We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, clean and well located”
Review of H4 Hotel Solothurn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H4 Hotel Solothurn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Solothurn
Eu, France
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Nice place, clean and well located”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed there for 1 night in July. Very clean, big rooms and nice furniture. I recommend room 502 which is a corner room with great views of the river.

Room Tip: Room 502 is a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    129
    39
    16
    8
See reviews for
33
81
17
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

While doing some research on family history in Switzerland I had the opportunity to stay at the Ramada Hotel Solothurn. This is a very nice, modern facility located on the banks of the Aare river. The hotel enjoys a wonderful view of the old city, to which it is a couple minute walk (also to the train station). The hotel itself was very nicely furnished, and I enjoyed the breakfast buffet which included a nice variety of hot and cold dishes. Unfortunately I did not get to enjoy their Sunday brunch - but as they were setting it up I got enough of an eye full to make me wish I was staying to enjoy the variety and selection of good food. Solothurn is a very nice city with an outstanding old town section with well preserved buildings, city walls, towers, gates and fountains. Although the weather was very cold (we are in the middle of a cold spell here in Europe) I enjoyed walking around this very picturesque city. While staying at the hotel I splurged and ordered a Ramada cheeseburger - excellent! As a cheeseburger expert I highly recommend it! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has the chance to visit this charming city.

Room Tip: Recommend a river and old city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horseandporsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pascal M, Manager at H4 Hotel Solothurn, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your nice recommendation. We are pleased to read that you liked our hotel, as well the city of Solothurn. Sure I pass the good feedback to my employees.
We would love to welcome you again here in Switzerland.

Best regards from Solothurn

Daniel Siegenthaler
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We never slept in this hotel because its just next door to us. But if we have celebrations or friends with us we book a table for the great sunday morning buffet. (Be careful its always booked out for weeks!) Time is from 11:30 am to 2 pm. You start with a glass of champagne, then you will be served with coffee and tea and you go over to the buffets. Just great with bread, cheese, cold meet and fish, cooked meat and vegetables and and and. Finally you move over to the sweet buffet.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel at several occasions. The hotel is very stylish and modern. Location is great close to the railway station and only a short walk to the city historical centre of Solothurn. The rooms are very nice and comfortable.

The breakfast is very good. The only thing I’m missing is orange marmalade which asked for several times but they don’t understand why this should be normal at a breakfast. Very strange for an expensive breakfast like this.

There is only one thing I don’t like about the hotel. The air condition does not work very well. Last time I stayed at the hotel it was very warm in my room and I could not sleep. Tried to adjust the temperature but nothing happened. I called the front desk and they could not do anything about it. The next morning I complained and they promised to send the service guy during the day. No improvement the following night so I had to sleep with the window open towards a noisy street. A high priced hotel like this should do much better than this.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Very good value for money hotel which made staying in Solothurn a real pleasure. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated. WiFi in room. Fantastic views over the River Aare and the old town from the large windows. Staff all spoke excellent English and were friendly. The garden bar in front of the hotel facing the river is a great place to sit in the evenings. You can walk to the hotel from the train station and walk to the Old Town from the hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Only quibble was the hot water in the shower which cycled between hot and cold without warning, best to have a bath!

There is a good gym room and spa treatments are available, but very popular so you need to book ahead of arriving.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndThePea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We enjoyed our stay and the city.
Rooms are very cozy and has a great view over the old town of solothurn.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2010

modern, new hotel with panaramoc view overlooking Solothurn. Sauna and spa area with panomraic view. I really appriciate that the Wireless Lan was complemantary all over the hotel. Big American Buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solothurn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roter Ochsen
Hotel Roter Ochsen
#6 of 13 in Solothurn
76 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Bad Kyburg
Hotel Bad Kyburg
#5 of 13 in Solothurn
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss Quality an der Aare
Swiss Quality an der Aare
#4 of 13 in Solothurn
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zunfthaus zu Wirthen
Zunfthaus zu Wirthen
#8 of 13 in Solothurn
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#9 of 13 in Solothurn
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roter Turm
Roter Turm
#7 of 13 in Solothurn
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H4 Hotel Solothurn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H4 Hotel Solothurn

Property: H4 Hotel Solothurn
Address: Schaenzlistrasse 5, Solothurn 4500, Switzerland (Formerly Ramada Hotel Solothurn)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Solothurn > Solothurn
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Solothurn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H4 Hotel Solothurn 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H4 Hotel Solothurn is located on the riverbank of the Aare in Solothurn, Switzerland’s most beautiful baroque city. The city, also known as «the city of the Eleven», has eleven churches, chapels, historical fountains and towers, as well as eleven altars and bells in the St.-Ursen-Cathedral. The H4 Hotel Solothurn has 100 rooms in the Comfort, Deluxe and Suite categories each equipped with air-conditioning, cable TV, Wi-Fi access (free of charge), a flat-panel monitor TV, a safe and blow dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your H4 Hotel Solothurn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Solothurn
Solothurn Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing