We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room, but rather expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in St. Gallen
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice room, but rather expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had a party in St. Gallen and splurged for a night at the Einstein as it was close to the venue. Our room was large and comfy, the decor was a bit dated to my taste, but there were huge closets and the bathroom was well designed. We didn't use any of the hotel's facilities except the bar and the in-room breakfast which was pricy but tasty. The room was a bit warm during the night, but we opened the window. The staff at reception was efficient and multilingual, my German is really bad but they spoke several European languages.

Would I stay there again? Maybe. The point is, most hotels in Switzerland are clean, comfortable and properly run, so unless I had something to celebrate or got a real deal for the room, I would probably go for a cheaper alternative and use the money saved for something else. But this is definitely a nice place, with a fantastic location and excellent facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreanne75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteleinstein, Geschäftsführer at Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Mrs. Andreanne75

Many thanks for giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor. We noticed from your profile that you are not only a very frequent traveller, but also living not too far from St.Gallen. This is reason enough for us to try our utmost to give you plenty of reasons why you possibly want to come back to the Einstein St.Gallen.

Starting with the perfect location, just a 7 minute walk from the train station, a stone throw from St. Gallen’s UNESCO world heritage site, the 1’300 year old abbey with its famous library one of the richest medieval libraries in the world. Should you be more into fashion and textiles, a visit to the textile museum is recommended, a shopping spree at the AKRIS boutique just next to the hotel rather a must. Also fitness and wellness freaks often stay here for a weekend and enjoy the 3000 square metre Einstein Fitnesspark. Why not combining this with the discovery of one of the many culinary options at the hotel restaurants?

In case we still have not convinced you, check out our very attractive packages on our homepage or contact me directly for further individual recommendations.

Would you stay here again? The Einstein team is expecting you. We would love to see you again soon at the Einstein St.Gallen

With very best regards,

EINSTEIN ST.GALLEN
Markus Kraus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    148
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
41
126
24
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed at Einstein Hotel for 1 night, location is just great, rooms are clean and beds very comfortable. Reception staff was friendly and helpful.
Breakfast(25chf) was excellent even if you have to cross the street. The SPA was also modern but on saturday evening it closes at 6, that's way too early.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilot_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoteleinstein, Geschäftsführer at Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Mr. Pilot_DK

Many thanks for your kind feedback. We truly appreciate your positive comments and also sympathize with your remark regarding the operation hours of our SPA.

To operate a 3’000 square metre fitness and spa area is a logistical and operational challenge that has to go in hand with the demand. The Einstein Fitnesspark operates weekdays from 6:30 a.m. to 10 p.m. and from 9AM to 6PM on weekends. Should demand increase outside of the existing operation hours we certainly will consider to adjust accordingly. In the meantime, we truly hope you will enjoy the many hours at the Einstein Fitnesspark while in St.Gallen.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

EINSTEIN ST.GALLEN
Markus Kraus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Hotel is very clean with wonderful bed linen and pillows, and soft towels. Location is very central, perfect for business. Breakfast is very good with a wonderful and varied selection with lots of fruits. Some guests might find the hotel rooms warm with the heating but I had one window open a little while sleeping to get fresh air and slept perfect. Reception staff are very friendly and warm and always helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel is know to me since years. I regularly spent a night in spring and a night in autumn in St Gallen and found out that for me the "Einstein" is best suiting in St Gallen. It is a hotel with a long tradition in town and I've seen some transformations. The most recent one is the enlargement including a small congress center. This is not so pleasant as now you have to croos the street to get your breakfast and also the Spa and fitness is kind of outsourced and used as a public fitness for the town. The previous setting with the whole in one building was more adapted to a hotel of this ambition. But still, no better place to stay in St Gallen than "Einstein"!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank borisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights in st gallen, great location and friendly staff upon arrival. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, a little bit old but still ok.
the breakfast area is in the convention centre. so you need to cross the street. breakfast was nice but the dining area is not that cosy and very big. it felt a little bit "Lonely" !
the best part of this hotel is that you have access to the fitness centre, which is amazing! pool and gym and very modern and fully equipped, this was the highlight of my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The hote is located in the heart of the city. Walking distance to many attractions. We were there during the weekend and we enjoyed the market.
The hotel staff are very helpful and speaks very good English. Breakfast was fabulous with very polite staff. The hotel is connected to a fitness center but we did not use it. Our room was very big for two persons. When we got into the room there was a personal note from the manager welcoming us and a plate of fresh fruits. I think this was a very good gesture. We had stayed in many 5 stars hotel but never experienced such welcome in the states.

Room Tip: Our room was reserved for us my our local friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanetteAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Au, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Comfortable rooms with pleasant service. Room are very attractive with classical decor, like it very much. Every service they provide are impressive. I would again like to visit next stop to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamescarb0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Gallen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dom
Hotel Dom
#3 of 18 in St. Gallen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, St. Gallen
0.3 mi away
Hotel Walhalla
Hotel Walhalla
#9 of 18 in St. Gallen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vadian
Hotel Vadian
#5 of 18 in St. Gallen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sorell Hotel City Weissenstein
0.4 mi away
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
Hotel Weisses Kreuz
#13 of 18 in St. Gallen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa

Property: Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa
Address: Berneggstrasse 2 | im Klosterviertel, St. Gallen 9000, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of St. Gallen > St. Gallen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Gallen
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Gallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Einstein St.Gallen is the place to be in St.Gallen. The elegant first class city hotel is located next to the UNESCO World Heritage, Monastery district St. Gallen. Being the leading house of the town, it offers 113 exquisite rooms and suites, culinary variety in the Einstein Gourmet and Einstein Bistro, cultured entertainment in the Einstein Bar with an English club atmosphere, a cigar lounge for the cigar after and a modern fitness park. The Congress Centre next door has set a new measuring scale in the meeting business. Hotel owned car parking. When you sleep at the Einstein, you wake up refreshed. The rooms and suites with their high quality materials such as marble, cherry wood and textiles of the highest quality of St.Gallen such as finest cotton, down duvets, high-class mattresses and carpets made from new wool create a unique living comfort. Additional amenities for the business and leisure guest leave nothing to be desired. Restaurants & Bar: Einstein Bistro - Einstein Gourmet - Einstein Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Einstein Hotel St Gallen
Einstein St Gallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing