. If you want to go to any other restaurant in the property, you forfeit 60/person.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colonel_Montoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, Essex
Level Contributor
166 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Gstaad Palace in late September as we took over the hotel for 2 days - so I had a chance to see all areas! As you get through the quite small reception area, the quality and friendly feel of the hotel is truly as described by other reviewers. It only has 90 rooms so keeps a small luxury hotel feel to it.

The single bed rooms are small (7 of them I think) but well planned out - and the larger rooms with views of the south mountains are very appealing. And the Maitre d'Hotel - Gildo - is like a perfect father meeting and greeting family back for a stay.

The food was exellent and there is a regular shuttle bus between the town\village (2 minutes down the hill) and the hotel.

For a five star hotel - it has six star prices, and the high level of the Swiss Franc does not help. hence it may be struggling a little but luxury is permanent and it will continue to be a success. I can imagine how it comes into its own during the winter months with snow on the ground, and the fires in the grates.
I didn't encounter any problems with any of the staff and the diversity from Italy, Germany and Switzerland was refreshing. They were all excellent and I love the motto of something like "We have kings as customers, and all of our customers are kings".

Having been I think that's it, I don't need to go back again but I am glad I went.
After we had our 2 day conference they closed until 16 December for the winter season.

Room Tip: Ask for a Seperior South or above so you do get a South facing room with the mountains\ hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed at the Gstaad Palace in late August for one week. The quality and ambience of the hotel is truly as described by other reviewers. However....for a five star hotel with five star prices the lack of service in the Lobby lounge bar and the terrace outside let the hotel down. To attract attention to order a drink was very difficult as the waiters were either talking to each other or just kept looking the other way. My friend and I had to get up each time to get the drinks menu, then order the drink and then pay for the drink. You could be sitting for quite a long time feeling very thirsty otherwise. I would advise the hotel management that they could be making a lot more profit out of their lobby and terrace bars if each customer was served promptly and drinks orders refreshed on a regular basis. I didn't encounter any problems with the concierge, reception, housekeeping and spa staff. They were all excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Alps rather than one overlooking the town. Probably a lot more ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruemde d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
0.2 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#18 of 21 in Gstaad
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
#9 of 21 in Gstaad
108 reviews
1.7 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#6 of 21 in Gstaad
91 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gstaad Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gstaad Palace Hotel

Property: Gstaad Palace Hotel
Address: Palacestrasse 28, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gstaad Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years the Gstaad Palace has earned an unrivalled reputation for discreet, refined hospitality, and has always welcomed the most discerning international clientele. Set on a hill overlooking Gstaad, the resort is privileged to offer a breathtaking view of the majestic Swiss Alps. The 104 tastefully decorated rooms include 19 junior suites, 4 suites, 2 Tower Suites and the most luxurious and sophisticated three-bedroom Penthouse Suite ever built in an Alpine resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Gstaad Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing