We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved hotel! Clean, beautiful, lovely.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We loved hotel! Clean, beautiful, lovely.”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We loved hotel! Clean, beautiful, lovely. Excellent staff ,service ,restaurant and surroundings. I highly recommend this hotel. The location is excellent, with fantastic views of the mountains. It has a good transportation service for free to the city. The rooms are very nice, clean and comfortable. The staff is incredible, always helpful and very friendly. We loved everything Everything about the hotel is super! The bed was very comfortable, and there were plenty of large, thick towels and toiletries in the bathroom. We had lunch and dinner at their restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The breakfast was very very very good, I think the best of my life !!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nataliya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
65
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Nestled on a picturesque hill overlooking the valley we got some breathtaking views of Gstaad from our room. The hotel is built in the Alpine style with wood furnishings and old world charm. We ate at their terrace restaurant La Bagatelle which was a fantastic experience of traditional Swiss alpine food. The rooms were large and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grj11188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The rooms are great, very relaxing and comfortable. The breakfast spread in the morning is a great start to the day, and if you don't feel like going downstairs they'll bring breakfast to your room for no extra charge. I highly encourage getting a room with a view (extra charge, but worth it) and having breakfast brought up to you in the morning. It is the perfect start to they day. The staff is friendly and helpful. I rarely eat at the restaurant in hotels, but I had a craving for some homemade german schnitzel and spaetzle, the chef was happy to make this off menu item for me and my wife.

The town of Gstaad is nice but very pricey. I'm not going to mark the hotel off for this, but just realize that Gstaad is limited in what it offers. For our honeymoon, that is what we were looking for. There is a great train-station to connect you to the rest of the country.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. Costs more, but very worth it. One goes to Switzerland for the scenery, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling-Illini4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

The rooms are very basic and you could probably book a similar room in a different city for 40-60 Euros a night. However this hotel is not about the quality of the rooms or flat screen tvs. Its about receiving the best personal treatment in the hospitality business. The location of the hotel and the view is just perfect. The hotel staff are as professional and friendly as you can possibly have in any hotel. The french chef makes this place magicial. You can have the best food you ever had in this hotel but be prepared to pay for it. Dont consider staying at this hotel if you are on a budget but if you can afford it, it will be a stay to remember.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bintheredondat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Not sure if we should start propagating this place. It may be overrun soon and we can't find a room there anymore.

This is one of the best (of not the best) Alpine hotels we stayed and we stayed in a lot. The room are spacey and clean, wood interior as you expect it in the Alps. Half of the rooms have a gorgeous view onto the village. The hotel fits the landscape and is environmentally correct. Personell is friendly, professional and always accomodating.

Expect to be treated like a king (if you behave like a king).

We went there for a hiking trip into the mountains around Gstaad which was very relaxing (however Alpine hiking is better organized in Austria), in the afternoon back to the hotel, to refresh, dress up and indulge in a suberb restaurant which deserves all credit. Freshest ingreident, very seasonal food makes it even a better experience.

The somelier matches your meal with the wine (if you let him) and he matches perfect Swiss wines, those you don't get much outside of Switzerland. We stayed 5 night, everyone was memorable, apart from one night when a local tennis champ rented out the whole restaurant. So book as soon as you arrive.

It's pricey, but not too much, the quality is outstanding and the price-performance ratio is superbly positive. You easily can spend as much money in the plastic environment of Las Vegas without the quality.

They have a spa and sauna for relax (Euro style Sauna: naked and mixed as it should be). No pool as we recall, people visiting there likely have a pool at home and may not look for one in the hotel anyway.

The guests are very Euro, very sophisticated, well-dressed, controlled and mostly from the upper income echelon; if you want party, party stay somewhere else. Everybody speaks 2-4 languages so communication for unilingual Anglos shouldn't be too hard.

This was great such a great stay and while I write this - I'm already booking for our our visit.

Room Tip: Book room with view and reserve the restaurant eay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austinprogress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

I was only in Gstaad for one night,for work purposes,but have to say this Hotel is a fabulous place.
The room itself is very comfortable,nice beds,good shower etc....,
But what makes this place,are the personal touches,staff this helpfull and friendly,I've yet to encounter anywhere.
Nothing was too much trouble.
All of them are dressed in traditional Swiss clothes,which for me added to the feel of the place,warm,cosy,and friendly.
As other reviews have stated,the Hotel is on a Hill.which makes for nice views,but as I had a car,the walking up and down it,means I can't comment on that.
I had dinner in the Hotel restaurant,and although not cheap,is absolutely first class food.
The Alpine Breakfast was also very good.
I know it's sometimes hard to judge a Hotel based on a one night stay,where some people may spend a week or two,but from my experience, i'd certainly love to spend a week there next time with my family.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moromou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, Co Fermanagh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2008

We have just returned from a amazing week in Gstaad, staying at Le Grand Chalet. We visit Switzerland every year and normally stay at a 5 star property. However, we have being searching for years for a "real high qualirty Swiss chalet experience" and with Le Grand Chalet we sure found it. The chalet is located about 10 minutes walk from the main street in Gstaad, up a pleasant narrow road. If you are travelling by car, one minute will take you up to the hotel. However, if you are walking it will take about ten minutes (15 minutes from train station) and the very steep last few hundred yards is worth the effort when you see the view. We walked it at least twice a day with two small children and it was no problem. If you are arriving by train, be sure to ask the hotel to collect you in their lovely new Mercedes mini-bus because dragging a case up the hill would be rather exhusting. The hotel is in a great location for three reasons. One, it is close to the village and at the end of the road from the hotel in the village is a co-op shop which is useful for buying cool drinks etc as well as the tennis courts for the Gstaad Open. Second, the hotel enjoys an amazing view. The hotel claims it is the best in Gstaad. This is surely true and I would even say it could be the best in Switzerland. Three, the hotel is located beside lovely meadows and on the edge of a network of walking / cycling paths -making it a wonderful location.
When we arrived, we were greeted with a lovely warm welcome and shown to our rooms. We booked two connecting suites overlooking Gstaad, Saanen and Schonried. The rooms were lovely, spacious and clean. The bathrooms were perfect with a great supply of toiletries. Our room overlooked Gstaad, Saanan and Schonried and got the sun from about 11am through to sunset. We had a lovely sitting area and a great balcony across south and west side of the chalet. It was some 2 metres wide and perhaps 20 metres long which connected to the balacony belonging to our children's room which overlooked the north west and enjoyed the morning and evening sunshine. There was plenty of deck chairs on the balcony so we enjoyed the morning sun on the balcony of our childrens room and the afternoon / evening sun on our balcony. Our stay was the first week of July so the temperatures were 20-30c. During our stay the rooms were perfeclty maintained twice a day. I needed broadband due to the fact I needed to do a hour or two of work each day. There is no irrating wi-fi here, but a proper modem and wired broadband which worked perfectly all week, very impressive! The room service was also very efficent. Few hotels can manage to do room service well, but the Le Grand Chalet does it perfectly. So the location is great, the rooms are perfect, the room service is efficent, what about the food? Well it was amazing. Probably the best I have ever tasted. We dinned every night on the terrace which has a perfect view. All evening we enjoyed the most amazing food while the waiters ensured that the sun never shone in our eyes by continually adjusting the sun umbrella's. The breakfasts were simple chalet style but even the fruit salad tasted of heaven. We stayed half board and they said we would have a three course meal, in reality it is a four course meal and the chef is amazing. They were very flexible each night in providing our two children aged 5 and 6 with a suitable meal. The children really enjoyed the hotel and outside the front door, overlooking the valley is a simple play park which the kids enjoyed. There is also a small pool for cooling off in the hot summer sunshine. I believe the guide books and other reviews do not fully do this hotel justice. In my view, this hotel is a real find, an amazing place to stay. The staff are great, the other clients sophisticated, the view is amazing and food fabulous. We certainly plan to return. The hotel is 4 star and if it had all the normal pretentious "bells and whistles" it would be 5 star, but then it would not be so charming.

  • Liked — Food, view, staff, location, everything
  • Disliked — No complimentary slippers!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GstaadMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
0.2 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
375 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Spitzhorn
Hotel Spitzhorn
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
221 reviews
1.5 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#6 of 21 in Gstaad
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#9 of 21 in Gstaad
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Grand Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Grand Chalet

Property: Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Address: Neueretstrasse 43, Gstaad, Saanen 3780, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Grand Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Grand Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing