We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If Saint-Vigor-des-Monts is to return, Le Calipel...”
other travelers have booked this property
This ancient barn is arranged in the medieval way with the living accomadation on the first floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This ancient barn is arranged in the medieval way with the living accomadation on the first floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This ancient barn is arranged in the medieval way with the living accomadation on the first floor
Part of your  Welcome Pack....
Prepare your market buts in the well equipped kitchen
The spacious bedroom has a lovely king size bed so you are ensured of a great night's sleep!
Your view on waking up and opening the curtains.
Original and limited edition prints adorn the walls.
Enjoy a romantic bath à deux or just have a nice, long soak, tout seule...
Have a refreshing shower in the roomy enclosure
....and being visited by our friendly chickens
Eat al fresco in your secluded garden.
Relax with a good book and a glass of something chilled in these beautiful vintage steamer chairs.
Picnic in style using our vintage picnic hamper.
Nestled in the Vallée de la Vire, Le Calipel offers you tranquillity,  peace and places to walk.
....seamlessly combining the old with the new to make your stay a special one, like the building.
Enjoy the tranquillity of the pond & observe the diverse wildlife.
Enjoy a leisurely stroll down the lane-you might spot deer!
D-Day changed the landscape-there are many sites to be visited evoking the bravery of our forebears.
Visit the Musée Christian Dior at Granville.
Visit one of the many Chateau in the region.
You can visit a different market every day! Each with characterful stallholders.
Visit the Festival du Dahlia in September-a blaze of colour!
Watch the sun rise to a new day...
Visit one of the retro festivals-cars, tractors & rural life of past times.
...then enjoy the peace of dusk...
...and see a myriad of stars.
Enjoy a Normandy traffic jam!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Manche, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hugolanda...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“If Saint-Vigor-des-Monts is to return, Le Calipel is the place.”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Our four days stay at Le Calipel was definitely one of the highlights of our visit to beautiful Normandy. Donna is an amazing host whose hospitality, friendliness and willingness to help, perfectly blends with the serene atmosphere and natural beauty offered by the region.
Upon arrival, we found a beautiful gite with magnificent views of the countryside, friendly and cute animals, and a very relaxing environment. Donna had nicely prepared the living room table with a bottle of wine and two cups. She also made delicious souffle and left many other items such, bread, cheese, coffee, and spices to name just a few. We are very grateful for our stay at Le Calipel. Thanks again, Donna and Ed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
We are so glad your stay at Le Calipel was special for you, we hope to see you again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave L
1 review
“Absolutely spot on”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Fantastic place and ideal setting
Welcome pack was exceptional bread,wine, souffles,cidre,croissants,eggs,butter and jams
We just chilled and loved every minute of it
Long eared owl in the garden just sat in a tree so out with the camera
Donna is a perfect host and made us feel so welcome
Thanks again Donna

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2016
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Le Calipel and it was so nice to share my love of nature with you both! Don't forget to send me some pictures of our feathered friend!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2muchfine...
Mornington, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Perfectly Peaceful”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We were absolutely delighted with our stay at Le Calipel. On arrival at the Gite (greeted by Geese and Chickens..) we had a welcome pack consisting of fresh French Bread and cheese, croissants with home-made jams and local Cidre. Not only this but also homemade soaps as well!. The Gite is very well equipped and furnished with antique furniture which was something different for us but was very very cosy, helped by the antique wood burner. There are so many small details in the furnishing and decoration which make this place special, look out for the ornamental mice, the ancient shoe and the kingfishers nest to name just a few. Le Calipel was a perfectly perfect start to our French holiday.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 28, 2016
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Le Calipel and look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetteren, Belgium
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2016
Thank you! It was lovely to see you again and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: just a bit different,
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2016
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ourhouse4...
Portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just what we needed.”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

After a relaxing drive from Caen through the French country side we arrived at this idyllic farm house. Our Son and his wife had arranged our stay so we didn't know what to expect. We were met by Donna who is the owner and shown inside. On opening the rustic door we found the perfect place to relax. The room was really inviting and the bedroom the same. The bathroom has a walk-in shower and a huge bath so a lovely soak in it is recommended. There was a well equipped kitchen with a dishwasher, fridge etc.
Not only was Donna a very welcoming host she had put milk in the fridge, fresh eggs, patisseries, real butter, a stick of bread and a bottle of bubbly chilling on the table with 2 glasses to get us started. Perfect.
The heating is by radiators which more then ample but if needed there is a wood burner with a basket of wood to start you off and more wood at a small fee if needed.
At night there is no noise and no ambient street lights so a complete restful sleep is brilliant. When you wake in the morning and open the curtains and look over the fields at the sun rising you realise just what a perfect place this is.
It is pretty well centrally placed for getting out and about with the motorway about a 10 minutes drive away so getting to places is very easy but knowing that your coming back here is even better. If you like to walk there is the beautiful countryside to explore and everywhere there is quietness with just the birds signing.
We would just like to say a big thank you to Donna for making us so welcome.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The locality.
Liked least: Having to leave and come home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2016
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Le Calipel and look forward to seeing you again by which time I will have perfected gluten free bread for your wife but you will still have a baguette!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 12, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet of the Normandy countryside.
Liked least: The weather was typical January, but you cannot control that!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2016
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us again and look forward to you coming back, maybe for your birthday!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing