We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive, Moving, Poignant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dying Lion of Lucerne Monument

Dying Lion of Lucerne Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$279.90*
and up
Lucerne Morning City Walk with a Local Guide
Ranked #7 of 77 things to do in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Impressive, Moving, Poignant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

A picture cannot capture the reverence of this monument. You round a corner and there it is and it stops you in your tracks with its poignance and size. It is larger than I imagined. There is a bench to sit on to admire and pay respects. The sculpture is a moving tribute and a must see in this city.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martyk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,889 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,534
    964
    346
    34
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Landstuhl, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go if you can - See This!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I've traveled with my family through Europe quite a bit for the past 3 years. I've seen lots of art and museums and have come across many, many sculptures. It is worth a visit to Lucerne - just to see this sculpture. So what if there are busloads of tourists everywhere. Just like it is worth seeing the Mona Lisa anyways, make the trip. What a magnificent work of art. So moving. Gripping, really. I'm so grateful we went.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Its a must see in Lucerne. Impressive sculpture, good story behind it, easy to get there. Worth the walk to get there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poignant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

A surprisingly poignant monument. The compassion and grief of the sculptor is palpable in the lion's face and details. Despite the busloads of tourists checking boxes and snapping pix, the pathos comes through. I'm sure it would be even more meaningful were I Swiss. The good news is that it is adjacent to the excellent glacier gardens with the hall of mirrors that is truly a delight (if not a bit orientalist).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marshall R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very moving”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a beautiful tribute to soldiers who have died for Switzerland. Very moving.the lion is very striking, it looks like he is crying real tears.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dying Lion of Lucerne Monument also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Dying Lion of Lucerne Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing