We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Newly converted but very basic furnishings”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stern Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Stern Luzern
Ranked #34 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Newly converted but very basic furnishings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Apparently this hotel has been remodelled fairly recently, and as the name suggests it now has a focus on its restaurant. The check in area is essentially the restaurant order-point, and the entrance is via the restaurant – which is not actually in “burgerstrasse” as the address suggests, but in Franciskanerplatz (shown as Restaurant Goldener Stern on some maps).

Although the hotel isn't too far from the lake - and is actually reasonably close to the river that flows out of the lake, its quite a drag from the train station to the hotel, with local bus routes being tricky to decipher on first viewing.

My first impression of the room was poor, with the furniture looking exceptionally basic. I’m not sure if it was actually “designer furniture”, but the merits of furniture that would have looked more at home in a school room passed me by. Given the hotel rate was one of the highest of eight hotels I stayed at in Switzerland, I'd expected rather more for my money.

The hotel had a small lift, which would have struggled to accommodate a wheel chair, but there was little problem with street noise. Given the hotel was focussed around a restaurant I expected rather more from breakfast, and being left to ones own devices also meant a challenge with a coffee dispenser that accommodated large and small cup sizes.

The in-room wi-fi worked reasonably well, even if it was rather sluggish, and the shower was efficient and easy to regulate.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteAnt2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    92
    42
    12
    3
See reviews for
60
85
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for one night for stop over from Zurich to zermatt. The hotel is centrally located which is about 10 min from the train station as well as the old town center.

The reception is actually at the restaurant but it is not difficult to find the hotel. It has a clear sign on the wall as well as street direction. The staff are generally friendly. The room is small but this is generally Europe standard so nothing much to complaint about it. It is still spacious enough for us to put in four luggage for a four sharing room. The room is clean as general Switzerland standard. I am not a light sleeper so the bell of the opposite church did not bother me much.

However, the wireless service was not working during our stay there. We told the staff but it still couldn't be connected the next day until we left. This created some problems for us as we needed the Internet to retrieve some information eg the train schedule and etc. I do hope that the hotel could improve the speed in getting things fix as this could be critical for some tourist like we do.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubi_ltc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

You get what you pay for and this is a reasonably priced hotel (hard to find reasonably priced hotels in Lucerne) which fits the bill for a short stay, Our family of two adults and one teen found it a bit on the small size but the size of the bathroom was good. Everything was clean but room did smell a little bit musty. Plus we were on the top floor and lift doesn't go all the way up. Breakfast was good and hotel staff were EXCEPTIONALLY friendly. I loved the location across the road from a beautiful old church and right at the junction of the old and new towns.

Room Tip: If there are more than two in your party you might need more than one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJWriting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Very comfortable for three adults sharing a room for one night. This was a half way stop for us driving to Italy and we were pleasantly surprised by ease and beauty of Lucerne.

We had a triple room on the top floor with views of great roof tops. The sofa bed was comfortable. The breakfast simple, yet very satisfying in an inviting room.

Parking was close, less than a block away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenda_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Only stayed here for 1 night. Overall is a small hotel, even the lift is small as it can only fit in 1 person and 1 luggage. Room barely has enough space for our 2 luggages.
As we brought along luggages so the walk is ard 15 min.
Room is clean and staff at reception is friendly. Haha... Reception area is a surprise tho. Quite interesting to find the bar area doubled up as reception area. Very near the famous bridge and shopping area so quite convenient to go out walk around.
Bed is comfortable and I didnt hear any church bells during my sleep. Maybe due to the fact I requested for a room to be away from the church.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niceyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in April 2012. Only 10 min walk from the train station and famous bridge and old town attractions. The hotel is well-run and clean. My group had a delicious dinner in the restuarant on the ground floor and the bill is acceptable for the quality of the meal and services. Breakfast was OK with a fancy good coffee machine to allow you to enjoy a variety of coffee to start your day. Good value for money. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hansa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Manager at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Stayed 5 nights in June on business. Hotel is very clean and well-run. Well-located in the town, Had a good meal on my last night at the small dining room on the ground floor. Very good value; I would be glad to return.

Room Tip: I stayed in two different rooms; both were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedro4440444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STERN-Team, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Stern Luzern, responded to this review, December 21, 2015
Google Translation
Grüeziwohl

Besten Dank für den Besuch und den Aufenthalt bei uns im Hotel STERN. Es freut uns dass wir Euch bei uns beherbergen durften.

Hoffentlich bis bald und genussvolle Grüsse in der Zwischenzeit wünscht das ganze STERN Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#41 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#28 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Anker
Hotel Restaurant Anker
#24 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#22 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stern Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stern Luzern

Property: Hotel Stern Luzern
Address: Burgerstrasse 35, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stern Luzern 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Stern Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Stern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing