We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian in Luzern”

Restaurant La Cucina
Ranked #5 of 407 Restaurants in Lucerne
Price range: $9 - $54
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Pizza & PastaLa Cucina is the city’s premier Italian restaurant, delivering delicious Italian cuisine including home-made pasta e pizza and great wines in a welcoming Mediterranean environment.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I will start by saying I give it a "5" as, living in Switzerland, we are not sued to good value. In fact, it's as common as Halley's comet. La Cucina delivers on that front. That said, it's great quality anyway, and the prices are good. One of the best pizzas I've ever had: great ingredients, generous (again, not a Swiss restaurant trait), and tasty. The service is good - quirky, and all very Italian. Very enjoyable overall. (And I've been 3 times now, so no fluke.)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank johnflalor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Johnflalor,
Thank you for your visit at our restaurant la cucina and your great feedback on tripadvisor. We are pleased that we were able to convince you with our performance especially with the quality of our food and service. All the best to you and we really hope to see you soon back at the restaurant la cucina.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
There are newer reviews for Restaurant La Cucina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 346 of 998 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We arrived on the train from a wonderful stay in Lake Como and were still thinking of the beautiful views and fantastic food we experienced there and did not want to travel too far from our hotel to get a bite to eat on our rainy first night in Lucerne. We asked our hotel for a recommendation close by and was told that this was a great bet for a nice casual meal. We walked there and asked for a table for six. This was a Wednesday night and the place was fairly busy but the maitre'd said he would be able to seat us near the kitchen. We sat down and looked over the menu.. My wife was not that hungry and she and my daughter wanted to share a pizza instead of ordering a whole one. The maitre'd was very put out by this request and said it was not possible. He said if you sit at the table everyone has to order their own meal. This certainly started the evening off on a very bad note and this was despite the fact that everyone else ordered full entrees. The pizzas and risottos were very average at best and if we were not tired and hungry we would have left before the food even arrived. I would never return here and certainly would not recommend it... Ever..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank hhmAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear hhmAtlanta,

We would like to thank you for your visit at our restaurant la cucina in Lucerne and your feedback. First of all, we apologize that we could not meet your full expectations. However, your feedback will help us to improve and question our services constantly. Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance in the future in order to convince you of our improvements.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

After reading the good reviews for this restaurant, we decided to try it for dinner. There were 6 of us and we called for a reservation on a Sunday night. The restaurant was not crowded, but we were seated at tables next to the kitchen instead of a more desirable location. We tried asking questions about the menu and were quickly dismissed. The maitre'd walked away and said you are not ready and ignored our questions. We did order eventually and the food wasn't terrible, but it wasn't good either. Far from quality Italian food. Expensive and rude service. We hurried to leave and had desert somewhere else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank runner73_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear runner73_13,

We would like to thank you for your visit and your feedback. First of all, we apologize for disappointing you during your stay. We assure you to take your valuable feedback seriously. It helps us to improve our grade of friendliness and to scrutinize our standard procedures. Of course your described insufficient service does not correspond whit our operating philosophy. In order to prevent this in the future, your feedback has been discussed with the La Cucina service team. Once again, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectations and therefore offer our sincere apologies. Nevertheless, we hope to have another chance in the future in order to convince you of our improvements.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Something was terribly wrong at this restaurant when six of us went for dinner there on Sunday night. The atmosphere was very cozy and welcoming, but the staff was anything but! The head waiter actually was rolling his eyes and sighing when we were asking questions about the menu. At that point we should have walked out! Waiters were literally running around but totally ignoring us! When the food came they threw it in front of us and ran away! I was given the wrong entree I tried to tell him, but he was already out if sight! The food was good but the experience was the only negative one we had on our 10 day vacation in Europe! We sat with dirty dishes for 5 minutes and was never even asked if we wanted coffee or dessert! We are still scratching our heads wondering why a restaurant would treat customers in such a way! Perhaps, Americans are not welcome here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank trumom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Dear trumom99,

We would like to thank you for visit and your online feedback. First of all, we apologize for disappointing you during your stay. We assure you to take your valuable feedback seriously. It helps us to improve our grade of friendliness and to scrutinize our standard procedures. However, this insufficient service does not correspond whit our operating philosophy. In order to prevent this in the future, your feedback has been discussed in the La Cucina service team. Once again, we offer our sincere apologies and hope you grant us another chance in order to convince you of our good service standard.

Yours sincerely,
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I had simple bread, penne all'arrabiata and tiramisu... good portion sizes, utterly delicious... best meal I've had in years.... attentive, prompt and polite service. I'll be back again later.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jules W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, QUALITY MANAGEMENT at Restaurant La Cucina, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Jules W,

We would like to thank you for your visit at our Restaurant Thai Garden and for your positive feedback. It is our goal to provide a unique experience to our guests. We are satisfied that we achieved this in your case. We hope to welcoming you soon back at our restaurant La Cucina.

Yours sincerely,
Martin Brügger
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Cucina also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Restaurant La Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing