We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our stay at Mr. Pickwick was great for our one night in the beautiful Lucerne. The entrance through the pub was a little odd, however it added character and ambience to the location.

The rooms were a standard size, along with the bathroom. Our little balcony was gorgeous, looking right over Lake Lucerne and the main esplanade. The hallways and rooms were very plain, however we were not after anything spectacular. The location is fantastic!!! right on the main street of Lucerne and only a street away from the main circle.

The wifi required a code which didnt work, and the staff assisted to help us get it which was nice. It was good wifi when it worked, however it often dropped out, and at times took up to half an hour to reconnect, which was rather ordinary.

Overall, the hotel was good, and you couldnt beat the location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola3491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    139
    36
    10
    11
See reviews for
56
109
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Lucerne is so beautiful and Hotel Mr. Pickwick had an amazing location, looking right over the chapel bridge, literally in the middle of the main part of Lucerne. The staff were very helpful and service was great. The hallways and stairs were a little bit shabby but the room was nice and clean and the beds and pillows were comfy. We had an amazing view from our balcony over Lucerne. The wifi was really poor signal but the staff did do everything they could to get it working for us. Would definitely recommend this hotel for value accommodation.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadonc87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Pickwick for two nights in June. The staff was very, very helpful with anything we needed and any questions we had. Even though the reception is run through the bar on the first floor, if we needed anything the bartenders would go and grab someone who worked at the hotel to help us right away! The rooms were clean and nice (small but not an issue at all). The walls were a little thin allowing us to hear neighbors coming in and out and since it is above a bar you do get a bit of late night noise but nothing horrible (I am a deep sleeper though). In my opinion the incredible view and location of the hotel makes the little bit of noise worth it. Maybe bring ear plugs if you're concerned. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again! But be a little cautious if the noise concerns you - especially for stays over a weekend which would probably be noisier than the Monday and Tuesday nights we were there.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor to avoid being right above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarb3ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This hotel could not be in a better location for exploring the Lucerne area. It is on the river walk right in the old town and is just a few minutes from the train station and boat docks. The view is gorgeous! The management is helpful and rooms are small but clean. The only downside is noise from the cafe and bar downstairs if you are a sensitive sleeper. Bring earplugs/eyeshades and you should have a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel met the customer needs of physiological, safety,and social but not much of esteem and actualisation needs. The room fittings and furnishing met the basics and hygiene needs. Doors are safely locked and opened through a metal gadget. Safety instructions for fire escape are clearly drawn but there seems too many doors and colours and arrows all over walls, stairs and doors. Full Payment was insisted on checking in. This somehow go against hotel industry norms and seemingly a mistrust and sabotages the esteem needs of customers.

Checking in was done at the pub counter as there was no front office. Being a pub hotel, it seems seedy atmosphere to have a hidden door leading to a tiny lift and staircase up the rooms. Fortunately, we discovered upon checking in, there is a back door leading to streets and we skipped the pub entrance for the entire stay.

We enjoyed the view of the Chapel Bridge and watched the streets below and sunset at 9pm. I toast beer to the Water Tower as I sat by a long desk near the windows. We like the 2 litre flask for boiling water. The bathroom is well fitted with very clean, new and good wares.

The Hotel is within 10mins of walking from Lucerne Train Station. Mr Pickwick has a lively pub which supports England and it fly a big UK flag making it stand out from the row of similar ancient buildings.

Room Tip: rooms of 2 beds, 3 or 4 beds are of same size as 3rd and 4th bed are collapsible into high sideboard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glacierEx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Whilst this hotel is in a gorgeous location and close to most things in Lucerne the noise at night is the thing that lets it down.
The rooms are a decent size but the beds are so soft you sink down to the bottom of the bed and the pillows are lumpy :( the rooms are also stifling hot but if you have the windows open the constant noise (till 1am on a Tuesday night) and the cigarette smoke will definitely keep your mind off the uncomfortable ness of the beds. I probably wouldn't stay here again. Also once you factor in the cost of parking not good value at all and no breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shardy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had the opportunity to visit the great city of Lucerne and stay at Hotel Mr. Pickwick for 3 nights. Overall, if you're looking for that authentic "Swiss" experience - you should look somewhere else. But if you're looking for something (very) clean, well located and well priced, then look no further than Hotel Mr. Pickwick.

The hotel itself, as you've probably learned from scanning the other reviews, is located right above a popular pub/bar in a very tourist busy area of Lucerne. As my room was facing the lake/crowds below, I thought the location would be noisy but surprisingly (and despite being a weekend), it was pretty quiet after midnight till around 7-8am so the noise wasn't a huge issue for me.

The hotel itself is located in a very convenient location - right in the middle of all the tourist-friendly action, and literally steps from the main train station (you can see it right as you exit the station... it's super close by!). Old Town is also just steps away from the hotel, so you're definitely in a good location. I arrived around 10am, but unfortunately I was not able to check in until around 11-11:30, so you'll probably have to wait around for a little while (as the pub didn't open till that time). As I checked in during the morning, there wasn't much of a crowd so the whole check in procedure was pretty simple and not rushed...although the later it is, the more I imagine you'll have to wait to check in (since it's the same staff working in the pub who check you in)

As you can see from my pics, the room itself (a solo in my case) was very well maintained and exceptionally clean - I was very impressed. The room itself is pretty basic with a bed, small table, TV, etc. so don't expect too many extras. But for those who just want somewhere to sleep at night, this room more than does its job. The bed was comfortable and had no problems getting a decent sleep, and I didn't really hear much through the walls from other guests on the floor. And the view from the room was really nice as well! The hotel itself also has a laundry room for those traveling for extended periods of time. The other staff in the hotel were very nice, friendly and approachable, and did a great job in cleaning your room in a timely manner. No complaints at all.

The only small issue I had was with the internet - it was pretty off and on for the times I was using it, but overall it was something I could live with. Also nearby are some big grocery stores (under the train station), along with a ton of places to eat and all that good stuff (including McDonalds/Starbucks etc.) so you won't be at a loss for places to grab a bite to eat. I guess I probably don't need to mention that Switzerland is expensive, so don't be expecting any bargains even at the pub downstairs (20CHF ++)

Overall, as long as you're just looking for a well located place to catch the sights in and around Lucerne while not beating up your wallet, Hotel Mr. Pickwick is a fantastic choice for all travellers.

Room Tip: May want to choose a room on the "quiet" side of the hotel if excess noise at night bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vik_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
930 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#14 of 68 in Lucerne
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#44 of 68 in Lucerne
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,021 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mr. Pickwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mr. Pickwick

Property: Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Address: Rathausquai 6, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Lucerne
#17 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Pickwick is a popular tourist hotel and "Swiss lodge" approx. 600 Yards from the railway station. Located directly on the banks of the river Reuss, in the heart of the historical old town of Lucerne, the hotel commands a superd view of the world famous wooden "Kapell bridge". Very well maintained simple rooms with en-suite shower and WC, flat-screen TV, room-safe, tea & coffee making facilities, hairdryer, and free WIFI. Most rooms have a small balcony overlooking the river. Every room is a "room with a view"!Breakfast is not included but we recommend a nearby restaurant (only a few steps away) that offers a great breakfast buffet.Parking: due to our location in the historical old town we recommend that you use the parking garage at the train stations (600 yards away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mr. Pickwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mr Pickwick
Mr Pickwick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing