We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food in Twon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Side

Lake Side
Ranked #42 of 141 Restaurants in Neuchatel
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant de l'hôtel Beaulac à Neuchâtel
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best Food in Twon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

It's such a fine restaurant, but the balcony is just for drinks. So I was seated inside for lunch. I started with mantis shrimps and mussels. The dish is a beauty in itself and the taste is amazing. For the main course, the fillets of sole is a revelation for any fish lover, it's really worth the price. I finished with a cherries soup as my dessert. I chose it because it was the first time I saw a cold soup for desert, let alone a cherries. You gotta try it. It comes elegantly presented, with a dollop of cream in the middle. The view to the lake, the taste and look of dishes as well the warm and cordial service make me to come back to this lovely place.

Helpful?
Thank manbato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    62
    31
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bjaeverskov, Denmark
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect place to eat after a long drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

I have eaten her several times and has not been disappointed, especial the starter "Japanese panko shrimps" are top $ and all the other dishes I have been presented for is very very god. Please ask for advice for the local vines they are very balanced and has a perfect bouquet for the dishes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carsten Damgaar... P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, excellent food, ok service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

This restaurant is a bit strange - a fusion of two completely different cuisines served alongside each other; japanese and french/european. The waiter was a bit under the weather and seemed slightly annoyed at our presence, although he did a fine job of serving us otherwise. The food was excellent, in particular the bass filet which I much enjoyed. The sushis were very equally delicious. The restaurant has a beautiful view on the lake of Neuchâtel.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank switzerlandtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good freshly-prepared sushi - poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The sushi bar in this restaurant serves a good range of sushi prepared to order at the bar. The food was great but not cheap. The service however is really not good. We stood for five minutes on arrival while staff ignored us and walked around us. The sushi chefs rang five times for service before a waiter came to deliver our salad and later I had to go and find the manager to tell him that our sushi had been ready for 15 minutes and ask him to bring it to us (the chefs apparently can't just hand it over the counter).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbsuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We did enjoy that evening !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a gift voucher (smartbox) for a sushi dinner. Arriving and mentioning our reservation we were immediatly led to a perfectly situated table with an excellent view to port and lake !
The atmosphere was rather relaxed but the service of the young personnel was very good and professional. The quality of the sake soup, the generous serving of an impressive variety of very good sushis, was most satisfying. Then we were served a variety of sorbets with japanese tatses, which were garnished with a beautiful spread of berries. To us it was just to much, but good. We loved the wine list, where we found many interesting suggestions from the area. The one we chose , was avery good wine with a correct Price. we don't know about the cost of the Food, but we sure will go there again and find out!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CXPrestige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Side also viewed

Neuchatel, Canton of Neuchatel
Neuchatel, Canton of Neuchatel
 
Neuchatel, Canton of Neuchatel
Neuchatel, Canton of Neuchatel
 

Been to Lake Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing