We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not too exciting” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt. Rigi

Mt. Rigi
Book In Advance
More Info
$767.57*
and up
Mount Rigi: Full-Day Photography Tour
Ranked #3 of 77 things to do in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mount Rigi's majestic peninsula on Lake Lucerne is the perfect Setting for an authentic Swiss mountain experience with unforgettable views of over 13 lakes and the spectacular snow-capped Swiss Alps. Located in the heart of Switzerland, Mt. Rigi can be quickly and easily reached from Lucerne and Zurich. It is the Swiss people's favourite mountain Destination, can be accessed via Europe's first ever cogwheel Train (est. 1871) and is renowned for ist numerous cogwheel railway and Aerial cable car routes. You can visit Mt. Rigi 365 days a year and there's plenty of outdoor action on offer, including 120km of hiking trails. The numerous lookouts, delightful terraces and the Mineral Baths at Rigi Kaltbad also ensure there are plenty of opportunities for rest and relaxtion on the Queen of the Mountains.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“not too exciting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

we did not go hiking.cogwheel train was good.one of its kind. nothing much to do once you reach up there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rupal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,186
    340
    47
    11
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exiting trainride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

the trainride is expensive if you do not have discount but a visit to the top is surely worth the view

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
337 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Touch and go depending on the weather, but worth the trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The trip alone to the top was fun. We didn't get to see the view because it was cloudy the day we went up, but judging from the pictures we saw, it must really be a spectacular view from the top. The cogwheel train from Vitznau to Rigi Kulm took around an hour and would stay for 15 minutes at the top. Had there been no clouds, we would have stayed for another hour, but since it was cloudy we took the same train back.

Even without the view, this is a very good experience. I will want to come back in summer to savour the view!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank GranDia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meggen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Walk with a View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you are only going to do one walk in the Lucern area, Mt Rigi is it ! With many different trails, you can choose to overlook the lake or the animals feeding in the valley. Rigi offers easy enough trails accessible to wheelchairs or young ones which is a real asset. The numerous alpine restaurants serve "mountain" food: sausage and fries, salads and apfel macaroni, a local specialty. The experience is at its best when, during winter, you leave the overcast temperature of town, cross the clouds and find yourself smiling at a fantastic sunshine. It feels like walking on clouds ! In the summer time, the view of the 3 different lakes is magical.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherinegagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“good but not as great as the biggies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

If you visit Mt Rigi after say Titlis/ Schilthorn/ Jungfraujoch you will be disappointed, but stand alone its a good half day trip (and you dont pay a penny if you have a swiss pass!) where the journey is probably more scenic than the view from the top.WE visited Rigi from Lucerne. there are 2 routes to Rigi one via Arth Goldau & the other via Vitznau.both spanning around 2 hrs each. On the way to Rigi we took the train to Arth Goldau, from where we walked to the Arth Goldau RB train station for the mountain railway (look for directions its all very clear). It was a clear, bright & sunny day & the ride uphill was breathtaking. Once on top we had a decent quick lunch at the cafe just beside the station( there is no station really, just a spot where trains stop). There's also a souvenir shop beside it. We walked up the mountain to enjoy the view then took the train to Vitznau.The ride downhill was as scenic & took us straight within walking distance to the Vitznau boat station for our connecting boat to Lucerne. The boat ride was perhaps the most beatiful part of the journey, passing 3-4 towns in between it took us to our destination Lucerne.I would suggest Mt Rigi if you are looking for a half day trip from Lucerne & have a pass that does not need you to pay for it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Puja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Rigi also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Mt. Rigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing