We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy room, good location, clean, nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kronenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kronenhof
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Schaffhausen
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfy room, good location, clean, nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Pros: Comfy room, not too near any noisy bells like other hotels in the town. Single room, but bigger than standard single bed. Simple but decent buffet breakfast. Friendly staff. Good location (centre of old town, near train station, don't know what you would do about parking?). Will stay again and will try the spa next time - free access to sauna etc for hotel guests.

Cons: Had a single room, so could be a bit small for longer stays, but absolutely fine for a night or 2. I don't tend to pay much for hotel rooms when I travel for leisure as I'm more interested in what's outside the hotel, so in my view it was quite expensive (just over £100 for 1 night in a single room incl breakfast), but having stayed at other hotels in the town before, it was quite a good price/average for the area. No real bad points.

Room Tip: Room 408 = single room, top floor, back of hotel, so quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zctlm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    81
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
64
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel with a six year old who slept in our bed. The location is very convenient, close to the train station, the shopping places and the restaurants. Room was very clean. View from the room amazing. Breakfast was great. We particularly enjoyed being able to cook our own half boiled eggs.

We had dinner downstairs as well. They had vegetarian option in the menu which was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunfloraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a well located hotel in Schaffhausen, within walking distance of the station and the main shopping areas. The rooms are large and well appointed, although not especially glitzy.

There's a nice breakfast room and the staff are highly efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VS1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte- Brazil
Level Contributor
224 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

It´s a good hotel, fair price, good breakfast witth assorted selection of cheeses, breads, fruis, etct.Quiet and confortable room.Location is nice, downtown historic center and 10 minutes walking from train station,but Shaffenhausen is a small town, so locaton is not so important.Room has enough size.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FRANCISCO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel offers all you might need - a central location, not-too-big-but-big-enough comfortable rooms, helpful staff and perfect breakfast (yummy yoghurt, amazing bread, tasty cheese!) to start your day with!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Da_rt_1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is in a great location allowing you to walk around the main square of Schaffhausen. Close to train station and bus terminal.

We were greeted by friendly staff and the rooms were clean and a typical European size. The bathroom was tight (not enough space between the toilet and the wall in front of it) but unusable. (Having a clock tower right outside my room window was not disturbing and added to the ambiance.)

The included breakfast included typical European fare and was well laid out. The Wifi was free and worked well in the room.
The hotel restaurant was fine but there are others in the town offering better choices.

I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Excellent staff at front desk. We had an upgraded hotel room with a great bathroom, big flat screen TV however it overlooked an interior court yard. It was very hot and the staff gave us a fan which helped. Dinner on the outside patio was very good and breakfast on the first floor was perfect! Staff, room and food were excellent.

Room Tip: Upgraded room was lovely! I would be willing to pay the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargiMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaffhausen hotels
0.2 mi away
arcona LIVING Schaffhausen
arcona LIVING Schaffhausen
#1 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#5 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Bahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sorell Hotel Rueden
Sorell Hotel Rueden
#4 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waldhotel Hohberg
Waldhotel Hohberg
#6 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#7 of 7 in Schaffhausen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kronenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kronenhof

Property: Hotel Kronenhof
Address: Kirchhofplatz 7-9, Schaffhausen 8200, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Schaffhausen > Schaffhausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Schaffhausen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kronenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of scenic Schaffhausen on the High Rhine, the Hotel Kronenhof offers stylish rooms, free Wi-Fi and seasonal, market-fresh cuisine. Hotel Kronenhof features a cafe restaurant with a sunny patio. A variety of steaks are served in the new Steakhouse Ox. Nearby attractions include the Munot fortress, the Allerheiligen monastery and the impressive Rhine Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kronenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing