We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mr. Pickwick
Nearby Hotels
CASCADA Hotel(Lucerne)
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$216
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$238
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$252
$222
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$383
$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$489
$391
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$342
$239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$608
$404
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$358
$190
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$265
$257
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
94
153
41
10
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
153
41
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglish pubchapel bridgethe rivergreat locationtrain stationgrab a bitelaundry roomold townhotel entrancerooms are very basicfirst flooracross the bridgewashing machinethe ground floorsingle roombalcony viewroom key
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 310 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was reasonably priced and centrally located.
However, travelers should note that the ground floor has a pub, which means that you can hear the patrons and loud music well into the night. Our tiny bedroom was on the first floor: I would strongly discourage anyone from accepting one of the rooms on that floor. The floors and windows were not adequately sound-proofed and we were bothered by the loud noise from the pub and the clients hanging out on the quay until the early hours of the morning.
Also, the hotel has no parking nor does it offer breakfast. If you add these costs, then the room price is actually not all that reasonable. It was also a pain to have to move the car from a public parking, to the street parking after 6 pm for which the hotel provides a special price, and then back again to public parking the next morning. We weren't too impressed by the staff either: a little curt and unhelpful.
Overall, even though the room was clean and the bedding fine, I would not recommend staying in here. Lucerne is a lovely place but do stay somewhere else, there are tons of nice hotels for a better deal.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor rooms!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gys_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The good thing about this hotel is the location. Nearby from the train station, accross the river. And for the view, it is perfect as you can see the kapellbrucke right from your window or sit at the balcony of your room.
The strange thing is the check in process. The check in counter is at the pub downstair. And when the pub is full of customers, it will take a while to get the attention from the staff for check in hotel in a very hectic noisy pub. Good thing, this hotel also has another entrance from the back of the hotel for the hotel guest, so we dont have to go through the pub each time we go in or out. And the check out process is as simple as dropping the keyroom in a box.
The security of the hotel is good enough. Only guest who have keyroom that can get in to the hotel from the back door, and open another door with the same key to each floor. But I didnt see any elevator. My room was at 2nd floor. Luckily I didnt bring luggage. It will be a problem to carry big luggage using the stairs.
The single room and bathroom was standard. There were a kettle and 2 mugs in the room. Didnt hear any noise from the pub below. Good bed and pillow, can slept well all night.
A little bit pricey for a room with no breakfast.

Room Tip: Check the heater. It didnt turn on when I came to the room in winter season.
Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank h35ti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel has an incredible location, and you can see the Kapellbrücke right outside your window. I'm afraid the pros of this hotel end there. The staff was somewhat fussy, and made it quite awkward for us to check into the hotel. It was also very expensive, and I would have liked a bit more for the price we paid. The main lady at the reception must have been overworked (she was very curt) and wasn't really helpful.
It's also a definitely expensive stay, with 140 SFR or so per night. I'd say skip it, and stay in a hostel elsewhere. This isn't worth your time.
Travelled October 2011

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank GK269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were at the hotel Mr.Pickwick for 2 nights in late Feb/early march and we were very happy to have made this choice over some of the other less expensive hotels. Even though the room size is not proportionate to the amount you shell out.. it makes up for it through excellent cleanliness and cozy rooms! We stayed only for a couple of nights and it was perfect. The location is amazing .. just 5 mins from the station (you can infact see the hotel once you are out of the station) and the views from the room are awesome (the old chapel). Just ensure you get a room facing the chapel.. but if i am not wrong i remember the staff telling me all the rooms are now facing the water body. The pub downstairs is happening and ideal for a drink.. especially on big matchdays (football). The staff were courteous and the checkin and checkout were hassel free (as you pay upfront and just drop in the keys when you leave). There are lovely places to walk around.. and almost the entire heart of lucerne can be explored from here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the chapel bridge
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnupG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights. I loved the view of the room. Especially the sunrise view from the room is splendid. Easy to find and near the train station. We stayed at 3rd level, able to use the wifi without any problem throughout the 2 nights. And also convenient to settle the dinner if do not want to walk to far. We settled our first night dinner at the Pub. Nice view and ambience along the riverside. Room is clean and cozy. The bed is really very comfortable. Really have a great stay. The staffs are friendly. I will stay again if I visit Luzern again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews