We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view and great location !”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful view and great location !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room is very good and the view is awesome. It´s near the train station and easy to find. Lucerne is a beautiful and expensive town. Unfortunately there´s no air conditioning in the room like most of the hotels in Switzerland and it´s very noisy at night so it´s not a quiet place to stay. There´s a pub downstairs and it´s opened till midnight. Besides,this, it´s simple ,comfortable, clean and the shower is excellent. There´s a Starbucks coffee very near the hotel and a very good italian restaurant on the street behind the hotel. Location with lots of turists and view are fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    138
    35
    10
    11
See reviews for
56
106
30
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

First - the pros:
- LOCATION! It's smack in the middle of Lucerne old town. The chapel bridge is directly in front of the room outside your windows. It's only a quick 5 minute walk to the train station (on the map, it looked far as you have to cross the river, but it's actually really close).
- Friendly and efficient service.

Cons:
- The room is extremely hot (no A/C), but because there is a bar directly beneath you outside, it's very noisy and difficult to keep the windows open. I also read about this issue from other reviewers, but didn't think it would be an issue for me so I went ahead and booked anyway. BIG MISTAKE.
- There are a lot of small insects in the room -- kind of gross. I'm not sure if that's the hotel's issue or they were flying in from outside, but it's a big issue.

As a result of these issues, I couldn't sleep the entire night, which is one of the key functions of a hotel room. I know Lucerne is an expensive town, but for USD200/night, this is pretty unacceptable. Also, although the tripadvisor pics make it look like there are wood floors, I can confirm that the floors are made of red linoleum.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TenchiNini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed 1 night at this hotel and found it very good .
Room was great and clean and the view of the Chapel Bridge was awesome, there were many places to have breakfast as the hotel didn't provide this .
Staff were very good as we wanted to leave our bags there for a few hours after checkout and we were able to do this .

Room Tip: room overlooking chapel bridge great view . found room rather hot as august was really hot . We co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place offers a good view of Lucerne and its surroundings. The hotel is a nice experience as it is a pub directly downstairs. During our stay, we could order a meal and have it in our rooms! It was an interesting experience for us :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n_rider83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The best thing about the hotel room I had in this hotel was the view of chapel bridge. The location is also quite central. Other than that I have many complaints: the television did not work, the room was not sound-proof. I will never consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabihah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The rooms were simply furnished but clean. Location was excellent, very near to the train station.
The view from the room was awesome. Overall a very good stay.

The breakfast was not included in the room rate however there are numerous places nearby to grab a bite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nsoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel which is an old English Pub in Switzerland and was surprisingly good. The Hotel is located right in the middle of the action on the boardwalk and the pub downstairs is a very popular meeting place. The rooms are not over large but adequate and the staff are fantastic. The self serve laundry was a welcome bonus. The adjacent brige and shops were fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz
0.1 mi away
Altstadt Hotel Magic Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mr. Pickwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Property: Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Address: Rathausquai 6, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Pickwick is a popular tourist hotel and "Swiss lodge" approx. 600 Yards from the railway station. Located directly on the banks of the river Reuss, in the heart of the historical old town of Lucerne, the hotel commands a superd view of the world famous wooden "Kapell bridge". Very well maintained simple rooms with en-suite shower and WC, flat-screen TV, room-safe, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, and free WIFI. Most rooms have a small balcony overlooking the river. Every room is a "room with a view"!Breakfast is not included but we recommend a nearby restaurant (only a few steps away) that offers a great breakfast buffet.Parking: due to our location in the historical old town we recommend that you use the parking garage at the train stations (600 yards away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mr. Pickwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mr Pickwick
Mr Pickwick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing