We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveler rating
98
161
41
10
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
161
41
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglish pubchapel bridgethe rivergreat locationtrain stationgrab a bitelaundry roomfarmers marketold townhotel entrancerooms are very basicfirst flooracross the bridgethe ground floorbalcony viewsingle roomwashing machine
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 322 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2017

We picked this hotel for one night in Luzern because of it's proximity to the train station and the fact that it overlooked the Chapel Bridge. It delivered on both counts! The staff was pleasant and helpful, even if the entrance through the pub was a bit disorienting first thing in the morning! There is a more private back entrance for the hotel guests once you have checked in.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmingdelusion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear charmingdelusion
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor! We are glad that you enjoyed the splendid view to the famous Chapel and Bridge and at the same time could benefit from the proximity tot he station. We do indeed strive hard to provide an unforgettable experience to our guests and would be pleased to get the chance to host you again when your travels bring you back to Lucerne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017

The hotel is conveniently close to everything- the train station, shops, restaurants, banks, etc. The location couldn't be better. My room was small, but well designed with lots of space to store items. It really didn't feel cramped. There was a little table and 2 chairs and a place to hang clothing. Bathroom was clean and no problem with hot water or water pressure. And, of course, the view is amazing. I was prepared for a little noise from the pub downstairs, but it wasn't bad, and didn't keep me up at all. There is a kettle, so you can make coffee or tea.

This is a great place to stay and it won't break your budget.

If you are looking for inexpensive take-away, try the Migros Daily at the train station- near the tourist information office - great baked goods, salads, sandwiches and drinks. There's also a Starbucks near the hotel and many restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Dear Anabanana
Many thanks for your informative 5***** review on TripAdvisor! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. The wellbeing of our guests is indeed our utmost priority and it’s always nice to receive praise. If you have the chance to visit beautiful Lucerne again, we would be pleased to host you anew - and maybe you would like to try our homemade fish ‘n‘ chips or a sweet potato & chickpea curry in our in-house Mr. Pickwick Pub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located right next to the river and very close to the wooden Chapel Bridge. The room we got is facing towards the river so it's such a beautiful moment in the morning to see Lucerne during sunrising time. Room has no AC unit like a lot of hotels in Europe but when we were there, it was not that hot. Staff who checked us in was very nice and friendly.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank N0ngM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Dear N0ngM
Thank you very much for your great review. It was a pleasure for us to host you and we are glad that you enjoyed the splendid view to the famous Chapel Bridge and Mount Pilatus. We do indeed strive hard to provide an unforgettable experience to our guests. Since the big renovation a few years ago, each of our rooms face the river Reuss and Lake Lucerne, so every guest can benefit from a room with a view. We hope to get the chance to welcome you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017

We arrived here after a long flight from Dallas in the USA and a train ride from Paris. We were very tired. The staff was so helpful and kind and they spoke English. But many people do in Lucerne. The rooms are above the pub and sidewalk tables so it is a bit noisy but the view is worth it! The two nights we stayed here we were awaken at dawn to a farmers market setting up on the sidewalk below our room window. The temp was very hot while we were in Lucerne and they had a fan in our room without asking. Most hotels have no AC because they usually do not need it. Also they kept our luggage while we went venturing about. They had a pot in the room so we could enjoy tea or coffee and we paired it with croissants from the farmers market.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017


Dear Deana M
A big thank you for your informative review on TripAdvisor – your kind words are very much appreciated! We are delighted that you had a great stay at our hotel since the wellbeing of our guests is our utmost priority. If you have the chance to visit beautiful Lucerne again, we would be pleased to welcome you back to the Hotel Pickwick!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017

I booked 3 adults room (we were 3 adults and one child), however lady at the reception misunderstood something in booking which was clearly written as 3 adults and initially provided us only double bed.
After lots of argument, she agreed to provide one more bed at additional cost of 20 CHF which was not right but I accepted to stop wasting my time with her.
The booking was directly made on hotel website and had very clear information about travelers.
I would not say she wanted to cheat since by talking to her, I felt it was real misunderstanding and she reduced additional cost as much as she can.
Free Wifi was available in room.
On last day I had to leave luggage at Hotel and they took care of it till I returned to collect luggage in the evening.
Overall, staff was very nice and helped us as much as they can.
Lucerne train station at at 400 m of distance.
This hotel is located at the bank of lucerne lake and had nice views of lucerne and mountains.
Restaurants, bar and supermarkets are at walking distance.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank jatinpatel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Dear jatinpatel77
Many thanks for your detailed and informative review on TripAdvisor – your comments are very much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you spent a good time with us and enjoyed beautiful Lucerne!
Our team really strives hard to provide an unforgettable stay to all our guests; we apologize and thank you for understanding that there was a misunderstanding concerning your reservation - we recently introduced a completely new booking system and our staff is challenged to keep up with all those issues. In any case, we would be pleased to welcome you back to the Hotel Pickwick sometime in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews