We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views of the lake and mountains.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Royal Lucerne
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Within walking distance of central Lucerne (or a short bus ride, ask at the desk) the Hotel Royal is a delightful establishment which has been owned by the same family for over 100 years. The rooms are clean and comfortable and have an "old world" charm about them, not fancy but quite nice. The staff are fluent in English and very courteous and helpful. The resturant turns out excellent meals and they're all served up by a waitress who has the most beautiful smile and pleasant manner. After dinner sit on the terrace with a drink (also served up by that lovely waitress) and take in the spectacular views of the lake and Mt Pilatus.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 119 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

Close to centre of Lucerne, Breakfast was lovely,our waitress had a beautiful smile and served perfect eggs, such a wonderful building, inside the foyer and lounge were lovely, but rooms a little sparse and underwhelming, but spotlessly clean. Staff spoke perfect english and were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here with a tour group, so we didn't have to worry about getting to and from the hotel (although getting the tour coach up to the hotel, including negotiating hairpin turns, was quite a feat for our driver). Our room and its view were fabulous, dinner with the tour group delightful, and breakfast satisfactory. We received very good service and would like to return sometime on our own.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Lake Lucerne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank COBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in September of 2011. The view is terrific and it is in a quiet area of Lucerne. The pros stop there. The cons are: Too far out of the center of Lucerne. Try walking about 20 minutes in the dark in a strange city. Like climbing a lot of steps? This is the hotel for you. Like walking up a very steep driveway? You'll like the Royal. The rooms are spartan and the TV's small = 13". Don't ask for a remote control because you don't get one. Feel like complaining to management? I would advise against it. They don't like complainers. This is a family owned hotel and if you are dissatisfied, well, tough noogies.
There are many other hotels in Lucerne much nicer and better run than the Royal.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bc6152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Would stay here again and again. The terrace bar provided the perfect place to watch the world go by and enjoy the lake!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorgeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Friendly family run hotel, staff were excellent and nice buffet breakfast.We stayed on bed & breakfast for
our stay which gave us more freedom and no rush to get back for evening meals.
Returning to the hotel in the evenings about 20 mins walk from lucerne centre and feeding the ducks,and swans enroute ,then having a last drink and just watching the ships go by from the hotel terrace was a great way to unwind and get to know the family who gave us tips on places to visit, mind you their weather forcasting was a bit dodgy.
We had a great 7 days here, Our trips to Rigi, Pilatus, and the Stanserhorn were out of this world especially Rigi. Comming back from the Stanserhorn we stopped of at Hergiswil to see the glass factory this is worth a visit you can even have a shot at glass blowing.
Our trip to the transport museum, when it rained one day was very interesting and although we spent some 6 hours there we still did not see it all.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony with views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pocketsmc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

These days so many people visit Lucerne from a base outside the city, but if you can somehow arrange to stay in the town itself, owners Barbara and Yost will extend you a warm, Old European welcome at the Royal. The hotel is situated up a steep hill, just 20 minutes walk or 2 trolleybus stops from the centre. Some rooms have enviable lake views. All have been recently renovated to a high standard, although they could be more generous with the soap. You can keep abreast with world events via a small-screen TV and CNN. No matter if you do not luck out and don't get a room with a view - Your hosts will gladly serve drinks as you sit on the communal balcony enjoying fabulous views over Lake Lucerne and Mount Pilatus. What a great place to relax with friends, or just sit and write postcards! Breakfast includes the usual slices of meat, cheese, muesli, prunes and cold boiled eggs. It is a pity they do not provide a hot dish of, say scrambled eggs and bacon. They really should do. A fixed-menu dinner is available to groups only, so try some of the restaurants in town recommended on this site.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Webbski-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Europe
Grand Hotel Europe
#38 of 67 in Lucerne
522 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#16 of 67 in Lucerne
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 67 in Lucerne
514 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#18 of 67 in Lucerne
594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#34 of 67 in Lucerne
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Lucerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Lucerne

Address: Rigistrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: $200 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Lucerne 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Royal Lucerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing