We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location for a business apéro” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Stern Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Stern Luzern
Ranked #33 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Zug, Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice location for a business apéro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

A very nice and cozy location for business or private events. We were there for a business apéro and rented the whole bar with our bunch of people. Drank some beautiful Spanish wine, not cheap but really excellent. The appetizers were created with a lot of fantasy, very special. Will definitely go there on a private mission quite soon. It is absolutely recommendable.

Room Tip: Didn't sleep there, only saw the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    90
    41
    12
    3
See reviews for
58
84
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Lucern CH-does not happen on the cheap (contrary to Echidna60 reviewer having a grouchy day and misplaced expectations; dude... really...).
Hotel Stern is an excellent option in this Lucern old town premium prime location. Accommodations are simple but clean and adequate. Hotel Stern maintains old class character yet is renovated as best that can happen for a convenient park picturesque historic location. Hotel Stern and the boat dock bistro are both owned by the Lake Boat company (employees know the boat tour-bistro details). The Stern Hotel evening restaurant is 5 Star, locally sourced menu, searched out by many, and known by many in Switzerland, for its creative quality. I found the breakfast more than adequate as compared to 4 star hotel breakfasts. Speaking of 4 Stars, Dude... take your expectations 2 blocks closer to the boat dock and a well known 4 Star Hotel with ROK Night Club attached. Your 4 Star money will find a 1 Star sleep (weekends especially) with a crowd party on the street. So I partied - can't review, but it was a 5 Star experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Burgerstrasse and park/church are very quiet. Other side, not so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbm33415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Freaking fantastic location for its price. We know how astronomical prices are in Switzerland. This is a 2-star hotel. The furnishings are not exceptional at all, the bathroom has very minimal items, there is no kettle or mini-bar in the room. But we looked past all that as everyone working at this hotel are warm and friendly, and the location is great. It is a short walk from the train/railway station. The station has shopping facilities below it so that means you get ACCESS to cheaper eating options within walking distance. When I say "cheaper", I mean grocery and baked goods at Swiss prices which are still expensive but way cheaper than eating out at a restaurant. If restaurants are your thing, there are plenty all within walking distance of this hotel and the railway station.

We had our anniversary meal at the restaurant available at the hotel. We heard the food is very good, one of the best for its prices and it is! Husband had game of the day which was roast deer with cranberry and Swiss dumplings (more like crispy stuff around the meat). I had pan-fried fish from Lake Lucerne. It was served with baked potatoes and warm spinach. This was SO GOOD and the prices are slightly more affordable than other restaurants. I also ordered a pumpkin soup which was phenomenal in my humble opinion. We did good and paid about CHF110 for these. I believe USD and CHF rates are almost similar so it really isn't a bad deal. The breakfast at this hotel was pretty good, inclusive in the hotel rate, and the servers were all very friendly and charming.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luxluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel Stern Luzern is a good option for the budget traveller considering the prices in Luzern. I stayed in a single room and it was clean and tidy and fairly comfotable. The location was great, only a few minutes walk to the main sights.The staff were friendly too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brendon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Pros: clean and tidy, good location, church bells nearby are lovely, historic area and surrounding buildings are great.

Cons: as mentioned by others in forum - small room with little storage, hilariously tiny lift, miniscule and airless bathroom, staff's personal communication and enthusiasm not a strength, check-in procedures seem to take back seat to restaurant / bar service - although the processes around paying in full immediately on arrival went swimmingly. There was no Wi-Fi / Wi-Fi broken / Wi-Fi should be fixed soon / technician is coming. He never did and it never was.

Food: we had read reviews of the 'great' breakfast but we had to fight other hungry guests for the boiled egg lotto. Sometimes they appeared, sometimes they were sitting in anticipation next to the cooker (the eggs, not the guests), sometimes there were no eggs at all, sometimes they were cold, always they were over-cooked! The hotel often ran out of juice / cereal / eggs before 8am. Oh and there were only two sets of salt and pepper shakers available in the whole breakfast room, so it was definitely a case of the early bird getting the best breakfast.


Coffee: Great coffee machine. However, after creating a mess on day one we eventually figured out which size cup went with which type of coffee - best to use the bucket sized one to be on the safe side. A perverse type of entertainment was provided each day as new arrivals made the same mistake as we had and their cups overflowed with rivers of café latte (perhaps a sign or personal instruction might help first-timers).

Staff: The one staff member allocated to the breakfast room seemed to have an acute aversion to human contact and to offering assistance. She stood in the far corner of the room with her back to the guests while she unloaded dishwasher, dried the spoons, or chatted on the phone. Meanwhile people were scrounging around for whatever sad looking morsel of food might be left, whilst trying to stem the flow of coffee and locate the salt shaker!

Selection: There was no bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages, toast or those occasional treats available at other establishments, such as crepes. When we managed to catch the eye of the staff member to enquire about the range of food available we were curtly told "that is not a Swiss breakfast." Fair enough perhaps, but I would argue that as the guests are not always Swiss, maybe some consideration could be given to providing a broader range of fare. Thankfully a new staff member started working in the breakfast room just before we checked out and she was wonderfully pleasant and helpful, which made such a difference.

Overall the accommodation and breakfast was basic and bland. Keep your expectations low and you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: Less street noise in rooms on higher floors. The restaurant downstairs is quite busy and people oft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Echidna60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Manager at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Google Translation
Lieber Gast

Vielen Dank für Ihre ausführliche Rückmeldung. Nach Ihren Schilderungen können wir Ihren Unmut verstehen und bedauern sehr, dass es uns nicht gelungen ist, Ihren Erwartungen zu entsprechen. Wir möchten uns aufrichtig dafür entschuldigen.

Tatsächlich fiel unser WiFi im September regelmässig aus und es dauerte einige Tage, bis das Problem behoben werden konnte.

Der STERN lebt die Philosophie, dass wir soweit möglich Produkte aus der Schweiz von Produzenten aus der Region verwenden. Insofern ist das Frühstücks-Angebot klein, fein und qualitativ hochwertig. Dass man Ihnen am ersten Tag nichts erklärt hat, tut uns sehr leid. Wir haben unsere Mitarbeitenden und Aushilfen nochmals geschult, gewisse Anpassungen gemacht und überprüfen die Qualität laufend in jeder Hinsicht.

Vor allem kritische Gäste-Feedbacks zeigen uns, wo wir ansetzen müssen. Herzlichen Dank!

Sonnige Grüsse vom STERN Luzern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stern Luzern has good access to the old part of the city and is conveniently located from the key tourist attractions. However,it is a good 15 min walk from the main station. They appear to focus more on their restaurant business as opposed to running the hotel. The 'hotel' staff is available at the front desk only at a part time basis. Our check in process could have been more convenient- our room was not ready and there was not much space to stow the luggage.

The elevator is very small and can't accommodate more than one person and a bag at a time. When we reached our room there were housekeeping items in front of the door without an attendant, we had to move them in order to access the room. The hotel offered wi-fi but it had poor reception in our room, we had to work off the staircase; we saw couple of others doing the same! :-)

The room was clean but a little cramped; but we should probably not complain since we were occupying a room of four.

If we were to visit Luzern again we would probably give another hotel a chance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Stern Luzern for 1 night. The hotel is stylish and renovated but it has been a guesthouse since 14th century, long history :)

My double room is just next to the church. Yes, the church bell rang quarterly. I didn't' know if it still rings at night (fall asleep) but it did ring before midnight as far I remember. Room is not big but is fine for 2 persons. There is a small fan inside the room but no air-con.

The lift is the smallest I have ever seen, just enough for 1 person. I don't know if it is good or not but it is a interesting experience. There is no ceiling light on my floor. It is so dark that we need to use our mobile to put the light on in order to open our room door.

The food is very very nice, both breakfast and dinner. According to the tripadvisor, their restaurant is the BEST! I met 2 female staffs in the hotel and their service is definitely a plus, so cheerful and friendly.

Thanks for reading through my comment. I give you a tip to book this hotel with great value.
Book the hotel through Luzern tourism and the tourism will offer you CHF50 voucher (Luzern City Card). The card can be collected at Luzern Information Center of the train station. I used the card to buy things in Coop. It is surely a big bargain!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WCLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#40 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#30 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Anker
Hotel Restaurant Anker
#22 of 69 in Lucerne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#24 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stern Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stern Luzern

Property: Hotel Stern Luzern
Address: Burgerstrasse 35, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stern Luzern 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Stern Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Stern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing