We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Too Much Smoke Though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Mission Viejo, Ca.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Too Much Smoke Though”
Reviewed July 7, 2009

The hotel was nice, but ...... The fact that the hotel allows smoking in the lobby and in the small bar area of the restuarant, was a real drawback. We loved to eat breakfast at the restaurant, but the smoke would ruin the setting. Every time we entered the hotel, there were people smoking. We had to walk thorugh the smoke. Then there were associates of the hotel who were smoking in the small bar area, located next to the buffet bar. You couldn't get your food without smelling the awful smoke. The desk staff was friendly and the restuarant staff was outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    491
    176
    43
    28
See reviews for
235
482
30
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Fantastic Hotel....

Very nice and proficient staff. Friendly and helpful. Rooms are fairly spaced. Lake side rooms are nice and has a fantastic view of the Luzern city. Dental pack was provided on request.

Food was nice and had various option.

When I landed there for check in was offered a complimentary drink because of the delay...nice gesture. Was also helped with the luggage.

You also get skyward mile for staying there.

Very good value for money

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anirudhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

I would rate this hotel very highly. I recently stayed in this hotel on a weekend. Its close to the main railway and if you dont have luggage its a nice walk. The service was very good all around. The only issue I had was with the AC that didnt work (which by the way most hotels in Luzern dont have!). Although they took some time to address it after I had to push them, they did give me some couchers for drinks in the bar. The food at the restaurant was great and well priced. Breakfast was a great spread and once you walk out of the hotel you get the view of the alps and luzern. I prefer this location to the old town as the rooms are all very modern and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smart_Traveler_333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay here. First, the location is excellent as it is "right next to" the train station. Actually, to get to the hotel entrance from the train station, it is a short distance of a walk. Not bad at all. The hotel is in walking distance of everything you could want to see in Luzern. We were very impressed by each staff member we interacted with. Everyone was pleasant and greeted us both coming and going. The room was comfortable. Yes, the decor was a bit kitschy, but I didn't mind it. The shower did face the room, but through frosted glass. The odd thing about the shower was the lack of a door. I don't consider it a negative, just a bit unusual. Internet access was fast and free. Breakfast (if not included with your room) was 30 Swiss francs per person, a little pricey even by Luzern standards. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freekarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

This hotel has beautiful rooms with all modern amenities and a good decor. The only problem with the hotel is that you have to pay 5 swiss franks even for asking 2 spoons to be supplied to your room, thats like a no frills airline with 4 star rates.

Stayed June 2009
Helpful?
Thank Globalisation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

This hotel has a few things going for it. It is close the the train station without the noise of the trains. It is next to the lake and the restaurants have lake views. The rooms are large, well-lit, air-conditioned, and modern. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a hot-pot in the room with tea bags and coffee for free plus a mini-bar (which I used to cool drinks we brought with us).
I will agree with other travelers that the glass wall in the bathroom is bad. At least it is completely frosted (unlike other hotels I have stayed in). Most hotels in Switzerland (and Europe for the matter) will push two twins together to make a King bed. I guess I've gotten used to that. And you have to ask if you want a top sheet. Stores don't even sell top sheets in Switzerland, so don't expect to have one on the beds here.
Over-all it was a really good experience. We were able to buy our tickets to Mt. Pilatus at the reception desk. The staff helped us with everything we requested.
BTW... Breakfast was not included in our rate. 29.50 CHF is steep for breakfast so we grabbed a pastery and coffee in the train station and ate it while standing on the bridge watching the swans.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cararose1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights. Its a very stylish hotel, nice rooms and bathrooms. Some rooms have a view. Its to the left of the railway station. The exact place where you should start exploring Lucerne and begin moving the other direction. I recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, Style
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank authenticreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#18 of 68 in Lucerne
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
902 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
Address: Lakefront Center Inseliquai 12, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#11 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#16 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at this Lucerne hotel enjoy the best of both indoors and out, with comfortable accommodation overlooking the banks of Lake Lucerne. At the Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne, choose from 189 comfortable rooms and suites with thoughtful amenities, including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. All rooms feature stunning views of either the lake below or the soaring Alps in the distance. Dine on exceptional cuisine at the on-site LUCE Restaurant, and be sure to pay a visit to the LUCE Wine Lounge to sample the expansive list of delicious wines. This Lucerne accommodation also offers a fitness centre and sauna as well as flexible meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne Hotel Lucerne
Radisson Lucerne
Lucerne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing