We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jailhotel Loewengraben
Nearby Hotels
CASCADA Hotel(Lucerne)
$223
$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$182
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$266
$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$253
$223
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$238
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$491
$393
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$472
$250
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$341
$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$611
$411
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$359
$167
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveler rating
16
64
109
97
160
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
64
109
97
160
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 446 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Jailhotel certainly lives up to its name with respect to the accommodations! We were a group of 4 and opted for a quadruple sharing. We got a 2 bunk beds and an attached bath with basic amenities (Towels, and some toiletries, No hair dryer), leaving barely enough standing space for 4 of us and our luggage at the same time. Pros - was one of the most economical options available when we traveled (Rs. 3327 per person per night in August'13), had a great shower (no locks on the door of the washroom though!) and reasonably clean towels, great location - was walking distance from train station and decent breakfast (rates were breakfast inclusive). Cons - very tiny room, limited ventilation (no AC or fan, just a small hole at the top of the room, so gets stuffy for 4 people) and no elevator.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luxha10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This place was disgusting and the staff had no idea what they were doing. A few people we were traveling with also noticed bed bugs in their rooms. When the staff were notified some people were sat on a couch for hours while the staff played on their phones
We were excited to stay here but left very disappointed. We then had to spend the next day day of our holiday washing our clothes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stinky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

stayed at this hostel from 07-09 Sep'2013. great location, walking distance to everything you may need in lucerne. for amenities in room, its less than average. wi-fi operates only in lobby so its always crowded. if u r vegetarian, then breakfast has only bread and jam for you plus juice & tea/coffee. no elevator so walk three floors with all your baggage if u get a room there. price of euro 100 for a night was a rip off but reception staff was nice and helpful. in a way one thing compensates for others.

Room Tip: book in advance and block on lower floor if u dont want to walk up to second & third with your baggage
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sudhabsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The room I stayed in was beyond small. When I walked in, there were 2 cots set up and absolutely nothing else in the room. The bed was as comfortable as possible, but when you sat down on it, you could feel the wood under the mattress. The sheets weren't as clean as I would like. The window did not have a screen on it, so when I was hot and needed some fresh air, bugs and moths were flying in. The wifi only works in the lobby, and there is no elevator, so DO NOT stay here if you would like wifi in your room or if you are unable to carry your suitcases up several flights of stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

After staying here and reading some of the less favorable reviews I'd suggest that you stay here if you want a budget hotel. Don't book a stay in a ex prison and then be surprised by small rooms and loud backpackers! For Lucerne this hotel is a budget hotel with a nightclub next door. That's said for our one night passing through this was perfect. The kids loved the idea of 'sleeping in jail'. Yes it was loud at times - we expected that. The room - as expected was basic - clean with a small bathroom. Breakfast was in a common room and was fine. Check in was a painfully slow process due to there being a line of people and one staff member doing his best to check everyone in. The location was great with a lot of restaurants within a few minutes walk and you are 2 mins away from the river and bout 10 mins walk from the Lion of Lucerne carving. Remember don't expect space and luxury in a budget prison and you'll enjoy the experience. It was a pretty cool experience walking past all of the cells. Parking wasn't the easist. By a permit from the hotel and then go and find parking somewhere in the area. Like any city success will depend on what time of day you are parking!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RunnerAkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews