We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Chalet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2006

We stayed in Le Grand Chalet for 8 nights in February and, overall, enjoyed our stay very much.

It is a cosy, small hotel. We normally stay in larger luxury hotels but Le Grand Chalet was recommended to us by friends who live in the area. Also, the 5 star hotels in Gstaad are very, very pricey in high season!

The main plus points for Le Grand Chalet are:
1) The really helpful and friendly service from everyone.
2) The food in the restaurant La Bagatelle is very good - 16 Gault Millau points.
3) Gorgeous views down towards the town of Gstaad and great walks immediately from the hotel itself.
4) We had a junior suite, which was spacious and had plenty of cupboard space, which is important with all the bulky ski-gear that needs to be put away.

So, why only 4 stars?

They didn't change the sheets for the entire week. I accept that a smaller hotel won't change the linen every day but I would have expected a sheet change at least half-way through my stay! They were also unbelievably mean with the solitary bar of soap. We had to rifle through our wash bags for soap we had taken from previous hotel stays, as we kept running out!

The bathroom was very dated and due for an upgrade.

The hotel's location is a mixed blessing, as it is isolated from the town. So, although you get a great view, you are also rather cut off in the Winter.

No indoor pool, which I really missed.

Although I would consider staying here again, I wouldn't feel very excited at the prospect. The plus points do significantly outweigh the gripes, but I have been spolit by the levels of luxury I have had in other hotels, so found the "niggles" rather irritating!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 114 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2005

This is a small, intimate hotel with stunning views and impeccable Alpine style. The rooms are done in light pine and flowered-print fabric, reflecting the best of the heritage of the area, and perhaps the most charming hotel room I’ve ever been in. My room had a huge armoire, bed, and a sitting area with a table and chairs.

The hotel sits on a hill overlooking the town of Gstaad; walking downhill is fine, but the return trip is long and steep!

Its restaurant has 18 Gault Millau points, and I had perhaps the best meal of my life there on Christmas Eve. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank swandav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean Claude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Je reviendrai. Très bon rapport qualité/prix
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DF92200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Olympicchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank giovanni g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
418 reviews
1.5 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#5 of 21 in Gstaad
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
546 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Gstaad Palace Hotel
#4 of 21 in Gstaad
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Chalet

Address: Neueretstrasse 43, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range: $224 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Grand Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Grand Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing