We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a pearl in a charming town”
Review of Hotel Ambassador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Solothurn
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a pearl in a charming town”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The 3 of us enjoyed our 5 days in Solothurn, Switzerland.
Hotel Ambassador is a very charming family run hotel on walking distance from the centre.
A friendly, quiet atmosphere, very discrete and helpful staff.
Good value for money.
There are two free parking lots in front of the hotel.
First come first get!
highly recommended!!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, even the ones that look on the street. There is no much traffic in this street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    23
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
11
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I were pleased with really comfy beds with en suite bathrooms. We had a kettle for a complimentary cup of tea which we considered a welcome luxury. Very helpful staff. We also had bike storage for the four of us. Our regular great European breakfast. A good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seniorgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for a business trip. The location is great, close to center and with parking before door (limited capacity). The rooms are clean but need little paint. From the hotel you walk in couple of minutes to the restaurants on the riverside. Breakfast is good with sufficient choice. Price level on Swiss standard.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I came to Solothurn for business and stayed at the ambassador hotel for 2 weeks.
Although the rooms are small they are comfortable. Expect the bathrooms to be small but useable.
This is an old building like most in Solothurn and has no air conditioning. Which made some days a little uncomfortable as the summer temperatures were insult high for Switzerland.
The staff are very welcoming and friendly. Their English is great as my Swiss German does not exist. Happy for me to check in early after long haul from Adelaide and willing to offer advise where to eat and what to see in leisure time.
Ask reception about discount vouchers for boat trip to Biel.
Would stay again if a return visit happens

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaT1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is a cosy, family run place almost just opposite the railway station, and in a small town like Solothurn, this is about as central as you can get. The atmosphere is pleasant, the breakfast is wholesome and there is ample free parking at the rear, which was a main selling point. The downside I felt was that for the facilities on offer, the tariff was still relatively on the higher side.

Room Tip: make sure you go for a drink in the top floor bar at the nearby Ramada...amazing views, with no pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indigo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Finding the hotel from my train arrival was a piece of cake. Walk out of the station and cross the road.

The whole feel of the hotel is cosy. Cost reception, cosy rooms. Staff were friendly and polite.

My room was basic and very livable. I just needed to sleep in this room and it would be too small for a full day of office working.

A highlight for me was the room key control system. See the picture and enjoy. It gives control of the keys and indication of whom is in and out.

There is internet in the hotel which worked OK for web browsing. I was unable to connect to our office IP telephony system which I think was being blocked by the hotel firewall.

The hotel is convenient to supermarkets where I did some Swiss gift buying ie bulk chocolates.

I would stay at this hotel next time I am in Solothurn.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YingYang66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bat Yam, Israel
Level Contributor
125 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Very nice hotel in city center.
Big parking lot is from behind.

Rooms are small, but very clean. Breakfast is good.
Service is very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Solothurn hotels
0.1 mi away
H4 Hotel Solothurn
H4 Hotel Solothurn
#1 of 14 in Solothurn
272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Roter Ochsen
Hotel Roter Ochsen
#5 of 14 in Solothurn
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Baseltor
Hotel Restaurant Baseltor
#2 of 14 in Solothurn
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zunfthaus zu Wirthen
Zunfthaus zu Wirthen
#8 of 14 in Solothurn
48 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Bad Kyburg
Hotel Bad Kyburg
#4 of 14 in Solothurn
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roter Turm
Roter Turm
#6 of 14 in Solothurn
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador

Property: Hotel Ambassador
Address: Niklaus-Konrad-Strasse 21, Solothurn 4500, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Solothurn > Solothurn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Solothurn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing