We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beau-Rivage Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$247
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel des Arts(Neuchatel)
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Palafitte(Neuchatel)
$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
227
86
21
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
227
86
21
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking the lakeold townperfect servicewonderful hotelbreakfast buffet isroom service iswriting deskbed and pillowsan extensive menuhighly recommend a visitbathroom floorfitness roomtop levelnice barrelais chateauxwonderful viewrooms are spacious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 345 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Beau Rivage on our last visit to Neuchatel, and it compares favourably to hotels in Europe, in general. The rooms are smaller than most North Americans are probably used to, but they are well appointed and clean. Much thought has gone into the decor of this hotel, and the modern interior manages to both differ from, and compliment, the older, classic exterior.
It is well located. The Beau Rivage is right on the water front of Lac Neuchatel (the largest lake that lies entirely within Switzerland), and is also on the edge of Neuchatel's downtown area. If you are arriving by train, and have a great deal of luggage, take a taxi for check in. If you come to Neuchatel by train, and have only a piece of carry-on, consider walking. It is a bit of a walk, but from Neuchatel station, it is all downhill and a very pleasant stroll.
The staff are polite, friendly and efficient. The same can be said of every hotel we have stayed at in Switzerland, but it is still nice.
The only downside is that it is a bit pricey, even by European (and Swiss) standards.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a lake view. You will pay more, and you may not actually look out the window much, but the lake side is away from the downtown area, and therefore much quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDTVancouver_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay at the Beau-Rivage Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that we could meet your expectations such as room comfort, interior design and friendliness of our staff, as well as its outstanding location on the lakesides of Neuchatel, at a walking distance from the historic town centre.

We hope you will have the opportunity to return again in the near future!

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner and Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Beau Rivage is a very nice hotel. Service is exceptional and it is centrally located with a beautiful view of Lake Neuchatel. The piano bar is very comfortable and a great place to visit at the end of the day. Breakfast is delicious - make sure you don't miss it. You can walk to the main downtown core in 2 minutes. Highly recommend this spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large window facing the lake.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed the Beau-Rivage Hotel and the comfort of our Veranda-Bar, as well as the center location on the lakesides of Neuchatel, at a walking distance from the historic town centre.

We truly hope to welcome you back soon at the Beau-Rivage Hotel and wish you a magnificent autumn.

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner and Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on business for 2nights in Sept. It was superb.

Excellent spacious and quiet room, beautiful restaurant and perfectly located on the lake and the edge of Neuchatel centre. The staff could not have been more helpful and this is somewhere I sincerely hope to stay in again.

Oh and do visit the stunning little chocolate shop in Neuchatel centre, about 5 mins from Beau-Rivage. Slurp!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Business T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review on your recent stay at the Beau-Rivage Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that we could meet your expectations such as room comfort, restaurant design and the quality of service.

We truly hope to welcome you back soon at the Beau-Rivage Hotel and wish you a magnificent autumn.

Best Regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hotel itself was great. Very large and comfortable rooms, though windows overlooking the lake are a bit small. It has a good but pricey restaurant too. But I had to wait till 2 pm to check in, although the hotel seemed rather empty.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajuniaxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Inhaber at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for taking your time to share your experience with us.

We are very happy to hear that you appreciated our property and the quality of our food.

According to our general conditions, our room are available from 15h on check-in day. However we do every day our utmost to provide our guest an earlier check-in as you encounter.

We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Best regards,
Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

A one night stay in early May for academic reasons.Had stayed there in November 2009 with my wife.
Efficient check-in at 12h30pm well appreciated as tired from overnight flight And a late check out was easily obtained the following morning.
Had a fair sized room lake side ; good choice of TV options and good Internet. Quiet room and comfortable bed . A well equiped bathroom. And of course everything is clean in Switzerland!.
Very good breakfast buffet.Good location five minutes walk from the Fun'ambule that takes you downhill from the train station ( on exiting the funicular walk straight towards the lake and turn right once you reach it).
You would pay somewhat less for the same type of accomodation elsewhere in Europe but for Switzerland the price is OK.

Room Tip: Lakeside is best but quiet area
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancoistheEconomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind review. We are happy that you enjoyed the Beau-Rivage Hotel and the service we provided to you, as well as its outstanding location on the lakesides of Neuchatel, at a walking distance from the historic town centre.

We hope you will have the opportunity to return again in the near future!

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews