We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restaurant food service kindness warmth could not be better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Spitzhorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Spitzhorn
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Restaurant food service kindness warmth could not be better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Just the best restaurant that has hit these parts of Gstaad in a very long time!


I visited the restaurant about ten days ago for the first time and have been four times since! The welcome the atmosphere
decor are all perfect ! I am telling all my friends and if these standards are kept up it will be a haven here in the Gstaad valley for locals and tourists alike!

I can not speak highly enough about this perfect unpretentious new local hotel, the kitchen the management and staff!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JonathonSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    35
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
65
86
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I had the opportunity to stay in the Spitzhorn Hotel for a couple of days, but I really regret not having stayed there for a longer period. We were visiting friends in the Saanen area and we had other plans in Milan, Italy and sorrounding areas (including very Luxury and Famous Hotels), but if I had know before of the Spitzhorn dream, I would have cancel everything in order to stay only there and enjoy more the Hotel and its great staff and manager.

Once you arrive they will greet you saying Welcome Home, and Indeed, they really mean it, you are at home, you are treated as in home and you will make the hotel a second home surely in the future. I am looking forward to go back someday if I can. My friends are always looking for different sky locations and certainly those of St Moritz (Engiadina region) are great locations and those in France also, but I can not describe it, the Spitzhorn Hotel has something which is special, maybe because it is a totally new hotel, or because the kindness of the staff team or of the manager, but it is so far for me one of the best hotels around the world if not the best (and please take in account that I have had the chance to stay in very great hotels in different countries).

The food is great, the rooms are perfect, the service superb and the hotel truly, overall, is fantastic.

Room Tip: Try to book in advance and do not forget a room with a terrace. Do bring your swimming suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Guillermo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I recommend all Swiss hotel managers to visit the recently opened hotel Spitzhorn. Infrastructure is good, beds a great and rooms are cosy. More important the hotel is managed by the most successful hotel couple in the Bernese Oberland. When a Swiss hotel manager wants to be successful she / he simply has to copy the way Mr and Ms. Wichman treat their guests. Always running the extra mile and always exceeding expectations with a smile and in a very informal way.

Looking for a special experience? Ask the hotel manager to serve a nice glass of cognac and one of his best cigar in the dedicated cigar room!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Objective5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were here and we felt like at home! Very friendly people and awesome food
The rooms were also very spacious and clean, big balconies and nice bathrooms! The big indoor-pool is also very nice and very relaxing after skiing as well as the spa. A nice thing too, is that dogs are welcome. The skibus in front of the lobby, which leaves every 15 minutes is also very helpfull. I would come again

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitior42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I have stayed in hotels in many parts of the world but nowhere have we been greeted with such warmth on our arrival as we were by Mr and Mrs Wichman. This warmth continued for the whole of our stay as it was replicated in the charming efficiency of the waiters and waitresses. Every aspect of the hotel that we experienced was a delight. Hotel Spitzhorn must be one of the most delightful hotels not only in Switzerland but also on the planet. This experience has made us fall in love with Switzerland.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogercoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have been holidaying in Gstaad for many years now and this is by far the best hotel in the region. Not only is it fantastic value for money but the quality and level of service cannot be surpassed, even by the 5* establishments.
The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff makes the Spitzhorn a joy to visit. This 'Top' hotel makes you feel that you are the most important person in the world. Well done Hotel Spitzhorn!
I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank videmanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I had an absolutely fantastic stay at this hotel! There is such a nice ambiance in this hotel. It is perfect for all families and my son and daughter enjoyed their stay so much. The staff were so friendly and helpful and happy to help with anything I needed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thelostplot97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gstaad hotels
1.3 mi away
The Alpina Gstaad
The Alpina Gstaad
#1 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Grand Bellevue
Le Grand Bellevue
#2 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
Hotel Arc-en-ciel
#9 of 21 in Gstaad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
HUUS Hotel Gstaad
#8 of 21 in Gstaad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
#7 of 21 in Gstaad
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gstaaderhof Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spitzhorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spitzhorn

Property: Hotel Spitzhorn
Address: Spitzhornweg 30, Gstaad, Saanen 3792, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Saanen > Gstaad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Gstaad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Spitzhorn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New 3-star superior hotel "Spitzhorn" with 4-star infrastructure in a 5-star setting The grand opening of the new 3-star superior hotel "Spitzhorn" built in the typical chalet style took place in December 2013. The hotel is located on the sun-drenched side of Saanen. "The Lightness of Being" is the motto of hosts Mr. And Mrs. Ilse and Michel Wichman and their team. The 50 rooms with 110 beds offer spectacular views of the region's beautiful landscape. A games room will be set up for children. The service includes seasonal brasserie cuisine in the restaurant, as well as wellness, fitness and swimming pool facilities, a sauna/steam bath and a Kneipp hydrotherapy and massage area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Spitzhorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing