We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but could have been great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Rueden
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Schaffhausen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for two nights during a work trip to Switzerland.
The hotel is in a nice old building in a great location, close to the train station and main shopping streets, and has obviously tried hard with its concept and renovation, leaving the old stair cases, a serve-yourself bar, a cool glass lift etc, and little touches like a little yellow rubber duck souvenir in the bathroom, and a matching shaped chocolate next to the bed. There is a self service bar and a continental Breakfast is also included. So lots of good points.
But unfortunately it doesnt quite hit the mark - the cool automatic front door is a bit slow so in the foyer you hear people wrestling it open, corridors are dark and reminded me of school camp rather than nice hotel, as did the room itself which was nice but small and basic. Likewise Their serve-yourself bar is a hreat idea, but the choice of beverages was very limited, missing crowd pleasers such as gin, bourbon, baileys, lemon or even ice!
Definately a nice place and would have no qualms on staying again, but maybe next time I'll see what the other options are...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBugBitten78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann F, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Rueden, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to be considered a "nice place" and we are working on it to become a "great" one as well. The self service bar you mention has already been relegated to an upper floor, while there is now a serviced bar in the lobby where you can have all the drinks you mentioned.

The lighting in the rooms has alredy been improved, the one in the hallways will be improved in little time. Thanks for mentioning it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 229 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. 2 minute walk to the train, in the old town, close to underground parking ramp. Yes, the room was small, but that was expected. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean, TV had a couple of English speaking channels. The staff was super friendly and did speak English, which was appreciated. The hotel is not staffed 24 hours, but that wasn't a big deal. I thought the breakfast was fine, you got enough to get you through the morning. We could hear other guests through the walls sometimes, which was slightly annoying, and did hear some celebrators in the streets late at night once, but that was kind of cool. Visited during the Winter Market, so didn't really spend a lot of time in the room. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jann F, General Manager at Sorell Hotel Rueden, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you for your friendly feedback. I happily passed it on to our front desk- and cleaning staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I was told it was the place to stay in SH. Great location however some of the rooms are small and I think its slightly overpriced.

Breakfast ok.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are small, 5th floor rooms are hit and miss. Some of the rooms are in the eaves so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junctionbox74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Schaffouse has a very nice old town, buildings with painted facades. In that respect the hotel is very nice located; however the staff is non existant, the breakfast is a nihilist concept, the minibar is an "help yourself" one in the lobby, and cleaning is a joke; rooms seem to have been decorated in the 70s, with a blue carpet.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinfounex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

My room had no windows but was air conditioned which made it comfortable.
Colleagues on the trip had windows but no air conditioning which meant the rooms were either very hot or noisy (if you opened the windows)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2011

The hotel is located in a very central location in Schaffhausen. It is in the 'city' (perhaps more village) center and very near the train station. We did however arrive in Zürich and since it was fairly late we had asked the hotel to arrange for transfer to the hotel. Was worth it since the train would have required us to change (not always the case, depends on arrival time and now we were 3 people and the taxi arranged by the hotel cost us CHF 120, still it is substantially more expensive than to travel from the airport by train (CHF 18 per person).

Arriving at the hotel we saw that it was located in a very nice old building. The entrance had a fire place and a nice area with some sofas, tables etc. The fire place gave the hotel the slight 'smell' of burnt wood, some of my colleagues felt that it gave the place a slight charm - I could however have done without it.

Many rooms are very small, the one I was put in was about the size of my walk-in closet at home. Still they managed to cram all the necessary things into the room (small bed, desk, TV and even a safe). The small size of the room does however mean that something I would like to have in a room was not available. I would have liked an iron (was available downstairs), coffee maker (available downstairs as well) and mini-bar. The safe was also very small. I have a small laptop (around 1kg weight) and it could still not fit in the safe.

The bed was comfortable and I slept well. I am pretty sound sleeper so was not disturbed by any noise. A few of my colleagues complained about the fact that the Church bells were very disturbing. The rooms are also rather warm and there was no air condition (would probably be even worse in summer).

The breakfast was at best ok but I would have liked some more choices, especially regarding hot food the selection was poor (as well as the quality). The hotel would probably benefit from having a real restaurant in the place but as it is now they do not have the ability to make any real food.

There is also the matter of Internet access, it is charged for in the rooms but it is free at the computer in the lobby where it is also possible to print without charge.

The hotel does not have a gym but they do offer free access to the local gym (called Eurofit). The gym was very nice but it is a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thesaint01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Hi,

The location of this hotel is really make our choice worthy than anything else at Schaffhausen, Switzerland. Train station, Taxi stand, Restaurants, shopping centres, and Beer Bar is within the walking distance of 5 minutes. The famous 'RHEIN FALL' is only 15/ 20 minutes by Car. There're lot of Beer Bar located and SWISS BEER is simply awesome !!! My advice - must go to club Havana for Beer, drinks etc. You need to know the places for nightlife and Taxi Drivers are very keen and alert to serve tourists in this regard. The wooden interior is really great to see of this property but room size is small. Breakfast is basic but Ok. Hotel is quite a bit expensive [Euro 125 ~ 150] but interms of location I think no one will worry about it. So far, it was a real pleasant stay at Zum Ruden.

Cheers,
Md. Mahbubur Rahman [Shohag]
==========================

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shohagepyllion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Schaffhausen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kronenhof
Hotel Kronenhof
#5 of 7 in Schaffhausen
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Bahnhof
0.2 mi away
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#3 of 7 in Schaffhausen
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
arcona LIVING Schaffhausen
arcona LIVING Schaffhausen
#1 of 7 in Schaffhausen
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Promenade
Hotel Promenade
#4 of 7 in Schaffhausen
85 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waldhotel Hohberg
Waldhotel Hohberg
#7 of 7 in Schaffhausen
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Rueden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rueden

Address: Oberstadt 20, Schaffhausen 8200, Switzerland (Formerly Sorell Hotel Rüden )
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Schaffhausen > Schaffhausen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Schaffhausen
Price Range: $155 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rueden 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A real gem! The historic 18th-century walls and the ancient parquet floors combined with surprising elements of modern interior design turn the hotel into a unique home. The personally managed hotel with 30 rooms is equally popular with business people and tourists alike. Meetings, events and celebrations of all types can be held in out seminar rooms and banquet halls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rueden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing