We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice central hotel in Gstaad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Jena, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice central hotel in Gstaad”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We spent there one night and we enjoyed the stay. Very good hotel few minutes away from the main street in Gstaad. Our room was comfortable, even if not extremely big, with a sunny balcony facing the mountains. Unfortunately wifi is not available in the room (only cable connection) but only in the lobby. The breakfast was of good quality but a bit poor for a 4-star hotel. An underground parking is available for 13 CHF per day. Overall a nice play to stay in Gstaad, we would go there again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    82
    19
    2
    6
See reviews for
56
105
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We highly recommend this hotel for their personal touch, cosy and warm rooms and lobby and excellent situation!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELISENDA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We had booked 8 days at this hotel for the first week of the new year. We found the rooms, food and staff to be just fine. Unfortunately, the first day we were to go skiing it was pouring rain, and the next few days turned out to be similar weather, and with the forecast for the next few days less than encouraging.

So, we decided that it was not worth staying on and that we would leave a few days early. We were obviously not expecting the hotel to refund any of our room costs but, as we had booked half board, were hopeful they might refund some of our food costs. This had been our experience at other similar hotels, ie if you decide to eat out there is a standard nominal refund for meals not taken.

We notified the manager on duty that we intended to leave early and asked him to advise what our final bill would be. Unfortunately, the hotel took a very unflexible position on the matter and insisted we pay the full costs of our stay, ie they refused to credit us anything for the few days of meals we would not be taking.

We explained our experience with other hotels for untaken meals, but they were not prepared to budge. We felt this was very unreasonable. It is logical that we be expected to pay the full costs of the room as it is unlikely it could be resold, but as we were not taking meals the hotel could easily avoid most of these costs. We felt even a token amount refunded would have been a hospitable gesture. Unfortunately this was not forthcoming.

So, on top of a very disappointing snow and ski experience, which caused us to leave early, we felt the hotel was very unflexible and beligerent in their treatment of our situation.

Two other issues worth mentioning, unreliable internet WiFi and screaming children. As we were trying to change around our flights out of Geneva, the unreliable internet connection was a real problem for us. When we mentioned it to reception, all they could offer was "yes, its not working". Also, we found it disturbing that even late into the evening, there would be young children running up and down the corridors screaming, with no supervision from parents. Now, we have 2 teenage children of our own, so are pretty patient with this sort of thing. Unfortunately our patience was tested on numerous evenings.

I would not recommend a stay at the Gstaaderhof.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Since many years we spend a couple of days during fall in this hotel. Owners and staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are well kept and clean, and now they have even a digital TV. Free WiFi is also available in the Lobby. The breakfast is one of the richest I know in Switzerland, and the restaurant has the best price-quality ratio in Gstaad (where most other restaurants are somehow overcharging).

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have a beautiful view into the Alps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrado41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We arrived at the hotel and immediately told them that the room was too cold. They told us that they would make it warmer (no thermostat in the room). Later that day we told them again. They said they fixed it but would make it warmer. That night my wife and I both asked for extra blankets but that was not enough so we slept in our long underwear. We woke up the next day and told them it was still too cold. They said they would fix it. Later that day we told them again and they said they had done it 3 times and would do it again. After 2 freezing nights we ended our trip and returned home cutting our entire vacation short by 2 days. When we checked out 2 days early they told us that we paid the entire amount in advance and that the manager would need to approve the refund of the 2 unused days. We agreed and checked out. We contacted the hotel and they would not refund the money. Better yet they also informed me that they keep the temperature at a steady 64 degrees at night and that should have been sufficient. Now we contacted Orbitz. They LIED to Orbitz and told Orbitz that they offered us a space heater and we refused it. DO YOU ACTUALLY BELIEVE ANYONE WHO WAS COLD REFUSED A SPACE HEATER. We are still going back and forth with Orbitz and the hotel for them to refund us the money for the unused nights.

Room Tip: The rooms are too cold so it does not matter. Get a space heater and do not pay in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jost H, Inhaber at Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
The Hotel Gstaaderhof team is very sorry to read, that Mr P. experienced a bad stay at our Hotel. Furthermore the weather was bad and there was not much snow in Gstaad at the beginning of december.

We always do our utmost to meet our guest’s approval. The temperature in our rooms is a steady 22°C during the day. At night the temperature is lowered to 18°C, which is healthy to sleep and a customary temperature in our area. Nevertheless, if our guests are too cold, we always offer extra blankets or a space heater. The second offer was turned down by Mr P.

As Mr P. correctly states, he had paid his stay in advance through a booking platform. Although there was no reason for a refund, we offered Mr P. a voucher for a stay of 2 nights at our Hotel, which he did not accept.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We decided to hold our wedding reception here and have all our guests also stay here. We made this decision after walking around to visit all the hotels in Gstaad to view rooms, wedding dinner venues and customer service. It was the customer service provided to us by the owner of the hotel (the lady) who helped us make our decision. She was overly helpful, not just with her hotel but suggestions of other wedding vendors to use in the area. We felt comfortable to trust our special day in the hands of the Gstaaderhof and were not disappointed. The dinner (and generally the food on any normal day) was exceptional! I've never had a better wedding dinner than at my own wedding (this was helped I'm sure by us only having 11 guests to cater for) but the Chef did an amazing job - we were all very pleased and taste-buds satisfied.
Although the rooms are less modern than some other locations, the comfort, cleanliness and local feel made us very welcome and we even extended our stay whilst there. The price we found was also very reasonable and they were more than accommodating to us having a group booking (with some benefits they provided for us booking with them).

The only downside was that clearly by about 50 years, we were the youngest guests in the hotel but that made for much more interesting conversations in English, French and German with the other more finely-aged guests.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTandCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

My wife & I have stayed at the Gstaaderhof almost every year since the early 1980's so they must be doing something right. And indeed they are. We like: friendly management and staff; clean comfortable and quiet rooms; the vey Swiss cuisine; the cows that parade past in the morning and gently awake us from our alpine slumbers. So what’s not to like ? The exchange rate means that this year we may just have to miss out on our Autumn hiking week (do look out for the great value packages on offer). Gstaad itself is a tad limiting in what it can realistically offer any but the more affluent visitors or those undemanding of night-life. Still do try shopping in the small village stores, and stock-up with a picnic from the Co-op, absolutely compulsory if you're planning a day out up the many cable car lifts to the Alpine plateaux.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beezkneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
1.7 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#7 of 21 in Gstaad
91 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
#9 of 21 in Gstaad
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bernerhof Gstaad
Hotel Bernerhof Gstaad
#14 of 21 in Gstaad
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel

Property: Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
Address: Lauenenstrasse 19, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Gstaad
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gstaad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Gstaad
#7 Family Hotel in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Gstaad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing