We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hostal ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 14 Lucerne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed one night, you have to share the bathroom with two more rooms. The floor is so nosy we could not sleep it was the worst hotel ever, I do not understand why they call it hotel if it is more an Hostal... for students with low budget... terrible! Horrible! They should charge 5 bucks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank viajesponchito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for The Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 147 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

It was our first trip to Lucerne and we had no idea of what to expect. Our first impression was positive. The B&B is a well-kept old house with spacious rooms. Simone was very helpful and gave us quite useful information. We travelled with our little daughter and she was very interesting on climbing up the stairs...so good excersise for us too :) Breakfast is simple but well balanced. There is a TV monitor in the dining room for those who cannot miss what is happening around the world. Actually the day we came, we heared the bells of the church nearby ringing loudly and for a long time...we knew that the new Pope had been elected and then confirmed on TV. The place is very quiet because it is located in a residential area but no far from the main districts.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCTroncoso1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

2 Star , 4/10
B&B but in a lot of ways like a hostell.
Seemed very popular with Families, who book out a whole floor to avoid the bathroom sharing.
In a quiet neighbourhood, but street parking only.
Most rooms have common facilities , toilets , dinning room etc
The land lady was nice and the service good but she was over worked.
Nice simple breakfast.
Our loft had Air conditioning and upstairs our own little lounge and a king sized bed with pretty good pillows plus seperate shower and toilet down stairs connected by an attick ladder / steep stairs.

Room Tip: If you want some private facilities go for the loft and get your own bathroom just mind your had on...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I dropped in and was greeted by Madeleine who was very warm and friendly. The B&B is very close to zentrum, only 20 minute walk and is charming, cozy and a lovely place to stay. Unfortunately, I did not have a reservation and the B&B was full, but Madeleine phoned other hotels and secured a room for me across town. Then Madeleine drove me across town (and I followed in my car) to ensure I arrived there safely. Now that is what I call 5 star service, just amazing. I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B... next time I'll make the reservation in advance!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiona g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The bnb is set in a residential area, which was a plus for us to be away from the bustle of hotels in cities for a few days and it was a very easy 15 minute walk to the centre of Luzern. From booking to leaving, the staff were absolutely amazing - what a credit to any business to have people like this employed! Thank you Simone, Andrea and Evelyn plus a thank you to Isabelle for making booking easy.
We had the attic room, which had private facilities and a bit of space with a lounge. The gardens were lovely, we sat outside on each night that we stayed and enjoyed a few drinks and snacks after our busy days (plus a game or two of cards and soem great chats with the girls there). Great spot to unwind. A bonus is that there are several restaurants / cafes within easy walking distance.
Would highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Book early!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deejay2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and found the the location and the staff to be excellent. Simone was extremely helpful in sorting out our carparking arragements and tickets to Mt Pilatus. The room we had was on the ground floor next to the main entrance and dining room, so we had to deal with noise from people walking around coming and going, plus the floors creaked badly. The room was large and clean but the mattress on the bed was due for a replacement, as it had terrible "roll together". The location was perfect with a bus stop close by, but we walked to the main center in about 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms upstairs away from the entrance and dining room, to ensure a quieter nights sl...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here in August , a party of 5 so we had two rooms on the top floor . The staff were very friendly and always helpful . Surroundings were lovely and very quiet at night . You cud catch the bus into the town if u like but we chose to walk as it is so pretty and the weather was wonderful, only took about 20 mins so good exercise when your on hols. Rooms and bathroom were very clean and tidy and we sat out in the garden a couple of time and had a coffee which was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesp49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#38 of 67 in Lucerne
1,578 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 67 in Lucerne
987 reviews
1.2 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#29 of 67 in Lucerne
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bed and Breakfast

Address: Taubenhausstrasse 34, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lucerne
Price Range: $148 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The b&b
The Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing