We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$109
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
$85
No booking fees
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
45
81
63
24
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
45
81
63
24
10
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 223 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2017 via mobile

Charming hotel in the center of old town Lurcene. Best buffet breakfast we have had at hotel

Styling imitates renaissance. Staff are very helpful and knowledgeable regarding the Lurcene area. Only con was the pillows are like mash mellows but the seems to be the standard in Europe.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 1, 2017

We were on the top floor in the Egyptian room and loved it. They obviously choose the decor due to the slanting ceiling. We loved location it was so close to the bridges, shopping, and the view from our windows into the courtyard was spectacular. We were there when it was cooler, and our room was quite warm, we had to have the windows open to cool it down for sleeping. Staff was friendly, the cost was reasonable, plus it included breakfast which was a typical European continental style. All in all, definitely a place I would stay again.

Room tip: Room not facing the courtyard may have less noise from the clock
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 444deborahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 4, 2017

At just a few minutes walk from the main railway station, the Hotel Magic is in a fantastic location with the old town of Luzern on your doorstep.

A majority of the themed rooms overlook the Kornmarkt, a bustling little square that leads directly down some steps towards the river and the town's famous Kapellbrucke bridge.

The Hotel Magic is more a collection of rooms rather than a hotel - as check-in and breakfast is all dealt with at the nearby Hotel Krone (take the little alley shortcut between the two, it's about a minute's walk).

It's a quirky little find with around a dozen rooms and suites leading off a central stairwell. The rooms are themed - best look at their website for full details. Our group had the Swiss Chalet and much coveted Pirate Room... yes, your bed is built into a boat complete with mast and rigging!

One room, the Lion Heart Suite - actually has a little balcony overlooking the square - perfect for an evening if you like people watching.

The fun thing about the Hotel Magic is that all the rooms have some lovely attention to detail for their theme, but more imporatantly are warm, clean and comfortable. They have a large TV (if you really want to stay in your room), good wifi (we found) and a coffee machine with complimentary pods.

There is a mini-bar in the room, but as usual comes with a hotel tariff. You'd be better off stocking up on drinks and snacks in the supermarket at the main railway station.

We specifically booked this hotel as were visiting for the town's annual carnival (thanks again Daniel and Annelie). Many of the bands (very loud) perform just outside and we wanted to be right in the middle of the festival action. Keep this in mind if visiting around this period - if you didn't know and it was your first trip, you'd be in for a shock/surprise.

The location is brilliant for a few days stay in Luzerne (local spelling), breakfast is fullsome with good coffee to start you on your day. The staff are really lovely and helpful. This was our second visit - it won't be the last.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank martinbB2438GU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 26, 2017 via mobile

Located just a 3 mins walk away from the main Lucerne station the hotel is very conveniently located.You cross the Kapellbrucke and the hotel is a mins walk from there.The checkin and breakfast is at the krone hotel just a minute away.The breakfast is a good spread and is included in the room price.Shopping Streets etc are all around the hotel and you can never fall short of them.The rooms are based on different themes,we for one got the pirate theme.The rooms are decent,clean and the wifi is good.A good hotel for your stay in Lucerne.Highly recommended...A lucerne city tax of 3.60 CHF per night per person is additionally payable at checkout!!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank wolfofconcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 4, 2016 via mobile

Man at reception during check in was friendly and helpful - I think his name was Daniel from memory. We were in the lotus room. The room did get a bit warm at night and we couldn't leave the windows open due to the noise and cigarette smoke from the square below. There was a fan for use in the room though.

Unfortunately the wifi did not work for 1.5 days of our 2 night stay. Daniel was kind enough to come to our room to let us know he had reset it. We were told that if resetting it did not work that the technician could not attend until the weekend (by which time we would be gone). We requested a room change to their other hotel instead and were advised it was possible with an extra charge (no problems) but to wait until the next day. We called reception again the next morning to advise it was still not working to which they said they would get it fixed. We ended up walking over to the reception (in another hotel) and letting them know it still wasn't working and requested to change rooms - there was a different gentleman at reception who said they were fully booked.
We did spend quite a bit of time in the lobby at the other hotel where it was still working.

Other than the wifi issues our stay was fine, hotel is in a good location, breakfast wasn't bad and umbrella in the cupboard was a nice touch :)

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank J-Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews