We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like rude people and ants its the place for you.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Royal Lucerne
Ranked #41 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
1 review
“If you like rude people and ants its the place for you.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Where to start, every member of the staff is incredibly rude and condescending. You pay $8 on wifi and only use on one device which was not stated verbally or written anywhere so I logged on from my phone first then couldn't use my computer. I went down to see if I could use my computer instead and they said this isn't America. The rooms are old so old my allergies where acting up from mold and dust. We woke to find ants crawling all over the tables and in are luggage. They preceded to vacuum the room and spray pesticides which we had to sleep in bc they refused to give us another room and we had to change our own sheets!!! At breakfast they completely ignored us so we couldn't get coffee or clean plates had to steal from another table. Worst experience ever.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe132478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    40
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
41
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is an old hotel with poor lighting and outdated rooms- so don't expect the modern look or feel you find in many modern hotels. No electronic keys, no modern plumbing fixtures, clean but old furniture. However, the views of Lake Lucerne that this hotel offers makes up for many of it's shortcomings. Spectacular scenery and just a five minute walk from the beautiful town of Lucerne.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brw115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This bed and breakfast has few facilities. The bar service starts at 17 00 hours and no restaurant for evening meals. Continental breakfast is average but the same every day. Furnishings in bedrooms are plain and utilitarian, there are no baths in Lake View rooms although the views are spectacular. Beds are comfortable and rooms are very clean.

A very basic hotel which is situated a good walk up and down an incline to reach the centre of Lucerne. An average experience only.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knighton_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here, the scenery very nice and the service and food at the hotel were to my satisfaction!! This hotel sort of reminded me of the hotel in Fawlty Towers sitcom with the way it looked inside!!! I enjoyed my room and liked the fact they gave you unique keys for your room instead of the typical card most hotels use for locking and operating the electricity for your room! I loved the water it was so refreshing and drank it directly from the tap where as most places you can't drink the water or the water is very unpleasant to taste! I had a lovely view from the patio of my room and took lots of pictures of the lake!! I would have liked to take the boat cruise on the lake but with my tour there weren't enough people interested, that I could not understand as the weather was very good!! I recommend this hotel and with the view you can't go wrong!! The Swiss chocolate is to die for, it is my favourite in the whole world!! I recommend the hot chocolate the best I've had all over!! The hotel is close walk to the shops as well! I recommend seeing the Lion carved from rock just north of this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was the best hotel for our entire trip - I think it is a mom & pop hotel - just great - food was fabulous - views from our room spectacular BUT NO FREE WIFI - shame, shame in this day and age. We were with a Globus Tour and we only stayed there 1 night and then went to Milan- I think we could have skipped Milan (nothing really there) and stayed in Lucern for 2 nights. Just a beautiful area. I think I would have like being closer to town - my legs were killing me from all that walking in London,& Paris - all those steps - no steps in Florida - I thought I ruptured my calves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank delanglois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Aust
Level Contributor
369 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Large room. We were in room 7 on the first floor and still had great views over Lake Lucerne. Balcony off room with table and chairs. Dated bathroom decor, but very clean. Very comfortable bed, great nights sleep. Not a huge range for breakfast, but we were able to get scrambled eggs made for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitchurch, shropshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Excellent position for walking to all areas around lucerne. Such a friendly family, who know all your names after you have checked in. Stunning views and rooms are really clean. A real gem to find. Thank you The Taylor Family

Room Tip: Ask for the double balcony. xxx
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ness t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hofgarten
Hotel Hofgarten
#27 of 68 in Lucerne
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 68 in Lucerne
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#29 of 68 in Lucerne
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,031 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
440 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#40 of 68 in Lucerne
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Lucerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Lucerne

Property: Hotel Royal Lucerne
Address: Rigistrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Lucerne 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Royal Lucerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing