We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convienent and reasonably priced!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Rueden
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Schaffhausen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cumming, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Convienent and reasonably priced!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on a number of visits to Schaffausen. It is very near the main train station with plenty of nearby restuarants and shops. They have a variety of selections for breakfast. In the evening, there is a comfortable area to relax and have a nice glass of wine or a beer near the fireplace.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyR03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann F, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rueden, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you, Randy, for your uplifting comment. It's a pleasure having you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    83
    38
    10
    6
See reviews for
29
80
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks recently. The service was excellent and consistent. All staff were very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable.
My room was a great single person room, comfortable bed, with a couple of windows.
The included breakfast was very good and i very much enjoyed the coffee, i did not get tired of the daily morning offering during my entire stay. Compared to the typical NA included breakfast, I would suggest most NA travellers would be very impressed with the included breakfast.
I preferred the old wooden stairs over the elevator.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longroadtogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann F, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rueden, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear longroadtogo. Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad that you did not get tired of our breakfast :-)

By the way: the coffee you mentioned is not only tasty, but its a biologically produced and fair traded product, as many other products on our breakfast buffet. [But that shall be enough of self-praise for the moment... ;-) ]

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I did really enjoy staying in this hotel. Unlike many modern hotels, this hotel's building has a history which you can really feel and enjoy it as a guest without missing any features a hotel in this class should have. The only downside of it is that the rooms are not as spacious as in newly-built hotel but that is definitely worth the boost in atmosphere. The food I had there was very good. The other really big plus is the staff which was really helpful and attentive. I would stay there anytime again...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arctiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann F, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rueden, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Arctiva. Thanks for your cheerful feedback. We'de be thrilled to have you as our guest again soon! I will happily forward your comments about our staff to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Hotel Rüden is located in downtown from schaffhausen, but only 3min walk from the train station!

The Hotel building itself is charming. While one can tell that this Building has a history, it is nicely and modern renovated with individual styled rooms.

The service is excellent and they are really willing to make the stay a pleasent experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteHe84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann F, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rueden, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you, SteHe84, for your Feedback. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay here. Hopefully, we'll see you again in the near future!? :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The old wooden posts together with the modern furnishment gives this place a special and very charming touch. This should be classified as 4-star, not sure why it has only 3. If anything could be criticized, it's that the beds are too soft, the rooms rather small, and a lack of AC (you have to open the windows, how awkward!!)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steigers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann F, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rueden, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear steigers
Thank you for your chearful feedback. You are not the first to ask, why we don't have a 4 star rating... ;-) It's because of the size of the rooms, mainly. And yes, because not all the rooms have an A/C Equipment. But we are trying our best to make people think they are in a 4 star hotel! :-)
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

i go to Schaffhausen pretty often, and always try to stay in the Sorell. I love this place because of the atmosphere, the nice staff, the interesting old building, the location...etc. like an old castle in the city center.
i would recommend it to anyone who is going to Schaffhausen, and surely go back soon. (i love the nice chocolate duck i get every time.:))

Room Tip: in 304 the fan is little bit noisy in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kreisz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann F, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rueden, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you, Kreisz A, for your cheerful feedback. We are very happy to put a chocolate duck into your room for as long as you come! :-)
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalucia, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

In the heart of old Schaffhausen town, very close to everything, train station, restaurants. Very good standard hotel, the staff are always helpful and polite, nothing is a problem, very clean and wifi gratis, the bed very good, quite rooms. The breakfast is good, continental mainly but a good variety to choose from.

I have stayed in other hotels here and always happy but this hotel for me was above.

I stupidly left some important papers in my room safe, before my plane had landed I had a call and an email to remind me from the hotel, I asked for them to post to me and no problem. The stay was a pleasure in every aspect. Swiss hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann F, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rueden, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Many thanks, PhilVon, for this nice review! It was a pleasure having you here. We don't mind sending back forgotten things to our guests, we are quite used to it by now... ;-)
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schaffhausen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kronenhof
Hotel Kronenhof
#5 of 7 in Schaffhausen
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bahnhof
0.2 mi away
arcona LIVING Schaffhausen
arcona LIVING Schaffhausen
#1 of 7 in Schaffhausen
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Waldhotel Hohberg
Waldhotel Hohberg
#7 of 7 in Schaffhausen
119 reviews
10.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Lamm
11.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glattfelden
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Rueden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rueden

Property: Sorell Hotel Rueden
Address: Oberstadt 20, Schaffhausen 8200, Switzerland (Formerly Sorell Hotel Rüden )
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Schaffhausen > Schaffhausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Schaffhausen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rueden 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A real gem! The historic 18th-century walls and the ancient parquet floors combined with surprising elements of modern interior design turn the hotel into a unique home. The personally managed hotel with 30 rooms is equally popular with business people and tourists alike. Meetings, events and celebrations of all types can be held in out seminar rooms and banquet halls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rueden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing