We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brillaint Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2011

1. Room : Simple and Functional - they were clean, modern and functional with web-tv in each room and a small sitting area with a small terrace (enough for 2 chairs and a table). The bathrooms were a little bit of a let down duw to their size but at least the showers were good and strong.

2. Food (half board) : Whereas breakfast is nothing astounding (except for the bread rolls, which are simply superb), the half-boar dinner is astounding. A 4-course meal (choice of 2 starters, a soup, 2 mains, desser or cheese) every night and the quality was on par with anything I've easten at the Palace, etc in Gstaad. Quality of meat was 1st-rate with Barberie Duck, Roasted Beef, etc all making appearances. At no point did you feel like you were getting a second-rate meal as you were half board. Furthermore, the Raclette and Fondue restaurant in the basement is amongst the best available - definitely try the champagne & truffle fondue. Definitely 5-star.

3. Location - not on the main pedestrian area but 2 minutes walk away. Gstaad isnt a ski-in ski-out town but the hotel has a ski bus service and the towns free ski-bus stops directly outside. Furthermore, tyhe hotel has a loarge garage underneath.

4. Kids - made to feel most welcome, especially at the fantastic restaurant. There is a billiards room, a young kids play room and an older kids play room. The staff were very helpful.

5. Service - also impecable at a 4-star level. Not as good as a good 5-star but impressive considering the bargain price point.

Summary - this hotel is excellent. The only let down are the slightly boxy rooms nad the small bathrooms but this is reflected in the price. We have lready booked to go back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reallyreallyfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 273 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2010

After spending xmas at the Imperial in Vienna, I decided to take a trip to Gstaad with my girlfriend for NYE week. Every nice hotel was booked, so we went for a central 4 star at 450 CHF a night, which in my books, should have been AT LEAST decent.

To be clear, I am as used to staying in palaces around the world, than roughing it up in dumps.

They gave us a room at arms length of the elevator, with paper thin walls where the neighbor whispering to his wife sounds like he's in our room and where kids wake you up 3 rooms down the hall while they're still in their bed.

The bed also doubles up as a seesaw, which means that if one person is on the wrong side of the bed when the other gets into it, they have a good chance of getting bounced out the window.

After 2 nights, I'm sleeping on the floor (picture attached) to try to give my girlfriend a couple hours sleep. It's day 3 in Gstaad, and we still haven't felt rested enough to go skiing.

THANK GOD I have a friend giving us a room in his house here so we can finally start to enjoy the stay, but piece of advice, avoid this hotel like the plague NEVER stay here!

PS: For those of you who might think I'm exagerating, but I'm unfortunately not...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jvaislic79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome we received, and by the size of our room (actually 2 rooms) as we were travelling with our teenage daughter. We enjoyed a larger than usual European breakfast, and had 2 dinners in the restaurant, both of which were very good. The hotel is a 2 minute walk from the main pedestrian area, and the receptionist gave us great hiking options for our Saturday afternoon. The friendly service was outstanding!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsgyalog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I was absolutely stunned to find a hotel room available for the high season in Gstaad, during the Menuhin Music Festival, too. So I wasn't expecting much. However, the place is a real find! It's located just steps off of the pedestrian street, so it's convenient. My room was ultra quiet, and very large. I spent a week there and enjoyed every moment They offer guided hiking weeks for summer or winter hiking, and I'm definitely going to join one on a future visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swandav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

If I travel to Gstaad I stay at Gstaaderhof. The Hotel offers top service for a reasonable rate. The staff is very friendly ... for me as morning grumpy maybe toooo friendly! The Restaurant offers delicious meals. Unfortunately the selection of open wine is very poor, but that's my only complain! Make sure to book a room with balcony, you will have a nice view and enjoy the peaceful silcence!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swissness70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Extremely clean hotel with friendly, attentive service at all times from all the staff. The standard of catering was also to be commended. It was heartening to see the owners taking such an interest in the running of the hotel and interacting with guests.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joneseyWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

What a lovely hotel. The service is beyond expectations and little touches like a chocolate on the pillow of my baby's cot was just so sweet. Rooms are huge and have a lovely view. Breakfast was a good selection. Location is great - just a very short walk into Gstaad. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squeeze74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
180 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
#11 of 21 in Gstaad
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#6 of 21 in Gstaad
205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ultima Gstaad
Ultima Gstaad
#13 of 21 in Gstaad
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel

Address: Lauenenstrasse 19, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Gstaad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gstaad
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gstaad
#7 Family Hotel in Gstaad
Price Range: $225 - $614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Gstaad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing