We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Royal Lucerne
Ranked #42 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed here with a tour group, so we didn't have to worry about getting to and from the hotel (although getting the tour coach up to the hotel, including negotiating hairpin turns, was quite a feat for our driver). Our room and its view were fabulous, dinner with the tour group delightful, and breakfast satisfactory. We received very good service and would like to return sometime on our own.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Lake Lucerne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COBlueSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    40
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
41
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in September of 2011. The view is terrific and it is in a quiet area of Lucerne. The pros stop there. The cons are: Too far out of the center of Lucerne. Try walking about 20 minutes in the dark in a strange city. Like climbing a lot of steps? This is the hotel for you. Like walking up a very steep driveway? You'll like the Royal. The rooms are spartan and the TV's small = 13". Don't ask for a remote control because you don't get one. Feel like complaining to management? I would advise against it. They don't like complainers. This is a family owned hotel and if you are dissatisfied, well, tough noogies.
There are many other hotels in Lucerne much nicer and better run than the Royal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bc6152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Would stay here again and again. The terrace bar provided the perfect place to watch the world go by and enjoy the lake!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorgeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Friendly family run hotel, staff were excellent and nice buffet breakfast.We stayed on bed & breakfast for
our stay which gave us more freedom and no rush to get back for evening meals.
Returning to the hotel in the evenings about 20 mins walk from lucerne centre and feeding the ducks,and swans enroute ,then having a last drink and just watching the ships go by from the hotel terrace was a great way to unwind and get to know the family who gave us tips on places to visit, mind you their weather forcasting was a bit dodgy.
We had a great 7 days here, Our trips to Rigi, Pilatus, and the Stanserhorn were out of this world especially Rigi. Comming back from the Stanserhorn we stopped of at Hergiswil to see the glass factory this is worth a visit you can even have a shot at glass blowing.
Our trip to the transport museum, when it rained one day was very interesting and although we spent some 6 hours there we still did not see it all.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony with views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pocketsmc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

These days so many people visit Lucerne from a base outside the city, but if you can somehow arrange to stay in the town itself, owners Barbara and Yost will extend you a warm, Old European welcome at the Royal. The hotel is situated up a steep hill, just 20 minutes walk or 2 trolleybus stops from the centre. Some rooms have enviable lake views. All have been recently renovated to a high standard, although they could be more generous with the soap. You can keep abreast with world events via a small-screen TV and CNN. No matter if you do not luck out and don't get a room with a view - Your hosts will gladly serve drinks as you sit on the communal balcony enjoying fabulous views over Lake Lucerne and Mount Pilatus. What a great place to relax with friends, or just sit and write postcards! Breakfast includes the usual slices of meat, cheese, muesli, prunes and cold boiled eggs. It is a pity they do not provide a hot dish of, say scrambled eggs and bacon. They really should do. A fixed-menu dinner is available to groups only, so try some of the restaurants in town recommended on this site.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webbski-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

The hotel was one of a number on a short list in Luzern compiled before we left home. We rang about an hour away and got a booking for which we were pleased as it was getting late. The hotel is at the eastern end of town, high on a hill with magnificent views over the lake and town. It is about a 15 minute walk to the Lion or Church of St. Leodegar.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a good bathroom. Our only reservation was the walls between rooms were not all that sound proof, so with noisy neighbours, it could be an issue. The staff (I think owners) were very obliging and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Have_Bag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Not one of the top hotels in Lucerne but I thought it was quite adequate until the last night when the receptionist ( I think she was the daughter of the owner but I'm not sure ) started to treat hotel guests as if they were complete idiots. I complained about noise in the next room on the last evening to be advised that that couldn't be possible as they were no other guests staying on my floor. However I pushed open the door to the room next door to find it occupied much to the astonishment of the receptionist who said she was unaware of anyone staying in that room. I asked for a room change as other rooms on my floor were vacant to be advised that she couldn't do that. Well I've always got a room changed in other hotels, providing there were alternative rooms available, so no marks for service here, only for rudeness. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itstrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
1,039 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hofgarten
Hotel Hofgarten
#27 of 68 in Lucerne
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 68 in Lucerne
464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rebstock
Hotel Rebstock
#28 of 68 in Lucerne
193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Lucerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Lucerne

Property: Hotel Royal Lucerne
Address: Rigistrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Lucerne 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Royal Lucerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing