We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for skiing and apres-ski”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Most of these reviews are summer. Here's a ski/winter review.

Skiing - There's a ski rental shop on site and the concierge will get your lift tickets and advise on the day's conditions. The hotel shuttle will take you to within 5 feet of the Gstaad-Eggli gondola, but you'll probably end up calling a taxi back (16 fr.) The shuttle will also meet you at the Gstaad train station (free), or it's about CHF 400 for a taxi from Geneva or Zurich (actually a good deal for 3+ people). Gstaad is a big mountain and a small town, so crowds are not nearly as bad as at other resorts nearer big cities. Most of the runs are easy or intermediate. The hotel spa is awesome for relieving any leg pains.

Service - world-class. By the second day, everyone knows you and your preferences and goes out of their way to meet them. We had no problems at apres-ski with service in the lobby bar. We ordered a bottle of 20-year-old Bordeaux that seemed slightly tainted and there was no problem replacing it with a better bottle.

Food - generally quite good but I agree with Michelin's decision not to give Le Grand a star. The main course on the menu du jour one night was basically glorified baked chicken. Missing an element of je ne sais quoi. #notimpressed

Expense - yes it's costly. Beyond the room, plan on easily spending CHF 400/night for dinner for two with drinks, maybe 300 if you try to be economical. Drinks are CHF 25 to 35. You will not get the full enjoyment out of this experience if your credit card has a limit or if you're concerned about the really bad exchange rate to the Swiss franc.

Tipping - There is a "tip" line on the bill, with sometimes a suggested amount of about 10% in addition to the menu price. The expectation of a gratuity is annoying (though I did it because we Americans have it in our bones). Many high-end internationally-oriented resorts, tours, cruise lines, and restaurants are "service compris" or explicitly include a tip in the advertised price. Everyone tips differently, so please don't put me in a position of assessing what is or is not proper in your country.

3-for-2 deals - Check the Palace website for a variety of deals for slightly less popular times like mid-week in January. Including dinner can make these reasonably good deals. Note that the terms are not always clearly worded in English. The 3-nights-for-2 deal this season includes 3 nights and 3 breakfasts, but not dinner on your final night, the one before you check-out. Also, the CHF 110/person dinner credit is only valid in LeGrand Restaurant. If you want to go to any other restaurant in the property, you forfeit 60/person.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colonel_Montoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for Gstaad Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 327 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Gstaad Palace in late September as we took over the hotel for 2 days - so I had a chance to see all areas! As you get through the quite small reception area, the quality and friendly feel of the hotel is truly as described by other reviewers. It only has 90 rooms so keeps a small luxury hotel feel to it.

The single bed rooms are small (7 of them I think) but well planned out - and the larger rooms with views of the south mountains are very appealing. And the Maitre d'Hotel - Gildo - is like a perfect father meeting and greeting family back for a stay.

The food was exellent and there is a regular shuttle bus between the town\village (2 minutes down the hill) and the hotel.

For a five star hotel - it has six star prices, and the high level of the Swiss Franc does not help. hence it may be struggling a little but luxury is permanent and it will continue to be a success. I can imagine how it comes into its own during the winter months with snow on the ground, and the fires in the grates.
I didn't encounter any problems with any of the staff and the diversity from Italy, Germany and Switzerland was refreshing. They were all excellent and I love the motto of something like "We have kings as customers, and all of our customers are kings".

Having been I think that's it, I don't need to go back again but I am glad I went.
After we had our 2 day conference they closed until 16 December for the winter season.

Room Tip: Ask for a Seperior South or above so you do get a South facing room with the mountains\ hills.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed at the Gstaad Palace in late August for one week. The quality and ambience of the hotel is truly as described by other reviewers. However....for a five star hotel with five star prices the lack of service in the Lobby lounge bar and the terrace outside let the hotel down. To attract attention to order a drink was very difficult as the waiters were either talking to each other or just kept looking the other way. My friend and I had to get up each time to get the drinks menu, then order the drink and then pay for the drink. You could be sitting for quite a long time feeling very thirsty otherwise. I would advise the hotel management that they could be making a lot more profit out of their lobby and terrace bars if each customer was served promptly and drinks orders refreshed on a regular basis. I didn't encounter any problems with the concierge, reception, housekeeping and spa staff. They were all excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Alps rather than one overlooking the town. Probably a lot more ex...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruemde d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Iconic hotel set up at the top of this lovely mountainside town. The spa is the best we have ever been too- sensational. Our room wasn't huge but was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We arrived mid afternoon and so grabbed a salad in the bar area- the staff in there were very unfriendly and pretty rude and whilst the salad was good we could not get over how expensive it was-WOW! Other staff we encountered at reception, in the spa etc were very nice indeed. The band that played in the evenings were wonderful. A hotel with a sense of tradition and history although a bit snooty in places and prepare to break the bank!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieAndCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed 1 night at this hotel in summer 2012 with a friend in a superior room with southern (so mountain) view and this hotel is simply magical!

Right from the arrival at this majestic property you feel transported into a fairytale somewhere between the Sound of Music and Disneyland. The hotel's atmosphere managed to find a mix between relaxed and cosy, the charm of the Swiss alps and timeless chic and elegance with just a touch of magic. The decoration of this property just fits so wonderfully right to this amazing location and atmosphere of this house, it is impossible to describe.

We were given a superior room with mountain view: the wonderful decoration and look'n'feel of this hotel continues in the room; an astonishing mix of romantic mountain chic and modern touches. The room was rather big, did feature a little balcony and a huge walk-in dressing room. At arrival we were offered a welcome homemade ice-tea and complimentary bottled water and a fruit plate in the room. A true highlight was the bathroom, which, you might have guessed it, was as well wonderfully painted and decorated. Sleep quality was wonderfully; very high quality bed linen. The hotel does have free wifi but no AC.

The spa area of this hotel keeps to the charm of the rest of the property, though properly plays its cards fully on cold winter days. Typical features like sauna, steam room, indoor pool and a fitness room are complemented by a heather exterior pool with jacuzzi. A true highlight in summer is the huge outdoor pool with several diving boards - great for summer days and swimming, very unusual for hotels in Switzerland.

Staff at this hotel is incredibly charming and lovely: always willing to help and very courteous.

Breakfast however was a little limited in its selection - yet still okay.

I would stay at this hotel again anytime and recommend it to anybody - it is just magical!

+Location
+Atmosphere and look'n'feel
+Spa
+Staff
+/- Brakfast

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Gstaad palace is one of the best properties i have stayed in. The location is perfect and luckily our room had excellent views of the surrounding mountains. must say the service is also great and they truly make you feel pampered.

The spa is a high point. they have a lovely pool with excellent views. we were lucky to have indulged in their hamam experience, which i feel is a must try.

very expensive and should be prepared to spend upwards of 1000 swiss franc a day.

Room Tip: should try to take a room facing the swiss alps
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harsh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Gstaad Palace is an icon towering above Gstaad. It is in a classic style with a beautiful lounge The rooms are bright, spacious and beautifully furnished. The walk into town is 7 mins but quite tough going uphill. There is a free shuttle to the station. Free wi-fi. The service was very good at reception and in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathieO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Dear Cathie,

We would like to thank you for your precious comment of yesterday. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Palace!

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards

Romuald Bour
Deputy Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gstaad
0.2 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
412 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#12 of 21 in Gstaad
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#5 of 21 in Gstaad
141 reviews
2.1 mi away
ERMITAGE Wellness- & Spa-Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gstaad Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gstaad Palace Hotel

Address: Palacestrasse 28, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range: $482 - $1,929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gstaad Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Over the years the Gstaad Palace has earned an unrivalled reputation for discreet, refined hospitality, and has always welcomed the most discerning international clientele. Set on a hill overlooking Gstaad, the resort is privileged to offer a breathtaking view of the majestic Swiss Alps. The 104 tastefully decorated rooms include 19 junior suites, 4 suites, 2 Tower Suites and the most luxurious and sophisticated three-bedroom Penthouse Suite ever built in an Alpine resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gstaad Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing