We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, with hosts too boot!”
Review of Hotel Spitzhorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Spitzhorn
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, with hosts too boot!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Great prices, warm host and staff (nothing was too much trouble for them), large and well designed rooms, a good restaurant... Almost impossible to find fault

Two days after we returned, thd hotel even offered to post us a small lock we had forgotten in the room!

The hoteliers of nearby gstaad better watch out

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BongAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    38
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
70
93
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Service in all ways was impeccable. We stayed for five days and enjoyed walks to Gstaad and hikes in the hills. We were helped with maps and trail descriptions. We had a meal plan and ate all our breakfasts and dinners at the hotel. It was a diverse menu with an international flavor. They also introduced us to some satisfying Swiss wines. We will return when we next visit this part of the world. We look forward to doing so next year.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Niijii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We are about to return home after staying 5 nights here. It is everything the reviewers have already said and more: beautiful, clean rooms, friendly and professional staff, delicious food and beverages, and more, all set in one of the most beautiful and serene places we have ever seen. The scenery is absolutely heavenly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VivaVienna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Brand new hotel with a very alpine atmosphere. Room was very spacious with a nice view towards the mountains. All designed with lot's of wood which makes it very relaxed and friendly. We had dinner as well since not much else is open in May. Food was very nice with friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rpitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have just spent Easter weekend at the Hotel Spitzhorn - it was excellent! The hotel is brand new, it is finished to the highest standard and is excellent value for money. The service is very efficient, friendly and really that of a 5 star hotel. The owners, Michel and Ilse are very welcoming and have done a brilliant job of creating a fantastic hotel but really very reasonably priced. It is a 5 minute walk into Saanen but the hotel shuttle bus took us to the station and back when needed which was only when we had luggage as it was a pleasure to walk.
The hotel restaurant is very good with Swiss specialities but it is advisable to book in advance as it is also popular with locals. The perfect place to stay!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed similar, very nice, we had a balcony facing the back where there is some building g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Brand new, fresh and clean, good service. Fine relax area, with pool and saunas, and own efficient ski rental. Garage free of charge, and ski ticket services. Nothing to remark upon, really, possibly the neighboring area which is a construction site

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Frafranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I recently returned from three days skiing staying at the Spitzhorn and I can't think of a single negative thing to say about it, .We were met at the station and the team were only too happy to run us to the lifts and pick us up again ( which is necessary as the hotel is a long way from ski-in, ski-out , but they don't claim to be) The rooms were large and well designed. The amenities were great including a lovely swimming pool as well as sauna's and games room. We eat in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was of a very high standard. The owner was very friendly and sports some very loud trousers and couldn't do enough for us. A great destination for either skiing or summer walking .

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
0.2 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#5 of 21 in Gstaad
124 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
400 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
161 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
#9 of 21 in Gstaad
110 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gstaad Palace Hotel
Gstaad Palace Hotel
#3 of 21 in Gstaad
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spitzhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spitzhorn

Property: Hotel Spitzhorn
Address: Spitzhornweg 30, Gstaad, Saanen 3792, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Spitzhorn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New 3-star superior hotel "Spitzhorn" with 4-star infrastructure in a 5-star setting The grand opening of the new 3-star superior hotel "Spitzhorn" built in the typical chalet style took place in December 2013. The hotel is located on the sun-drenched side of Saanen. "The Lightness of Being" is the motto of hosts Mr. And Mrs. Ilse and Michel Wichman and their team. The 50 rooms with 110 beds offer spectacular views of the region's beautiful landscape. A games room will be set up for children. The service includes seasonal brasserie cuisine in the restaurant, as well as wellness, fitness and swimming pool facilities, a sauna/steam bath and a Kneipp hydrotherapy and massage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Spitzhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing