We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A journey through Ice!”
Review of Glacier Express

Glacier Express
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$518.15*
and up
One-Day Glacier Express Tour with Private Guide
Ranked #36 of 752 things to do in Swiss Alps
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This train cuts through the Swiss Alps, providing passengers with some of the most beautiful scenery imaginable.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A journey through Ice!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was one of the things I came to do in Switzerland. The point which swung the argument of the holiday in favour of this european nation, rather than others. We travelled from St. Moritz to Zermatt via the Glacier Express, and it was a bit underwhelming; but at the same time, good fun. The main draw of the journey is the Ice-landscapes, but most of it is in the plains, where you are treated to a lovely view of the switzerland countryside. This however, you'll experience all over the nation, so didn't really make up for the 1st class tickets. And just because of us being tourists, your can't choose your seats, and may end up in all aisle seats, like we did and kill the view.
The big glass windows are really good for the view, but painful for photography. The redeeming element of the trip was the excellent service of the staff, and the fun of seeing so many people standing doing the journey waiting for that perfect moment to snap the shutter!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank djpri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    231
    121
    46
    39
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful trip in comfort but the many stops made the journey way too long.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I agree with many previous reviews that the reflective glass made it nearly impossible to take good photos.
We travelled Zermatt to St Moritz first class with only 4 other people in the carriage which made getting up to get the best view easier. If the carriage was full, we would have missed out. The most interesting part was later in the afternoon and we were getting tired after 5 hours. Then the train kept stopping at all these small stations which made the journey drag on a bit. Too long at over 8 hours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank veronicamustang2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waste of money”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Me n my husband travelled from st moritz to zermatt and we were very excited as we travelled from wilhem tell express train and thought to have the same experience but no it was so not the same as we thought.

• train journey was good it was secenic.

• we are vegetarian and while booking the tickets we selected vegetarian food but what we got for the vegetarian food was a normal not so fresh salad and in main course we got boiled rice,boiled carrot and a cutlet and in dessert we got tiramisu. We paid 43chf per person for three course meal and this was what we got rice with out curry in spite the menu was fixed they should have made some arrangements about it but nothing was.

•it is better to order a la carte in which they have various options even for vegetarians.

• it was 8hrs journey and it was way too much after 1pm we were like tired of sitting even in 1st class.

• so in total if you have extra money and want to waste then go for this train else take a regional train.
This was the worst experience for us.
We would never recommend it to any one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Avantik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went first class on the Glacier Express in August. Carriage was clean and fairly comfortable although after nearly 8 hours seats became uncomfortable. We had asked the travel agent to reserve a meal but apparently this message did not get through so they could only offer us one at 3 p.m. which we declined. The trolley serving sandwiches and drinks had only one sandwich left when it finally arrived (there were four of us) - the lady serving was quite rude and unhelpful. As it turned out when we inspected the dining car it was very old fashioned and cramped so we had a lucky escape from a wasted 43 francs per person. There was no panorama bar carriage as promised in the advertising and also in the commentary ( which incidentally was about 10 minutes late all the way through the trip which meant you had gone past what they were talking to you about!) The train seemed to have a lot of unscheduled stops which meant that by the end of the journey we were really fed up! All in all a very disappointing experience and not the highlight it was built up to be. Service poor and staff quite unpleasant at times.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramstein-miesenbach, germany
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This trip is beautiful but soooo overpriced”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The scenery was amazing I must admit. The tickets cost over $300 each for a 6 hour trip to Zermatt. I think I would have enjoyed the trip longer if we would have stopped along the way. Also the glare on the windows of the train made it impossible to get good pictures. Our train was delayed for over an hour in the middle of the trip. There is only one track so there are many stops to let trains going the opposite direction pass by. I think with the money they charge there should be 2 tracks and they should run on time. Having lived in Europe for 3+years I can tell you this is not normal. Also they charge for reserved seats (and you must have reserved seats) when all the other trains in Europe do not charge extra for the seats. The food is very good and the scenery is breath taking. I just think that for the money I would prefer to drive and take half the time with stopping in each of the little mountain villages.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beargoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glacier Express also viewed

Swiss Alps, Switzerland
Canton of Valais, Swiss Alps
 
Filisur, Canton of Graubunden
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Glacier Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing