We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff very very kind ans helpful !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Touring au Lac
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Reviewed August 13, 2010

We arrived late and ask for a room. The receptionist was very helpful and kind. He give as free of charge a park authorisation for our car. The room was Clean. Not so big but OK.
In the night I was not well and phone at the reception. A security Man organised me a doctor. The night was short but very good bed and the breakfast was well. Very good bread , Expresso machine and more.........
We will came back at this hotel next year!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M0nikaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 98 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2009

I was really worried about staying in this place after reading the reviews but it was the only free affordable room I could find in town for a short business trip.
I must say it wasn't THAT bad. Actually, it wasn't bad at all. The lobby it is not the prettiest one I've seen but decent. The room was really small but since I traveled alone with very little luggage it was ok. I got just a single bed with some walking space. A small bathroom with no bathtub (didn't need one anyways) and in general it was all clean and ok.
The decoration in general was not my favorite but at least it looked kinda new, not too grandma like as some hotels tend to do. (ok, maybe a little bit)
The breakfast buffet was basic but ok. Very good bread (but bread is always good in Switzerland) and cheese. Good espresso machine. Good assortment of cereals, jams, yogurt, etc. Not much fresh fruit but apples were fine.
The receptionist seemed to speak good French, perfect German, Swiss-german and English so no complains there. She was also polite.
I would say it is an ok place to stay when all you want is a decent bed and breakfast but no more than that.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Is this real a hotel... first of all I called to confirm the booking, the person was really unfriendly. Then the hotel is old, the room was smelly and not very "fresh"... AND THE BEST the restaurant of the Hotel, I speak French ... people are suposed to speak French as this is the language in this part of Switzerland BUT it was terrible to communicate with the waiters... Unacceptable... then the food was not good at all, do not try the pizzas only positive things is the terrasse, but you can find other nice terrasses around were you will feel bette, same as for the hotels around

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mouthmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

the staff has been very rude. moreover the receptionist did not make any effort to clarify a misunderstanding with my parents (68 years old they are not French or English speaker)

A real nightmare

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank Apollo010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

It has been a very sad experience. the receptionist has been very rude with my parents (they are almost seventy years old and they don't speak French neither good english). Moreover the staff threated them not as guest but more as refugees. My parents have been very sad, especially when the receptionist refused to give them some explanation about the reservation system (they were really unfair). It is a shame.

I wrote a very formal and polite complaining email to the property, where she replied next time I could find another hotel!

such a bad experience

If you are so brave to book a room I wish you good luck.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Apollo010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

WARNING! If you want to be sure to have a room does not book this hotel! I made a reservation for a family of 2 adults and 1 child. At arrival I was informed that the hotel does not have any rooms with 3 beds so I had to pay for an extra room. Of course I refused and after some argument they put an extra bed in a very tiny double room. There was approximately one square meter floor area left. Initially the lady wanted me to pay extra since we would be 3 persons in the room. Instead I wanted a discount and was informed that the only way we could get a discount was by returning two breakfast vouchers. That would give us a discount of one (!) breakfast. Since I am the only one in our family that has breakfast in the morning I returned two vouchers, but I was refused the discount.

The booking was made 17 days in advanced. If the hotel had been customer oriented they had all the chance to contact me. Now instead all their behaviors gave me the impression that they are not honest and they only tried to fool me for money.

Per-Gunnar Viklund, Malmo, Sweden

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank resenaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: demander les chambres du côté du lac
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astruc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Neuchatel hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Beaulac
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecluse
Hotel de l'Ecluse
#7 of 12 in Neuchatel
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Beau-Rivage Hotel
#2 of 12 in Neuchatel
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#6 of 12 in Neuchatel
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpes et Lac
Hotel Alpes et Lac
#4 of 12 in Neuchatel
167 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Touring au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Touring au Lac

Address: place Numa-Droz 1, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range: $121 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Touring au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Touring au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing