We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal location and price”
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hotel des Arts provides all the basic requirements one would need for a short break. Room on top floor was small but lovely, so was the bathroom(shower) although it would be too hot for summer. however this did not cause us any problems since we did not spend so much time in the room. there was not much of a choice for breakfast but it was enough for a short stay. this hotel is also very conveniently situated near the funicular that takes you to the train station and is also a few minutes walk from the centre. Hotel staff was friendly and we found this hotel reasonably priced for Switzerland.

Room Tip: our room on the top floor did not have an ac so not recommended for summer days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrea12303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 183 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

We arrived late at night, and our first our impression was positive. The hotel is well located, only 2 blocks from the cable car to the railway station. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Decor is nice -- original signed prints. Breakfast the next day was very good. But after that it was downhill all the way. The room had no safety deposit box, and when we asked to leave our valuables in the hotel vault, we were told there wasn't any! There was no air conditioning, only a fan, and as our room began to heat up we had to close the outside metal window blinds. This made us feel imprisoned in our own room, especially as the room was rather small. We went out to the old town, did some sightseeing, had lunch, and came back to find our room had not been done. I phoned the manager. She was unapologetic. She said the room would be done by 5 PM. I told her that we wanted to rest undisturbed and no to bother, but to be sure to have it done by 3 PM the next day. She said she would 'try." I said that wasn't good enough; we wanted to rest in our room in the afternoon, and I insisted. She said it would be cleaned by 3 PM, added "I'm glad I don't have many customers like you," and hung up! It was indeed cleaned by 3 PM the next day, but only on that day. Afterwards, things reverted to by 5 PM. My advice is: stay away from this one.

Room Tip: [Re above: there is no swimming pool or fitness center]
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gulliver1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is your basic hotel, not much more than a Holiday Inn or the like. Do not expect much, but by Swiss standards, this is a reasonably priced hotel. We stayed here in mid-July with kids. The room had a nice view of the lake. The breakfast was adequate (free board). It was still not very warm, so the lack of air conditioning wasn't missed but I can only guess what guests do in August. The staff, however, was non-local and couldn't help play the concierge; we had to go to the tourism office to get all our info.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Ulysses S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel over a weekend in early August 2012. We were given an "attic" room on the 6th floor which we knew was going to be a problem the minute we walked in as it was like an oven! Whilst the room was exceptionally clean and perfectly adequate. The solitary, free-standing fan in the room simply didn't help the heat situation and merely circulated the very hot air. We stayed in the room for one night (we asked if we could move to a lower floor but apparently no other rooms were available). Needless to say we had a horrendous night with possibly 2-3 hours sleep due to the heat. The next day however we were able to move to a room on the 1st floor. This was a huge improvement and despite still being warm i.e. no aircon, only a fan, was certainly tolerable. The room was again clean and nicely furnished. My only comment about both the rooms were neither had coffee/tea making facilities or a fridge. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and the hotel location was great - short walk into town. I would only stay there again in summer if it was a) going to be cold(er) or b) the hotel installs aircon.

Room Tip: Do not accept an attic room on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fussyminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Good spot well located. Staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and breakfast was better than the standard fare in this type of establishment. Rooms are relatively expensive but we came when the film festival was on. Wasnt able to check in earlier unlike other reviews and we were on the 6th floor with no noise issues. Do get a view of the lake from some of these rooms. Staff provided plenty of information on what to do.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I arrived at 10:30 am and was thrilled to be able to check in early (a nice change from hotels in France and Spain!). Very decent room, clean and tidy, tastefully decorated, friendly and helpful staff, very good buffet breakfast, excellent location. Recommended.

Room Tip: 6th floor room was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millsietravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed here one night last weekend. Room was clean and spacious, my only complaint would be that some of the furnishings smelt of tobacco. We are both smokers but, second hand smoke is not too pleasing. Breakfast was simple but well presented and it was great to be able to make toast. The hotel is fantastically placed to go into the old town and is also just a couple of minutes walk from the lake!

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fckeithlit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Neuchatel hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
0.5 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecluse
Hotel de l'Ecluse
#7 of 12 in Neuchatel
83 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Beau-Rivage Hotel
#2 of 12 in Neuchatel
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Touring au Lac
Hotel Touring au Lac
#8 of 12 in Neuchatel
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpes et Lac
Hotel Alpes et Lac
#4 of 12 in Neuchatel
167 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Address: rue J. -L.-de- Pourtales 3, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range: $121 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Arts 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing