We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of its game”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Swiss House

Old Swiss House
Ranked #10 of 395 Restaurants in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: German, Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Top of its game”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

I was actually back packing around Switzerland for a week with my 7 year old daughter but we packed a smart dress and shoes each which we changed into on the train, stuffed our packs into one luggage locker at the station (9CH) and got a taxi to here (12CH) for lunch. We'd reserved a table which was fortunate as it got busy.

We were greeted by the owner who is charm personified. All the serving staff were highly efficient and professional. The owner let us choose our table as we were early and we got a nice spot in the pink half in a corner with a great view of all the schnitzel preparing going on at the other tables! (56CH but we didn't ordered it ourselves).

Alice had cream of asparagus soup (16CH) - she said it tasted like heaven - I tried it - it did, rock lobster (58CH) and lemon sorbet - would not be deterred by the vodka and prosecco it contained (17CH) - had a bit of a kick to it as you might expect but she ate it all. I had a green salad (15CH), the vegetarian plate (34CH) and the chocolate mousse small portion (11CH). All top notch quality. We shared a 70cl bottle of water (11CH). Total bill was about £120 including a 10% tip (discretionary and highly deserved). So not cheap by a long shot but considering it's Swizerland (and I paid nearly the same for two 3 course meals in Disneyland Paris for appalling food and service) it's really quite reasonable value I thought considering the quality. Even the toilets were elegant - I'll include a photo to prove it!

The other customers were a mixture of well dressed Swiss and casually dressed tourists. The atmosphere was quite formal as you'd expect.

Lovely place to go for a special treat (or once a week if you're very rich).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jojozara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    223
    77
    29
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We did not have reservations and were extremely lucky they could squeeze us in. We enjoyed reading about the history of the restaurant from a little brochure given to us by our waiter. Ordered the schnitzel prepared tableside - definitely not low calorie with all the butter used, but boy was it good!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sandy_bottoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

It's expensive but not out of line with the rest of Lucerne. It's a bit of an institution and recommended by a Swiss friend so recognise it as a bit of a tourist trap but also for locals. Book - it gets busy. We had a fascinating conversation with the owner who joined us at the bar and the staff were very attentive. The food was good, fresh and well seasoned. Good wine selection. Smart casual and if you look smart you'll be treated likewise. Would recommend as treat. It's not Mich star even though it feels like you paid for it but you need to re-callibrate in Switzerland so take a deep breath. I'd go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

In Lucerne, you must go to this restaurant! Their specialty schnitzel is prepared table side: order one for 2 people! Chocolate muse desert was to die for!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tfm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Maine
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Splurge at a Classy Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

All of Switzerland is expensive so if you are going there, just forget about the cost and treat yourself to a special night at the Old Swiss. Easy to find; just down the street from the Dying Lion Monument. Don't wear jeans; they might let you in, but they are really not appropriate. Fine silver, crystal, linen tablecloths and napkins. We were waited on as if we were the Queen Mum and every courtesy was extended to my grand daughter and I.
We ordered schnitzel which was cooked in front of us with mountains of butter and luscious noodles and buttered bread crumbs. It was suggested that we order the chocolate mousse, but we had no more room. The meal is very filling perhaps because it is so rich with butter.
The restaurant is old; it has a history to it, but is decorated with vintage and Old World class. A little Victorian perhaps. We were charged for tap water ( bear that in mind) but the minute our water was low our glass was being refilled. It is the food but also the service that you are paying for. You pay for what you get.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bucketlistend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Swiss House also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Old Swiss House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing