We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay”
Review of Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
noida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

amazing place to stay , we had the lake facing room with a balcony . but it was too noisy as there is a line of pubs on the lane which is very narrow . it was hot , why don't people have fans in the hotel rooms .
it was close to the station and the room was good we really liked it , the pub on the ground floor was also great .it was a lovely experience

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suneel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    139
    36
    10
    11
See reviews for
56
109
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a blast here! The location is absolutely perfect, looking right over the beautiful bridge on the lake! It is in a very exciting part of town, not quiet, but so fun! The rooms are tiny, like a train car, but they are brand new and super clean. The small room met every single need, including a coffee maker, soap and shampoo. We LOVED our stay here.

Room Tip: choose a room with a window out to the lake for a fun atmosphere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
191 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a room on the top floor, looking out over the river, bridge and lake. The room had a small balcony. It was just as requested. The location by the train station, and right in the city, can't be beat. The room was large and clean, lots of plugs, good WiFi. You check in at the pub which was fast snd efficient, and the ladies who clean and work the pub are friendly. $170CHF per night. Everything in Switzerland is expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaVidaBuono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Lucerne is definitely one of the cleanness cities in Europe. It's about 15-20 mins walk from the Rail Station, just opposite across the main bridge. The hotel is just above the English pub- Mr. Pickwick. They serve pretty good beers and the food was excellent! The main access was actually in a street behind the pub, but for check in purpose, it has to be done at the pub. Don't be surprised if the waitress showed you to your room. There is an elevator so not to worry for those with heavy luggages. And the first thing I loved is the fact that we could easily get fresh beers downstairs, and it was simply handy ! They've got a laundry room at one of the levels, and be sure to get some coins at the pub before you proceed to the washing machines. As you would need at least 5-6 coins for a complete wash. The room was clean and the bed was equally comfortable. But the walls were a bit too thin, we had a night with noisy neighbours next door, and we had to call for security to calm them down. We had a room with a nice view of the lake. There are lots of shops around if one is hungry for shopping, watches, clothes, food, groceries, and etc. The lake itself is just beautiful, crystal clear and lots of ducks and swans, and they are pretty clean too :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valais, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

LOCATION: Hotel Pickwick is located on the banks of River Reuss, at Rathausquai 6, in the heart of Luzern's picturesque Old Town. There is a Saturday market selling local produce along the riverfront, right in front of the Hotel.

Luzern train station is a quick 5 minutes' stroll away. When you exit the station, just follow the bridge to the other side (Schweizerhofquai) and turn left into Rathhausquai.

Hotel Pickwick is a budget hotel with a British Pub; easily recognizable by its Union Jack. The Pub entrance is along the riverfront while the Hotel entrance is in the back alley; however, Check-In is conducted in the Pub. If you arrive early, you may stow your luggage in the Pub from 9am onwards.

ROOM: We stayed in a compact but clean Twin Room simply furnished with the following: 2 single beds; table with 2 chairs; wall-mounted flatscreen TV; adjustable floor lamp with dimmers; coffee-and-tea-making facilities; open-wardrobe with hangers & in-room safe. The French windows open out to a small balcony overlooking River Reuss and the 14th century Kapellbrücke.

BEDS: both were clean and fairly comfortable but the fold-down bed was quite creaky... To conserve energy and water, bed linen was not changed during stay.

BATHROOM: fairly compact but equipped with all necessary amenities: proper lighting; big mirror above wash basin; hairdryer; toilet; and shower stall. Soap dispensers were installed at the sink & in the shower. Ample clean towels and extra toilet rolls were provided. There was consistent flow of hot water and adequate water pressure.

F&B: room rate was exclusive of daily breakfast. This is not a problem as you can easily grab a bite from the many bakeries, cafés and snack kiosks around town.

SERVICE: Room Reservation, Check-In & Out all proceeded smoothly. All the staff we interacted with spoke fluent English and were generally warm and helpful.

We arrived several hours ahead of the official (3pm) Check-In Time but were allowed to place our luggage in the assigned room before Housekeeping carried out their cleaning. However, full payment had to be made upon arrival.

Check-Out is hassle-free, guests just need to vacate their rooms by 11am and drop the room keys into Key-Boxes conveniently located on each floor.

FACILITIES: Hotel has a small lift that saves you from having to trudge up several flights of stairs to your room, much appreciated especially when you are carrying heavy bags. On the 3rd floor is a Laundry Room with washers and dryer for guest use. Free WiFi is available throughout the property and near the rear entrance is a computer terminal with free internet access.

In SUMMARY: Luzern has a wide range of accommodation options to suit every budget. Hotel Pickwick is an excellent choice in this expensive city as it offers fairly comprehensive amenities and clean, comfortable rooms at affordable rates.

Room Tip: All rooms have ensuite facilities and river view. You can save quite a bit by choosing Twin Room (2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeChat_EnVacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our stay at Mr. Pickwick was great for our one night in the beautiful Lucerne. The entrance through the pub was a little odd, however it added character and ambience to the location.

The rooms were a standard size, along with the bathroom. Our little balcony was gorgeous, looking right over Lake Lucerne and the main esplanade. The hallways and rooms were very plain, however we were not after anything spectacular. The location is fantastic!!! right on the main street of Lucerne and only a street away from the main circle.

The wifi required a code which didnt work, and the staff assisted to help us get it which was nice. It was good wifi when it worked, however it often dropped out, and at times took up to half an hour to reconnect, which was rather ordinary.

Overall, the hotel was good, and you couldnt beat the location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola3491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Lucerne is so beautiful and Hotel Mr. Pickwick had an amazing location, looking right over the chapel bridge, literally in the middle of the main part of Lucerne. The staff were very helpful and service was great. The hallways and stairs were a little bit shabby but the room was nice and clean and the beds and pillows were comfy. We had an amazing view from our balcony over Lucerne. The wifi was really poor signal but the staff did do everything they could to get it working for us. Would definitely recommend this hotel for value accommodation.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadonc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
930 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#14 of 68 in Lucerne
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#44 of 68 in Lucerne
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mr. Pickwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Property: Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Address: Rathausquai 6, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Pickwick is a popular tourist hotel and "Swiss lodge" approx. 600 Yards from the railway station. Located directly on the banks of the river Reuss, in the heart of the historical old town of Lucerne, the hotel commands a superd view of the world famous wooden "Kapell bridge". Very well maintained simple rooms with en-suite shower and WC, flat-screen TV, room-safe, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, and free WIFI. Most rooms have a small balcony overlooking the river. Every room is a "room with a view"!Breakfast is not included but we recommend a nearby restaurant (only a few steps away) that offers a great breakfast buffet.Parking: due to our location in the historical old town we recommend that you use the parking garage at the train stations (600 yards away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mr. Pickwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mr Pickwick
Mr Pickwick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing