We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base for Neuchatel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beau-Rivage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beau-Rivage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Excellent base for Neuchatel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

I have stayed here a few times and can not imagine a better and more convenient place to stay in Neuchatel. The service, room quality and food has always been excellent. I will be sure to stay again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room (obviously)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lvetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful comments about your recent stay with us.
We were delighted to read about your lovely experience. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive reviews, especially from our regular guests.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back to the Beau-Rivage Hotel.

Best regards from Neuchatel,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    73
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
93
7
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Celerina, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend and experienced friendly and helpful service as is to be expected from a 5*. The room and corridor were quite old fashioned (70's style not even a distinct era which could match a grand hotel as this one) albeit spacious. Quite simplistic room with modest lake view and balcony was ok, what we really liked were the more interesting room features such as the trolley which is a really fun and innovative idea, as well as the small selection of literature from Swiss authors. Overall it was fine what we needed it for but would not necessarily go back again, the terrace on the ground floor is quite nice but slow service.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank gg7786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comments regarding our property. We were glad to read that you really enjoyed the quality of service along with our wide range of in room facilities.

We are sorry to read that the decoration, which is a very personnel concern, was not of you appreciation. Although the hotel was built in 1993, the rooms have been renovated and refurnished over the 5 last years.

We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Kind regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Understated yet luxurious hotel... All staff very helpfully and friendly - you could have a conversation!

Although expensive the price gets you comfort and peace and quiet. Excellent soundproofing, wonderfully for all of us light sleepers.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank newfoundman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your nice words. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay with us along with our special room amenities! We do pride ourselves in creating unique experience, and we are glad that you have picked up on this.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISTANBUL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stay here since 1996 once/twice a year..Stayed 2 nights again..It is great..The price you pay is really good for such a well located and managed beautiful Hotel.Service,food,rooms..all are perfect..
The only thing I can "complain" is that there is always somewhere in the hotel under renovation!But you hardly feel it..business or pleasure..always good.

Room Tip: almost all rooms have lake view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KOXAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your feeling concerning your stays in our property.

It is always a pleasure for our team to receive such positive reviews, especially from our regular guests.

We do pride ourselves in offering a perfect and up to date environment to our guests, and we are glad that you have picked up on this.

We all look forward to the pleasure of your return visit.

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have stayed here a total of 3 times now. Every visit I have treated politely by the staff and have found the room and meals absolutely fine. It has a wonderful view / location and is very convenient for travelling in town or further afield. Typically Swiss understated. No problem staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side overlook the back street but the lake can still be seen (just). Obviously th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thegrumpyoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your nice words and are delighted that you enjoyed our stays with us.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future,

Best Regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva2009
Level Contributor
542 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

no 1 in neuchatel. manager has great and surprisingly positive ideas. a music box in the room (suite) - what a wonderful and special idea. settings beautiful - great staff

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geneva2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas M, Propriétaire at Beau-Rivage Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your nice words. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay with us along with our service and special room amenities! We do pride ourselves in creating unique experience, and we are glad that you have picked up on this.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future,

Best regards,

Thomas Maechler
Owner & Maître de Maison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice, for business. The hotel is beautifully situated, at the lake geneva. I had lake views both times I stayed there. The check-in was good, and so was the service. I mad a call to the front dest to ask about the Wifi code and within 2 minutes, they had brougth it to my room on a piece of paper! Rooms are big and clean. A little warm, so be sure to turn down the heat when you enter the room, Uuless you like it nice and toasty of course!
Breakfast is abundant and service good. All in all, great hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IreneUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Neuchatel hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Palafitte
Hotel Palafitte
#1 of 12 in Neuchatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Beaulac
0.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant La Maison du Prussien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#7 of 12 in Neuchatel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alpes et Lac
Hotel Alpes et Lac
#5 of 12 in Neuchatel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel de l'Ecluse
Hotel de l'Ecluse
#6 of 12 in Neuchatel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau-Rivage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau-Rivage Hotel

Property: Beau-Rivage Hotel
Address: esplanade du Mont-Blanc 1, Neuchatel 2000, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Neuchatel > Neuchatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Neuchatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Beau-Rivage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury five-star Superior Beau-Rivage Hotel in Neuchatel enjoys a privileged position on the popular Esplanade du Mont-Blanc promenade beside Lake Neuchatel. The hotel enjoys spectacular views of the lake and the Bernese Oberland Alpine chain and is within a five-minute walk of the historic city centre. In addition to the 66 stylish and spacious rooms and four suites, the hotel offers a restaurant called O'terroirs, a Veranda Bar and two well-tended outdoor terraces with bar, lounge and restaurant. As well as a B-Spa, a cellar and six conference rooms. The hotel is member of Relais & Chateaux and the Swiss Deluxe Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Beau-Rivage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing