We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice hotel, friendly service, decent breakfast, great value... but... trains tracks just uphill behind the building. I had a corner room in the back was really irritated by the trains. They are not very frequent, but it was enough to cost me half a night of sleep.

If you can sleep with earplugs and don't forget to bring them, this friendly place might be just the right thing for someone on a buget.

It would deserve a higher rating without the train...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzernmarlen, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear guests, thank you very much for your review about our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that the trains disturbed you during the night. We just like to inform you for your next stay, that we provide ear plugs in our "good night box" in all our rooms. We hope to welcome you soon again at our hotel. Kind regards, Marlen Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bellevue Luzern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 163 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Hotel Bellevue is a great place to stay of you prefer to stay out of the city, but near enough to get there by a 10 minute bus ride. A bus stop is 200 feet up the road and buses come along every 15 minutes. The hotel itself is across the road from the lake, but every room has a breathtaking view of lake and mountains. The manager, Marlen Florian is friendly, efficient and very helpful and speaks English flawlessly. There is parking across the street and next to the hotel for 5 Swiss francs per day. The two nights that we stayed there the hotel was filled with guest seemingly from every corner of the world.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoelNili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzernmarlen, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Guest, thank you very much that you have taken some time to write this lovely review about our hotel. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay at our small hotel. We love to welcome people from all over the world and help them to make the best of the time in Lucerne. We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Switzerland. Marlen Florian and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very large room. Separate bed for my daughter. Delicious breakfast included. And to top it all, very helpful lady at the reception.

The hotel is little out of Lucerne city and not much nearby. However, good restaurant opposite to the hotel at Hotel Hermitage. Also bus 24 stops in front of hotel and goes to the old city and train station.

Only negative : we were in first floor and the view of the lake was completely blocked by another building on the opposite side of the road.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzernmarlen, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Dear Sir
Thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel, especially the titel we like very much! We hope next time you will have better weather and can enjoy the trips to the mountains more than this time. We are looking forward to welcom you again soon, Marlen Florian and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We lucked out with this property. A very lovely setting with a view of Mt. Pilateus. We were surprised at how large the room was. Very comfortable, nice bathroom with shower. Breakfast
was included and anything you wanted. Enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend the property.

Room Tip: If you want to have a view, make sure you ask for a Pilateus room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bomac114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzernmarlen, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear guests, thank you very much for your very nice review about our hotel. It flatters us to be called "a gem"! We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us soon again.
Kind regards, Marlen Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had booked a quadrapule room for a family of four . The room was small but clean with a balcony. The staff helped us plan our sightseeing. We appreciated the Welcome drink and Snack.
The Hotel had bicycles which we used without any rental to explore the area around the Hotel.
The view of the Lake from the balcony was very nice but we could not leave the balcony open for long because of the Street traffic .
Still it was one of the most affordable places to stay in Switzerland !

Room Tip: One should select rooms on the 3rd or 4th floor where the noise level from the street traffic is les...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiranpreet31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzernmarlen, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Dear guests, thank you very much for your nice review about our hotel. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay in Lucerne at our Bellevue hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards, Marlen Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family just returned from Switzerland and staying at Belluevue was a nice experience. When we arrived at Lucern station from Rome, it was raining and a little cold compared to the weather in Italy. We called the hotel to ask how to get there and the lady (I didn't get to know her name, sorry~) told us in detail how to buy the bus tickets, which bus to take,etc. When we got to the hotel finally, she welcomed us cheerfully and gave us all the information regarding the transportation and the trip to Pilatus. She informed us how to save money on our kids' tickets and suggested that we shoud buy the junior cards which cost chf30 each and with them my kids paid nothing on our trip to/from Pilatus and Geneve!!!

Our room was on the first floor and we could get to see only a tiny segment of the lake but it was raining, so it didn't really matter. The room was a bit small for four beds but we were glad that we could sleep in the same room and it was neatly managed. She also served us some cheese, ham and drinks(what was the name?) which was very nice.

Lucern is a really beautiful city. Mt.Pilatus is just amazing and the transportation museum is a must see. There are so many things to see and do at the museum!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sek89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzernmarlen, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Sirs
Thank you very much for you detailled review about our hotel. It is very nice to hear that you appreciated our warm welcome, the welcome snack and the detailled information about excursions. We hope on your next stay you will have better weather, so you can enjoy the view on Mount Pilatus.
Kind regards, Marlen N. Florian, General Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

we stayed at Bellevue between 7th and 10th Aug 2012. overall experience was good.

hotel is located a small distance away from city, but is well connected by bus service. however, bus service frequency falls during the weekends, and hence you need to time yourself well. the schedule is available at reception.

speaking of reception, it was one of the best welcomes you would get, as the person welcoming you sits with you and explains you all things that you need to know - travelling to and from the city, breakfast timings, internet (which is free, and therefore a big plus) and restaurants (they are candid enough to say that they share the restaurant with another hotel, the Hermitage, situated across the the road).

the room we were in was rather small, but we were given option of upgrading to a better room by paying a small amount. so no complaints there.

since the kitchen is not fully up and running, you are better off carrying your requirements (like drinking water) from the city. we were forced to drink gassated water once as the stock of still water was out and not expected for next couple of days.

the room is not made up often, as would be the case for a normal hotel, and so you need to schedule your make-up during the day, while you are out.

channels do not offer you much in terms of english entertainment channels, but free internet more than makes up.

there are no fans (and ACs) in most hotel rooms in switzerland, and so you need to ask for a fan if you want. we asked for one and got a small fan, which was just about sufficient. a standing fan which would be more powerful would have been better and this is one thing that definitely needs to be improved.

Room Tip: Take room facing the lake....it will be more spacious and also have more ventilation. however, that...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agarwallvivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzernmarlen, General Manager at Hotel Bellevue Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Sirs
Thank you very much that you took the time for a very detailled review. It is very special for us to hear that you call us "unorthodox". As we have only a few rooms we can pay more attention to each guest on arrival. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon and we can welcome you at the Bellevue on your next trip to Lucerne.
Marlen N. Florian, General Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
474 reviews
2.0 mi away
ibis Styles Luzern City
ibis Styles Luzern City
#29 of 67 in Lucerne
798 reviews
2.8 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#24 of 67 in Lucerne
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#18 of 67 in Lucerne
592 reviews
1.8 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#39 of 67 in Lucerne
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellevue Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellevue Luzern

Address: Seeburgstrasse 79, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: $104 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bellevue Luzern 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Bellevue Lucerne is a welcoming 3-star bed & breakfast hotel with 19 generously sized rooms. The hotel is characterized by its personal service, a cheerful team and a cosy atmosphere. Each of the 19 modern rooms is well appointed with en-suite bath/WC or shower/WC, hair dryer, telephone, TV/radio, safe and WiFi. The majority of our rooms have a balcony affording a superb view of Mount Pilatus. We also have three-bed and family rooms for up to six people. For the more budget-conscious, we recommend our smaller standard rooms, which are the same as other rooms in all respects except for a balcony. All rooms are non-smoking areas - smoking is only permitted on the balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Bellevue Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Luzern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing