We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The world's most famous library”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Library

Abbey Library
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in St. Gallen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Abbey Library St. Gallen, famous for its beautiful baroque hall, is one of the oldest libraries in the world. And it holds one of the most important manuscript collections in Europe, especially for the Carolingian and Ottonian period from the 8th to the 11th century. The collection is presented to the visitors in changing and thematised expositions. The library forms the central part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site Convent of St. Gallen.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
152 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The world's most famous library”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

As a librarian, I would spend times visiting libraries and archives in every of my trip. This world's famous library, an UNESCO Heritage Site in St. Gallen of Switzerland, just an hour from one of the stopover, how could I not paying a visit?

The Abbey Library is situated 10 mins away from the railway station. It is also directly next to the cathedral. You don't have to love books, but you do need to admire the architecture of the buildings. The interior design of the Library is magnificent. I could not stop looking up the ceiling, smiling the old books, and even to feel them by touching.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Casey_An
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    110
    21
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
iran
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“An out standing cultural point in Switzerland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Abbey library is located in Abbey complex near the Cathedral, but there was not a clear sign to find it therefore we went to tourist information to lead us there.
There was an entrance fee 10 SF and you do not permit take picture from inside. You should put on special shoes. But this library is so beautiful; you can find so many ancient books there and also a very beautiful place with lovely pictures over the ceiling.
The other part of museum is in underground floor, which I recommend to everyone to see it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Babak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
831 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,670 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I was disappointed, I suppose because I had been expecting an atmosphere along the lines of other major historical libraries that I've worked in or visited, but that aren't UNESCO sites, and don't have the emphasis that you find here on tourism - guided tours, exhibits, the souvenir shop, etc. There's not much left here of the atmosphere of a library.

The baroque interior's certainly impressive, but for me at least it hasn't got the "Wow!" of, say, Schussenried, on the other side of the lake.

One very good thing: photography is forbidden!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The abbey library is particularly famous for its inventory of very old books. They have several hundred books and manuscripts, that are over a thousand years old. A tiny selection of these books are on display and they change the selection on display routinely. Best to be appreciated with a guided tour obviously to learn about the techniques used in the production and the contents of these books and manuscripts. Also in the library is an Egyptian mummy, obviously a crowd pleaser but doesn't have anything to do with the history of Saint Gaul. The reading room of the library was created in the 1850'ies at the same time as the new cathedral. The ceiling paintings in the library and in the cathedral are made by the same german artist Joseph Wannenmacher and the impressive wood carvings in the main reading room of the library were made by one of the monks of the monastery at the time. All in all well worth a visit, particularly as it is the books of this library that put Saint Gaul on the map.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank wowbaggerwannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
1,021 reviews
422 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 397 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is absolutely beautiful and a must to visit. The exhibition was very good and well labelled. Look carefully at the carvings!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank susanwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbey Library also viewed

St. Gallen, Canton of St. Gallen
St. Gallen, Canton of St. Gallen
 
St. Gallen, Canton of St. Gallen
St. Gallen, Canton of St. Gallen
 

Been to Abbey Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing