We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
geneva
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good stay!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hotel was a good feasible option for a chic mountain village like Gstaad. The rate was ok and the location was very good too. Aside from breakfast, pretty much everything else had a price tag - from using the jacuzzi to parking to the sea salts in your bathroom. The hotel restaurant downstairs though is amazing and definitely worth going to! What a surprise. The wellness area is nice and we very much enjoyed it, though I wonder in peak season might be it be crowded? Last thing, the rooms are small and nothing to write home about. To wrap it all up, great staff though might try another option next time we go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdang1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    86
    19
    2
    6
See reviews for
58
107
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chur, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Eleven nights and no complains! Dinner gorgeous and friendly staff. We had a very quiet room and also cleen. The bathroom was functional and a little smal. A real quiet sleep in a good bed so you never would like to get out of.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tandemjordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

At a time of my booking, it was the only hotel available and because we have stayed around New Years - all prices in Gstaad went up by a double if not more. Therefore, it seemed like we've paid a five star hotel and were cheated. In light of this, I should probably make no further comments.
Well, OK, I will say something since I have started writing:)
Because the weather was dreadful and most people couldn't ski, the hotel was constantly full with noise of parents and bored kids. Spa in the hotel is not that good- just a sauna and a steam, but was busy all the time. Internet did not work most of the time even in the lobby, which is always annoying.
The location is very good. Not on the main street, but still very close. Room was cosy and quiet with a nice view, but double bed was actually two single beds pushed together. I am not a breakfast type of person, but from what I've seen my friends eating- it looked like a lot of food, but average.
However, I must say that a restaurant Muli within the hotel has saved the trip- it is absolute must to visit even if you stay some place else in Gstaad!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Z0Z0_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We spent there one night and we enjoyed the stay. Very good hotel few minutes away from the main street in Gstaad. Our room was comfortable, even if not extremely big, with a sunny balcony facing the mountains. Unfortunately wifi is not available in the room (only cable connection) but only in the lobby. The breakfast was of good quality but a bit poor for a 4-star hotel. An underground parking is available for 13 CHF per day. Overall a nice play to stay in Gstaad, we would go there again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We highly recommend this hotel for their personal touch, cosy and warm rooms and lobby and excellent situation!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELISENDA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We had booked 8 days at this hotel for the first week of the new year. We found the rooms, food and staff to be just fine. Unfortunately, the first day we were to go skiing it was pouring rain, and the next few days turned out to be similar weather, and with the forecast for the next few days less than encouraging.

So, we decided that it was not worth staying on and that we would leave a few days early. We were obviously not expecting the hotel to refund any of our room costs but, as we had booked half board, were hopeful they might refund some of our food costs. This had been our experience at other similar hotels, ie if you decide to eat out there is a standard nominal refund for meals not taken.

We notified the manager on duty that we intended to leave early and asked him to advise what our final bill would be. Unfortunately, the hotel took a very unflexible position on the matter and insisted we pay the full costs of our stay, ie they refused to credit us anything for the few days of meals we would not be taking.

We explained our experience with other hotels for untaken meals, but they were not prepared to budge. We felt this was very unreasonable. It is logical that we be expected to pay the full costs of the room as it is unlikely it could be resold, but as we were not taking meals the hotel could easily avoid most of these costs. We felt even a token amount refunded would have been a hospitable gesture. Unfortunately this was not forthcoming.

So, on top of a very disappointing snow and ski experience, which caused us to leave early, we felt the hotel was very unflexible and beligerent in their treatment of our situation.

Two other issues worth mentioning, unreliable internet WiFi and screaming children. As we were trying to change around our flights out of Geneva, the unreliable internet connection was a real problem for us. When we mentioned it to reception, all they could offer was "yes, its not working". Also, we found it disturbing that even late into the evening, there would be young children running up and down the corridors screaming, with no supervision from parents. Now, we have 2 teenage children of our own, so are pretty patient with this sort of thing. Unfortunately our patience was tested on numerous evenings.

I would not recommend a stay at the Gstaaderhof.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Since many years we spend a couple of days during fall in this hotel. Owners and staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are well kept and clean, and now they have even a digital TV. Free WiFi is also available in the Lobby. The breakfast is one of the richest I know in Switzerland, and the restaurant has the best price-quality ratio in Gstaad (where most other restaurants are somehow overcharging).

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have a beautiful view into the Alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrado41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
1.7 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#6 of 21 in Gstaad
101 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#4 of 21 in Gstaad
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
#9 of 21 in Gstaad
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof Gstaad
Hotel Bernerhof Gstaad
#14 of 21 in Gstaad
129 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Solsana
Hotel Solsana
#16 of 21 in Gstaad
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Lauenenstrasse 19, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Gstaad
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gstaad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gstaad
#7 Family Hotel in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Gstaad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing