We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek modern style; good location.”
Review of H4 Hotel Solothurn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H4 Hotel Solothurn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Solothurn
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed here overnight and were very happy with our corner suite . There was a comfortable king size bed in a separate room.A large sofa bed and dining area had views out over the river to the old town beyond and there were two sinks with plenty of coffee and tea provided.
The staff were delightful and helpful with restaurant reservations. Breakfast was included with our room deal and provided both a hot and cold selection.
Undercover parking was available onsite, I think this was 14 Swiss francs.
The Christmas markets were right outside the hotel doors and it's a lovely short walk across the bridge to the old town. Good coffee and chocolate shops abound.
I wish we had spent less time in Geneva and more time in Solothurn.

Room Tip: Suite # 507 .
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mookiandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for H4 Hotel Solothurn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 285 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Very good room and service. Great breakfasts; they're happy to make you coffee to order. Fabulous bar on the top floor with great views of the town.

There is a nice running track along the river with some amazing views as the sun sets.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwi089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have been staying at the Ramada for two weeks and still have another two weeks in the hotel. Overall, the staff is very friendly and speak English very well. The restaurant is nothing to brag about, but I have had worse. The room service claims it is open until 10pm, but really they mean 9:40. The wifi is surprisingly fast. The fitness center is pretty small (only 1 treadmill, one step climber, one bike, and a yoga mat), but at least they have one! And it's 24 hours which is great. The rooftop bar is actually really cool and always has a decent crowd. The location is good too - all restaurants and bars are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Request a room with a bathtub - some rooms have just a shower and water gets all over the bathroom...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ckraynak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This business-looking and modern hotel still has some character, not common in newer building. The room was big (for Europe), clean, and the temperature and air was good. Breakfast buffet was great. Location in the town is excellent. The fitness room is nice but they should add some free weights.

Room Tip: For obvious reason only one side of the hotel faces the river and old town. You might want to ask fo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swedish_Saguaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Quiet and large room, good breakfast buffet. Right across the river from old town. 5 minutes from train station. Free wiFi. Staff is friendly. Didn't try the fitness but wellness area looked nice. Solothurn is a compact town you can see everything in one hour.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kthomas7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had a suite on the second floor with a fabulous view overlooking the river and the old town. The view was so great we decided to eat in and savour the view which we did with a very good Chablis from the restaurant. This was a good decision as the old town became lit up and looked absolutely fabulous.
We had read previous reviews which had recommended spending the extra for the suite as the main rooms can be small. We have no way of knowing how small they are but the suite was very spacious especially for the two of us more like a one bedroom apartment and with those fabulous views.
The suite was very clean, WIFI was excellent, parking free and staff most helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Ramada for a 2 night stay last week-end. This was our second stay in this hotel and we had a great time. The hotel is very modern and functional.
The staff are very nice and helpful, rooms clean and well appointed (no mini bar in the room but a snack machine on each floor). The hotel is very easy to find, extremely well located (next to the river and very close to the beautiful old Solothurn) and has parking spaces just in front. We didn't use the car during the week-end as you can go everywhere within walking distance.
Breakfast buffet delicious and varied.
Bar on the top floor with an amazing view over the old Solothurn.
I went to the spa to book a massage but they were already fully booked for the weekend, therefore it is advisable to book in advance.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatyGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solothurn hotels
0.3 mi away
Swiss Quality an der Aare
Swiss Quality an der Aare
#5 of 13 in Solothurn
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roter Ochsen
Hotel Roter Ochsen
#6 of 13 in Solothurn
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Baseltor
Hotel Restaurant Baseltor
#1 of 13 in Solothurn
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Couronne Hotel
La Couronne Hotel
#2 of 13 in Solothurn
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zunfthaus zu Wirthen
Zunfthaus zu Wirthen
#8 of 13 in Solothurn
50 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Bad Kyburg
Hotel Bad Kyburg
#4 of 13 in Solothurn
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H4 Hotel Solothurn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H4 Hotel Solothurn

Address: Schaenzlistrasse 5, Solothurn 4500, Switzerland (Formerly Ramada Hotel Solothurn)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Solothurn > Solothurn
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Solothurn
Price Range: $163 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H4 Hotel Solothurn 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H4 Hotel Solothurn is located on the riverbank of the Aare in Solothurn, Switzerland’s most beautiful baroque city. The city, also known as «the city of the Eleven», has eleven churches, chapels, historical fountains and towers, as well as eleven altars and bells in the St.-Ursen-Cathedral. The H4 Hotel Solothurn has 100 rooms in the Comfort, Deluxe and Suite categories each equipped with air-conditioning, cable TV, Wi-Fi access (free of charge), a flat-panel monitor TV, a safe and blow dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your H4 Hotel Solothurn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Solothurn
Solothurn Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing