We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay near the town center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed May 9, 2008

Great location, within short walking distance of all the important sights. Hotel room was impeccably clean, loved the transparent wall between the bathroom & bedroom. Decor was sort of Danish modern with all the latest high tech stuff. Figuring out how the lighting and heating systems worked took a little time (must leave your room key in the control box at the door). Some direction & explanation at check-in time would have helped. Breakfast buffet was excellent. Wide variety and good quality. You'll need to like modern to really appreciate this hotel. I would recommend it to anyone coming here for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bill12410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

826 - 832 of 1,180 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2008

Excellent lake side hotel close to the railway station and a mere 10 minutes walking from downtown Lucern.
It is a design hotel with bright rooms, mainly due to the floor to ceiling windows. Mine was spacious and pleasant. Bathroom was also good in size and amenities. Whenever I took a shower, the complete room got wet, since there is only a glass which is not enough long to protect the bathtub from the rest of bathroom.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant called “Luce”. Décor is also minimal but pleasant. There is a varied number of items where to choose from and quality of what I tasted was good. The only disappointment was the price of breakfast, which was not included in the price of the room. I found the 27,50 CHF for each breakfast far too expensive.
Front desk staff was young and competent.
Judging from the number of men in suits I saw during breakfast, I jumped to the conclusion that due to its central location this hotel caters for business men.
There are other venues I did not even see during my stay of two days, such as the SPA and swimming pool.
I would certainly return to this hotel and probably select the same type of room (lake view).

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank José S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights on my honeymoon trip..its just on backside of the train station ....we had to walk 3 mins only ......its very easy to find the hotel ......its in a quite place away from main part of the town .near some office bulding ...i guess its mostly a business hotel.but when we entered the hotel its was refreshingly new and mordern ....the staff were very warm and kind .

the room was very modern...spacious and bathroom had no bath tub ....but it was fresh and neat ......room had lcd tv and we were in city veiw room .....but ...u can get a lake view room as well .....

the breakfast was a feast .restaurant staff were kind too .....

so overall the its good hotel to stay and enjoy ........

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shivapaavai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2008

I've just read the other reviews on this place and, with a few exceptions, wonder if we all stayed at the same place.
Perhaps it's an age thing, and the modern IKEA like furniture appeals to younger people, but I have never before hated a hotel with such passion.

If you like being hermetically sealed in a glass box overlooking the local trading estate, this is the place for you. Our first room was so close to the neighbouring office, we could have leaned out of the window and used their computer for this review. Our second room 'overlooked the mountain'. It also overlooked a derelict site, a car park, and the meeting place for the local youth to indulge in car racing. They wouldn't, or couldn't, upgrade us; none of our party really understood the explanation.

The bathroom was so achingly cool that the door didn't shut, and don't go there with a new boyfriend/girlfriend, as the bathroom walls are shaded glass and leave little to the imagination. The room contained two chairs, both doubtlessly cutting-edge fashion-wise, but plastic and horribly uncomfortable. The aircon didn't keep up in February; God help you in the summer. The windows didn't open on the side of the building we ended up in. The food was superglued to the plates on the first evening, and the pasta was bizarrely crunchy. The next evening they offered us a free glass of wine to compensate, but stipulated it had to be white. The table and bedside lamps are also doubtlessly hugely fashionable, but don't touch them as they get dangerously hot. I still have the scar.

It was truly vile.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank SirMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2008

The hotel is a short walk from the station. Modern rooms and very helpful staff. Would recommend this to anybody going to Lucerne.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank biggshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

The hotel is ideal for the business traveller who does not have the time or inclination to take in views of the mountains and lake which form the backdrop to Lucerne. We were allocated room 414 which has a view of the adjacent office building located about 7metres from the window, little else, including the sky, could be seen from the window. Room 414 was overlooked directly by at least 4 floors of the adjacent office building.

Most rooms appear to have similarly uninspiring views; the pedestrian bridge serving the railway station and the road in front of the hotel. Only one elevation, which is the narrowest, has views over the lake.

The room is modern and well equipped but, unfortunately, does not function very well; the bathroom is screened from the bed area by a frosted glazed wall with a sliding door. There is little or no visual or acoustical privacy between the bathroom and the bedroom - clearly, not a place to take a new paramour.

The hotel is located in a commercial area behind the main line station, approximately 10 minutes walk from the centre and the majority of restaurants and other hotels.

Breakfasts are satisfactory with plenty of choice.

Service is reasonable although, at times, a little slow.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank anotherUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a driving tour. Arriving tired from a long drive the underground car park and ability to bring bags straight to the room was most welcome. Efficient welcome and we were speedily on our way. Had booked a lake view room and enjoyed the view, see photos. Don’t be fooled by the boat. This is where they dock overnight not where they sail from. No problem though that’s only 5 minutes away, rail station next door and bus station next to that. Cross the river there and you are in the old town with associated sights and shops.

Fine modern room with big bathroom with a large tub. Some might feel less privacy with sliding bathroom door and frosted glass. OK by me though. Free wifi in room a bonus, not as common as some reviewers on this site seem to suggest.

Our room included breakfast which was fine. Also had dinner there one night due to weather. Food ok, service polite but pretty slow. Might have been due to relief as large noisy tour group were finishing as we arrived. Might have been a let down from that.

We would stay again if in Lucerne, we really enjoyed our visit and the spectacularly scenic area. Not especially impressed by the meals we had in town or the restaurants to chose from.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne

Address: Lakefront Center Inseliquai 12, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#11 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $148 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests at this Lucerne hotel enjoy the best of both indoors and out, with comfortable accommodation overlooking the banks of Lake Lucerne. At the Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne, choose from 189 comfortable rooms and suites with thoughtful amenities, including Free high-speed, wireless Internet. All rooms feature stunning views of either the lake below or the soaring Alps in the distance. Dine on exceptional cuisine at the on-site LUCE Restaurant, and be sure to pay a visit to the LUCE Wine Lounge to sample the expansive list of delicious wines. This Lucerne accommodation also offers a fitness centre and sauna as well as flexible meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rezidor, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne Hotel Lucerne
Radisson Lucerne
Lucerne Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing