We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel-Restaurant Alphorn(Gstaad)(Great Value!)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posthotel Roessli(Gstaad)(Great Value!)
$159
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arc-en-ciel(Gstaad)
$350
$209
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Gstaad(Gstaad)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Olden(Gstaad)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
147
96
21
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
147
96
21
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationminute detailspedestrian areaperfect locationthis family run hotelview from the balconycomfortable stayhalf boardcomfortable bedshotel is locatedunderground parkingcable cardouble roomexcellent breakfasthighly recommend this hotelski schoolreception staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 274 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We spent there one night and we enjoyed the stay. Very good hotel few minutes away from the main street in Gstaad. Our room was comfortable, even if not extremely big, with a sunny balcony facing the mountains. Unfortunately wifi is not available in the room (only cable connection) but only in the lobby. The breakfast was of good quality but a bit poor for a 4-star hotel. An underground parking is available for 13 CHF per day. Overall a nice play to stay in Gstaad, we would go there again!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We highly recommend this hotel for their personal touch, cosy and warm rooms and lobby and excellent situation!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELISENDA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We had booked 8 days at this hotel for the first week of the new year. We found the rooms, food and staff to be just fine. Unfortunately, the first day we were to go skiing it was pouring rain, and the next few days turned out to be similar weather, and with the forecast for the next few days less than encouraging.

So, we decided that it was not worth staying on and that we would leave a few days early. We were obviously not expecting the hotel to refund any of our room costs but, as we had booked half board, were hopeful they might refund some of our food costs. This had been our experience at other similar hotels, ie if you decide to eat out there is a standard nominal refund for meals not taken.

We notified the manager on duty that we intended to leave early and asked him to advise what our final bill would be. Unfortunately, the hotel took a very unflexible position on the matter and insisted we pay the full costs of our stay, ie they refused to credit us anything for the few days of meals we would not be taking.

We explained our experience with other hotels for untaken meals, but they were not prepared to budge. We felt this was very unreasonable. It is logical that we be expected to pay the full costs of the room as it is unlikely it could be resold, but as we were not taking meals the hotel could easily avoid most of these costs. We felt even a token amount refunded would have been a hospitable gesture. Unfortunately this was not forthcoming.

So, on top of a very disappointing snow and ski experience, which caused us to leave early, we felt the hotel was very unflexible and beligerent in their treatment of our situation.

Two other issues worth mentioning, unreliable internet WiFi and screaming children. As we were trying to change around our flights out of Geneva, the unreliable internet connection was a real problem for us. When we mentioned it to reception, all they could offer was "yes, its not working". Also, we found it disturbing that even late into the evening, there would be young children running up and down the corridors screaming, with no supervision from parents. Now, we have 2 teenage children of our own, so are pretty patient with this sort of thing. Unfortunately our patience was tested on numerous evenings.

I would not recommend a stay at the Gstaaderhof.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Since many years we spend a couple of days during fall in this hotel. Owners and staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are well kept and clean, and now they have even a digital TV. Free WiFi is also available in the Lobby. The breakfast is one of the richest I know in Switzerland, and the restaurant has the best price-quality ratio in Gstaad (where most other restaurants are somehow overcharging).

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have a beautiful view into the Alps.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corrado41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We arrived at the hotel and immediately told them that the room was too cold. They told us that they would make it warmer (no thermostat in the room). Later that day we told them again. They said they fixed it but would make it warmer. That night my wife and I both asked for extra blankets but that was not enough so we slept in our long underwear. We woke up the next day and told them it was still too cold. They said they would fix it. Later that day we told them again and they said they had done it 3 times and would do it again. After 2 freezing nights we ended our trip and returned home cutting our entire vacation short by 2 days. When we checked out 2 days early they told us that we paid the entire amount in advance and that the manager would need to approve the refund of the 2 unused days. We agreed and checked out. We contacted the hotel and they would not refund the money. Better yet they also informed me that they keep the temperature at a steady 64 degrees at night and that should have been sufficient. Now we contacted Orbitz. They LIED to Orbitz and told Orbitz that they offered us a space heater and we refused it. DO YOU ACTUALLY BELIEVE ANYONE WHO WAS COLD REFUSED A SPACE HEATER. We are still going back and forth with Orbitz and the hotel for them to refund us the money for the unused nights.

Room Tip: The rooms are too cold so it does not matter. Get a space heater and do not pay in advance.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jost H, Inhaber at Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

The Hotel Gstaaderhof team is very sorry to read, that Mr P. experienced a bad stay at our Hotel. Furthermore the weather was bad and there was not much snow in Gstaad at the beginning of december.

We always do our utmost to meet our guest’s approval. The temperature in our rooms is a steady 22°C during the day. At night the temperature is lowered to 18°C, which is healthy to sleep and a customary temperature in our area. Nevertheless, if our guests are too cold, we always offer extra blankets or a space heater. The second offer was turned down by Mr P.

As Mr P. correctly states, he had paid his stay in advance through a booking platform. Although there was no reason for a refund, we offered Mr P. a voucher for a stay of 2 nights at our Hotel, which he did not accept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews