We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Hotel in old town”
Review of Hotel Kronenhof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kronenhof
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Schaffhausen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Schaffhausen has one of the nicest medieval old towns. The Hotel Kronehauf is right on the edge of old town – literally a few steps away to the main street of old town or go across the street and up the hill to the castle.

My husband and I were on a 9 day tour of Switzerland and stayed here for 1 night in July 2012 in room 203.

ROOM 203
• Smallish but fine. Wardrobe, place to hang up jackets, shelf which acts as luggage rack, desk, alarm clock. No in room safe or mini bar. Bed was one of the more comfortable ones on this trip.
• Air Conditioning – none but you don’t really need one in Switzerland. Open the window at night but you will hear the church bells. A bit different if you are from a city but you get used to them quickly.
• No mini bar or in room safe.
• Bathroom was a bit of a tight fit – not enough space between the toilet and the wall in front of it. It had a hair dryer.
• There is a meeting area in the middle of the 2nd floor.

STAFF – staff were very friendly and helpful. Reception desk staff was particularly great. They gave us a city map which covered all the main tourist sites.

BREAKFAST Buffet – adequate but a bit sparse compared to other buffets where we stayed. Breads, jams, hard boiled eggs, cold meats and cheeses, cereal, yogurt, juice, coffee, tea.

ATMs – there are several around. The ATM nearest the hotel – take a right out of the hotel and there is one on the corner.

PARKING – No parking with the hotel. The parking in the square outside is limited to 2 hours. There are a couple of parking lots nearby. The covered parking garages run 25 to 30 SFr per day.

GROCERY– there is a health food store (Reformhaus) a full grocery store and mini markets nearby. The Reformhaus has gluten free and vegan options

TV – a few English channels.

INTERNET – Wifi worked in the room. You have to get a password from reception.

RESTAURANTS - The hotel has its own restaurant but there are many restaurants in old town.

SIGHTSEEING
• Steps away to old town. The map shows a walking tour.
• Rhinefall – the largest waterfall in Europe (not the tallest) think more smaller Niagra Falls. About 3 to 4 km walk (2.5 to 3 miles) or you can take a shuttle down there. Easy walk – most of it is scenic alongside the river which is nice. If you are up for it walk one way and take the shuttle the other.
• River Boat Tour – there is supposed to be a nice river boat tour but we did not have enough time to take it.
• On Saturdays they have an open air / farmers market in old town. This is common throughout Switzerland
• The castle is doing some open air movies (in German of course) in August.

We had a wonderful time in Schaffhausen and recommend the hotel – no problems and enjoyed old town and Rhinefalls. Enjoy yourself!

A few differences between American and European hotels for those who have not travelled over here before:
1) Class of hotel is different. What is classified as 4 star in Europe would often be classified as 3 star in USA
2) Small room sizes - especially in cities or near old towns. Often just enough room just to get around your bed and put some luggage down etc.
3) Bathrooms – Often have either a bathtub or shower but not both. If you want a particular one check before you book. .
4) Pillows are very different – and very flat. You will have to double them over otherwise your head just ends up on the mattresses.
5) Blankets – each person gets their own duvet / quilt – which is good if you are a couple and one is always hot and the other always cold. My husband is always warm so he would take the duvet out of the cover and just use the cover as a sheet since no flat sheets.
6) Breakfasts – most don’t have foods that Americans are used to (oatmeal, pancakes, waffles, omelettes, peanut butter etc). Eggs are usually scrambled or hard boiled.
7) Not all hotel staff will speak English – if you have communications issue contact reception.
8) Elevators are TINY in small hotels. Often 2 people plus luggage is not possible. Have to do a couple trips.
9) Most do not have Fitness Room. If they do they are tiny with a couple cardio machines, a mat and a few hand weights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYC-Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 162 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

Hotel Kronenhof is centrally located in old town Shaffhausen - about a ten minute walk from train station. Nice ambiance with terrific on site restaurant. Friendly staff and great seating areas on all floors. Free wifi is a plus. Clean and simple with high end touches. Good stay if going to the Rhine Falls. Underwhelmed by Shaffhausen, but hotel is nice.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank beccaboo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

In almost every way this is a great place to stay. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are well designed and spotlessly clean and the location is perfect. It even had some of best soundproofing I've experienced -- we were directly next to the church that boasts "bells that have rung every hour for the past 500 years" -- and if the windows are shut, you would never know it. The only thing that did bother us and made this hotel one I wouldn't recommend is that the bed was terrible. It was so weak -- like a trampoline -- if you so much as move your arm, the whole bed jiggles and jiggles. If it weren't for this, I would have nothing but raves. Luckily this is easily fixed -- and possibly not true in all rooms. But, it was true for our room and after three nights it was just too much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BinGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We only spent one night here (12th February) so that we could visit Rheinfalls but we would have been happy to have stayed longer. The bedroom/shower room was quiet, comfortable, warm (which was a bonus as it was -10C outside), well decorated and had everything one would need. The WiFi worked well. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the meal was delicious. There was plenty of choice for breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rallyinguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel was booked for me by the company for whom I was carrying out some work. I'm pleased that they choose this hotel for me.
Comfortable, single bed. Good sized bathroom. Hair dryer supplied, as were face cloths. Really soft and comfortable pillows,not something that you get in every hotel. Very quiet room at the back of the hotel. Very friendly staff who speak perfect English. Very nice breakfast. Fab dinner. Free WIFI.
You have to set your expectations when you stay here. Switzerland is expensive, So the hotel room in another country might be cheaper, but as said, this is Switzerland,
The hotel is right in the heart of the old town and very convenient to everything.And, yes, I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Pro's

Quite hotel right in the center of the little old town.
5 min or less walk from Munot
Very friendly Staff, easy to talk to in English
I rented a suite and it was extremely large, quiet and clean.
Everything had been updated in my room

Cons
Free Breakfast was not great, but again it's free!
No security latch on door, however really small town, so not sure if needed.

I would say if you're visting Schaffhausen from the states for Unilever, this is a great hotel to recommend staying at.

Room Tip: Ask for 213
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYdodger31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

In a city like Schaffhausen one usually does not have too high expectations when choosing a hotel. The Kronenhof is a pleasant surprise. Nice infrastructure, modern, rooms are small but functional and WiFi is f.o.c. and without problem. Good restaurant. The bar looks tempting but don't go there when the restaurant is full because there is no-one look after the bar guests. So lots of people sitting in front of empty glasses. But some seem not to mind. You have to be lucky to get one of the public parking places in front of the hotel but they provide a ticket for a mere 2 CHF that clears you until the next morning until 11 a.m.. The city is quite cozy and has a good offer of restaurants and places for having a drink. Some even with a "fumoir" for cigar smokers like me.

Room Tip: Take one to the back of the hotel because less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biddy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaffhausen hotels
0.2 mi away
Sorell Hotel Rueden
Sorell Hotel Rueden
#6 of 7 in Schaffhausen
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bahnhof
0.4 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#3 of 7 in Schaffhausen
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
arcona LIVING Schaffhausen
arcona LIVING Schaffhausen
#1 of 7 in Schaffhausen
247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#4 of 7 in Schaffhausen
125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Waldhotel Hohberg
Waldhotel Hohberg
#7 of 7 in Schaffhausen
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kronenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kronenhof

Address: Kirchhofplatz 7-9, Schaffhausen 8200, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Schaffhausen > Schaffhausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Schaffhausen
Price Range: $147 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kronenhof 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of scenic Schaffhausen on the High Rhine, the Hotel Kronenhof offers stylish rooms, free Wi-Fi and seasonal, market-fresh cuisine. Hotel Kronenhof features a cafe restaurant with a sunny patio. A variety of steaks are served in the new Steakhouse Ox. Nearby attractions include the Munot fortress, the Allerheiligen monastery and the impressive Rhine Falls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kronenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing